We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view of the swiss houses and the alps”
Review of Thunersee

Thunersee
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.21*
and up
1-hour Express Interlaken Private Tour with Stops at Lake Thun and Lake Brienz
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Thun
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice view of the swiss houses and the alps”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Went on 11 Feb, the views are absolutely stunning. As it was winter, it's still snow capped. The whole Lake Thun journey by the cruise takes more than 2hours. Take your time slowly to enjoy the views.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ErY3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    77
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“great experience to swim in lake”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We were in august so it was so refreshing to jump in lake. Outside was very hot but inside brrrrrr:)
We usually swim in Adriatic sea which is salty and a lake is sweet so this is really different experience.
Gotta try!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra21000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Schweiz
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Scenic View”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The northern lakeshore opens the best view all around the alps.
Don't forget to make a Steamboattrip on Lake Thun

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank georoli2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crete, Greece
Level Contributor
96 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely town and lake!”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Thun is the most beautiful town in Switzerland!Very pretty town and beautiful lake!Dont miss the chance to explore it!It isnt so famous like bern or lucern but I found it more beautiful that all of them!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stelina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
132 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

To be quite honest I had learned that Lake Thun is not as beautiful as Lake Brienz. Which in my opinion is somewhat true, but not entirely. If Lake Brienz is 10/10 then Lake Thun is 9.9/10.
They are both different and stunningly beautiful.
Do take a cruise on Lake Thun as well, if you have the time, there is a beautiful Castle overlooking the Lake. It is called Oberhofen Castle and there is a restaurant at the Pier right next to the castle where you can sit by the lake enjoying some wine or having something to eat.

How we reached there:
Reached Interlaken West Railway station by Train. Walk out of the station following the sign boards, walk across the street to catch the Bus to Oberhofen. I cannot recall the bus no. Get down at 'Oberhofen a. T., Dorf' Bus stop and the castle is about 200m (2 mins) walk from there.

A couple of suggestions:
1. If you plan to cover Interlaken, Lake Brienz and Lake Thun all in one day then try to go for Swiss day pass, it also covers the cruise and the train and bus travels. Or if you have any other pass just check if it includes the cruise as well. If you have any doubts about it, just check at the ticket counter.
2. We did not have the time to take a cruise on Lake Thun, but you see if you can squeeze that into your itinerary. If not, then you could do what we did, choose the place on Lake Thun where you would like to spend time, we chose Oberhofen. Then from Interlaken West Bahnhof, take a bus to that place (if you are not going to be driving).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank PriankaMitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thunersee also viewed

 
Thun, Canton of Bern
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 

Been to Thunersee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing