We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Freienhof
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Congress Hotel Seepark(Thun)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Hotel Schonbuhl(Hilterfingen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bellevue au Lac(Hilterfingen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
73
100
56
20
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
100
56
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivercovered bridgetrain stationbed was comfortablenice hotelstaff were friendly and helpfulspoke englishperfect locationbreadenjoyed my staypark your carcroissantsold townconference facilitiestown centreoutdoor activitiesnice view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Thun is a lovely, underappreciated Swiss small city at the end of the lake with a river flowing through it and a handsome castle. The architect that designed this hotel did a remarkable job of adding beautiful rooms with delightful views overlooking the river, surrounding them with a garden and linking them with the old Main building. If you like to go to sleep withthe noise of a rushing river in the background just leave your balcony door ajar. If you ask and if the hotel is not too busy you can get its wonderful breakfast on your balcony in the morning. We had a superior double room for two people for
Sw Fr. 295.00 per room and per night, including breakfast, which by Swiss price standards actually makes this a good value.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DGM-Washington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The location of the hotel was superb, short walk from the train station and next to the river. It was very nice to eat the breakfast by the river with great view. The shopping street was also near by and many fine restaurants as well. The breakfast was good, especially the fresh croissants.

The river goes both sides of the hotel. I had a room on the dam side at the far end of the hotel and if you are light sleeper, the noise from the dam might keep you awake. But it is not that bad. I slept well.

The WiFi was free at the lobby. I do not know why the WiFi costs something in the room, but it was enough for us to use it in the lobby. We borrowed (Yes, no charge) mountain bikes and drove beside the lake, which had the most beautiful views of the Alps.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mosqito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2010

The Freienhof is a simple and easy walk from the train station. There are many excellent restaurants in the neighborhood and the hotel's setting is picturesque.

The front desk staff is capable, pleasant and efficient. The hotel's restaurant is quite good and the breakfast buffet was competently prepared and arranged, although I found it strange that the staff were absent during most of my meal.

I have mixed feelings about this hotel because I did not like the design of my room. It had a strangely industrial feel to it, with open welds on metal furniture, hanging wires and a clip-on lamp on the mirror, and roughly finished walls. The bathroom design seemed amateurish with an inconvenient result. I realize that interior design is a highly subjective matter, but I found this room unappealing. I stay in a lot of hotels with a lot of different approaches to design, but rarely do I have such a reaction. You may wish to look at the room first, before deciding to check in.

I also found the Internet connection process to be cumbersome and expensive.

On the whole, this is a well-managed, competently run hotel. It just has its quirks, which travelers should be aware of before booking.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HiIslandsGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

The location is beautiful, right on the Aare River with the constant sound of water pouring through the wooden dam and a great view of the Alps. You can easily walk to the Thun castle, old church, shopping, restaurants, train station, Shadau Castle... The facility is spartan yet lovely, clean, beautifully decorated, highly functional--very Swiss. Service is great, food is delicious and well presented. We loved the breakfast buffet--delicious, varied, plentiful! We absolutely loved our five-day Freienhof vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Me-MyHusband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Floor 3
Staff: excellent, professional staff
Hotel: standard, good quality, stunning views from the bedroom, water rushing outside, though took some time to sleep due to its noise.
Room: standard size, basic, modern, clean, comfortable, towels and toiletries provided, LCD TV
Bathroom: en suite bathroom, modern, clean, hair dryer
Dining room: standard
Breakfast: excellent buffet for continental and cooked.

Iron/Iron board available in room on request.
Parking: available at a fee, underground, I was made aware of fee at point of booking.

I would highly recommend this hotel. The set out of the rooms was Personal rating would give it a 3 star rating.

Longest stay period – 1 days

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripMember_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews