We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Emmental
Nearby Hotels
US$156
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$183
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$286
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Congress Hotel Seepark(Thun)
US$339
US$306
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Alpha Thun(Thun)(Great Value!)
US$216
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
US$224
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$153
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Schonbuhl(Hilterfingen)
US$209
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
17
34
16
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
34
16
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold citytrain stationbalconyratescastle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2011

10-15 minutes from train station walking or get a no.1 bus and get off at the roundabout. Hotel is central. Room a good size with bath and shower. Staff young but very helpful. Braekfast good and no sound of traffic if windows are closed. Would go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GERARD M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Just back from a photographic holiday in Thun and the surrounding areas. E-mailed this hotel way back in March and they booked us in for September 2011. This was the only contact we had. Arrived very late at night, midnight, and for the next seven days the hotel staff just let us get on with it. On the last day they presented us with the bill and throughtout the week they were very friendly and helpful. The staff are young but would put some of us "golden oldies" to shame with their pleasant manner.
Now the technical stuff. Room was good with bath and shower and ample room. Yes it is on a roundabout but the noise cannot be really heard once the widows are closed. Breakfast the contiental style but you can eat as much as you want. Hotel is 15 minutes with luggage from the train station but you can get a no. 1 bus on the right hand side of the train station to drop you at the roundabout. As with all prices in Switzerland it was pricey by our standards at 90SF but the rest of the group were nearby in hotels about 65SF and the brakfast was skimped on and the rooms alot smaller. Will be back again but I am off to do the Euromillions as Iwill need this to go back to Switzerland in general.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OliveenOmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The hotel is situated on the edge of the medieval old town of Thun and right underneath the castle. We arrived by train and walked to the hotel which took us about 10 minutes.
The house is an old building that has been modestly renovated. The rooms are quite spacious and have been decorated in a stylish-and-quirky way. We had three double rooms, which all had a different layout. Two of them had a small balcony. The bathrooms varied from just a shower and a sink to a spacious room with bathtub and double sinks, so it's worth checking beforehand if that's important to you.

The hotel has a restaurant and a bar, both close at midnight, earlier on Sundays. Breakfast was the usual continental fare. The staff are quite young people slightly lacking experience, for which they make up by being friendly and helpful.

The big 'but' ist the fact that the hotel sits on a street crossing and for some reason or other the acoustic effect of the cars driving by or even people walking by and talking at night is just very, very loud (not to mention motorbikes...). The windows keep the noise out effectively, but there is no air conditioning. All our rooms faced the castle, and therefore the street, and we thought that the rooms facing the other way (though there are not many of those) might be less noisy. Ask before booking!

Overall, we liked our stay very well. Room rates seemed quite high to us, but this is a very sought after region and other hotels charged much more. The noise was very annoying to us, as most of us are light sleepers. We would try and find a hotel within the limits of the old town next time, as that area seemed much quieter.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zurich67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

Located in pretty Swiss-style building very convenient for Schloss Thun (which is well worth a visit incidentally), and the town centre, bars, restaurants. The nice cafe bar on ground floor of the hotel had a chillded-out vibe. The rooms were spacious and bright but the decor was very 1970s. Staff talking on the terrace of above-mentioned chilled out bar after it had closed kept me awake for around an hour after 1pm. When they finally bade loud and cheery farewells and banged a few doors, one of them started up her scooter with some difficulty - at least I assume it was a scooter as it sounded just like a chain saw - and roared off into the night. The hotel is situated on a roundabout so traffic noise is an issue too if it's summer and you need the windows open. Breakfast was good. We found it a little on the dear side, but Thun seems pricey.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ibnbattutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews