We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional sushi / sashimi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kabuki - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kabuki
Price range: US$22 - US$44
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
253 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Exceptional sushi / sashimi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

As mentioned by a previous reviewer, the Markthalle is actually a large expanse of restaurants in a semi-enclosed setting, with a somewhat discreet entrance on the Bubenbergplatz near the "glass canopy". The whole Markthalle is worth a quick visit, as it is crammed with restaurants offering Wok, Thai, Indian, South Indian, "oriental", Mexican and of course Japanese, among others. The service at Kabuki is stupendous, the fish is as fresh as can be, and the variety is amazing. Of course, the prices do tend to be on the steeper side. It is nice to sit in the "terrace" area (i.e. outside the restaurant but inside the Markthalle). Kabuki is a worthy contender among the best sushi places in Switzerland, based on the quality of the fish. Nevertheless the setting remains relaxed and very informal. A pleasing combination overall.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zerosixzero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Centrally located good japanese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Went alone for dinner at around 2100h during a very hot summer day during the week (thank god it seems to have been airconditioned so it was pleasant inside).
I had a Salad and Nigiri Sushi / Makis. Service was quick (there were few people so no idea when it is busy), fish was fresh and tasty. The slices on the Nigiris could have been a bit thicker ;)

The Menu had a good selection of other things but I did not get around to trying them.

To get to the restaurant in the "Markthalle" you go inside and then downstairs. There are many other places in the Markhalle, some of which are rather plain (takeaway pizza and kebab), which detract a bit from the first impression.

I look forward to going back the next time I am in Bern.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AniSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
125 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Definitively worth a try, but also for the Markthalle setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

First of all about the Markthalle (where this restaurant is): From the outside the Markthalle (market halls) looks like an ordinary shop, so we lost over 1 hr walking up and down the Bubenbergplatz looking for the restaurant. We even went back to the hotel to look the name up on the web and were directed to No 9... We went back and decided to go into this 'shop' only to realise that the shop (which sells pizzas by the portion) is actually a walk-through sort of corridor leading into a Convent Garden Style covered alley-square with restaurants, caffes and eateries on two floors. We could see Indonesian, sushi, Mexican, Thai, Asian, Italian, Indian, Wok-style and more. Very original and absolutely unexpected. Just for this it is worth a visit.

Go downstairs and you find the Kabuki at the left far end corner. As we had lost more than one hour just looking for this sushi restaurant, we were happy to have managed to arrive before the kitchens closed just before 2pm (14h00). Remember, we are in Switzerland, and the kitchens do really close.

The service is friendly and efficient. We took a Menu that offered a salad, a soup and a choice between two sushi trays. When we were served and had started, we decided then and there that next time we would go immediately for the sushi tray, as the salad and the soup were less than average. It must be said that none of the sushi trays we saw were prepared then and there and that all the trays are sitting in a tall pile. However, it can well be that the situation in the evenings is different and when sitting at the sushi bar. The sushi was nice and abundant, so much so that we asked to take the 'left-overs' with us and we were presented with a lovely little box, with some additional soy-sauce and wooden sticks.

We enjoyed our meal very much and intended to go back the evening, just for a sushi tray. However, not long after our meal both of us became extremely thirsty and within an hour we each drank 1.5 l of San Pellegrino. We had never experienced this before with sushi and wondered if the fish is maybe washed in a particular solution to keep it fresh longer?

We would definitively try the Kabuki again as we loved the Markthalle setting, the abundant portions and their good choice of menu. While covert, the Markthalle gives the feeling of eating al fresco and to do so in the middle of winter is indeed very pleasant.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Evita2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
116 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi, forget my earlier report”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

To everyone who read my first rather negative review of Kabuki's sushi - I know better now, having had sushi at the Kabuki at least 30 times since and never been let down after that unfortunate first visit. If you are a vegetarian, it is worth trying the avocado or kanpyo maki. The staff, too, has always been friendly and helpful since. Kabuki and I obviously just started out on the wrong foot.

  • Visited November 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank eri_lar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“One of the best restaurants in town. Pricy but worthwhile.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

One of the best restaurants in town. Pricy but worthwhile if you are into fish. The menus are great value.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tverwaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kabuki also viewed

Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing