We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
77
108
60
20
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
108
60
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivercovered bridgetrain stationbed was comfortablenice hotelstaff were friendly and helpfulhotel buildingspoke englishold townsmall balconyperfect locationenjoyed my staypark your carwalking distancebreadcroissantsoutdoor activities
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed for a two-day conference and had the chance to make use of various parts of the operation. The room was ridiculously small, with no desk (a no-go if you advertise yourself as a seminar hotel) and no possibility to get some work done. It is one in a series of about one dozen similar rooms, so there are many like it. Absolutely no atmosphere, no decoration at all, small and cheaply done bathrooms - very depressing, plus constant noise coming from the canal outside. Electric blinds were not working.
Lunch in the restaurant was a disaster as we had to wait for 20 minutes because they first ran out of plates and then out of food, plus there was not enough space for all participants (around 120), some of which were forced to eat standing up at the reception.
The bar staff were closing the place down at 10.30pm (despite longer hours being advertised). Etcetera. Literally nothing worked at this hotel, and it is not a budget one. Advertises itself as **** but feels like *** tops. I do not usually give such low ratings (check my other reviews), but Freienhof hotel was utterly disappointing.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Huemul_Suizo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula F, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Freienhof, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Huemul
Thank you for visiting our place and for writing a review. We regret, that your stay didn’t match with your expectations. Guest reviews are very important. They give us the chance to work on our guest services and to improve our quality. We definitely will discuss your remarks with the different departments.
We send you our best regards from Thune.
The Hotel Freienhof-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

I have stayed many times in Freinhof hotel. Qualit is always same. Rooms are very clean.I recommend it to everybody. It is very close to lake , you can walk in the morning.
It is very close to bahnhoff.( 250 meter )

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank canersanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula F, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Freienhof, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear guest
Thank you very, very much for your recommendation. We are looking forward to welcome you again at our hotel.
Best regards
The Hotel Freienhof-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Really good location with amazing views, we were in suite on top floor with 2 bedrooms and sitting area. We did not eat in hotel, but staff were friendly and helpful and spoke English. We did a trip on lake, saw all of Thun and had done Bern on our first day, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Panorama suite excellent for families, noise from river was loud but effective windows and shutters. Sunny balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula F, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Freienhof, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear guest
Thank you for visiting our place. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed Thune and the surroundings.
See you soon again. Best regards.
The Hotel Freienhof Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

We spent a night at the hotel and found the location to be fantastic. Front desk staff were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was good and the staff got gluten free bread for us at request. Rooms were spacious, comfortable, clean and well equipped. Overall, great value and good experience.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Pradeep K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula F, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Freienhof, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear guest
Thank you very much for all your compliments regarding our staff. We are happy to tell them that you appreciated your stay.
See you soon again. Best regards.
The Hotel Freienhof Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

The hotel is in a fabulous location facing the Aare and within blocks of the train station, downtown and old town. The staff couldn't be more better. The design of the bedroom furniture and the bath are awful. The bed, to accomodate the console that sits over the foot of the bed is 18 inches from the floor, requiring knees much more youthful than mine. The bathroom with it slippery shower floor, no where to hang a towel anywhere near and almost impossible to avoid spraying shower head(s) is close to impossible.

I needed to rinse out some things and the bathroom basin did not hold water. There is a sink down the hall, but it had no stopper. A request to speak to a manager about this went unresponded to.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmorehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews