We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This time ... disappointing ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Congress Hotel Seepark
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Thun
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“This time ... disappointing ...”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I stayed here three time. Wonderful staff, nice hotel AND dogs are allowed!! The prices are too high for my taste, but it is Switzerland. This time (last week) I stayed there again, but got a very small room. I made the reservation months ago, so it's not that they had to cram me in.

Again, the staff was wonderful, the room a real disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiabelliMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    60
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
16
56
6
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appenzell, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The hotel is ok. The personell is well trained and tries to provide good service. Rooms are modern, with wooden floors and functional, some have a terasse. There is a spa which is really good.
The problems are the following:
- there is no ac in the rooms; for a 4 star hotel, a no go!
- there is no coffee machine in the room; for a 4 star, a no go!
- rooms near to the street tend to be lound.

Room Tip: don't take a superior room, they are expensive but are exactly the same as standard and have no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philosion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

To be fair let's start with the advantages:
-beautiful location, wonderful view
-great wellness aera, even though "undressing stage" is very poorly translated and should be "naked aera"!
-excellent breakfast buffet, high quality products
- city bikes and electro bikes for free use

Now the down sides:

-very unflexible staff, starting with the receptionists, they don't try to accomodate you as best they can. After seing the room with a queen size bed, we asked to change for 2 single beds: the process took a good 5 minutes (she basically just had to punch the new room number on our cards) , and AFTER it was done, she smiled a sadistic smile at us and said "by the way, it will be a surcharge of 50 swiss francs!" We thought she had gotten mad but she was dead serious! The prices are already so expensive and we have never paid a surcharge like this anywhere else!
-very uncomfortable beds, get ready to bounce about all night if your partner just moves a toe! It feels like a trampoline, which isn't much fun at 3am!
-ask for a room on the garden, ours were facing the parking lot and it was noisy!
-beware of the canoos, they are dangerous!
- beautiful terrasse outside the breakfast room that we weren't allowed to use despite the splendid weather. We had to sit inside because apparently, it wasn't convenient for the staff to bring coffee outside! Thumbs up for the flexibility!
-don't go if you don't speak swiss german. No other newspapers than swiss german ones!
-reception is understaffed, receptionist is alone most of time, so customers have to wait and wait! Check-out took about 20 minutes!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paminaarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gyömrő
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The hotel is professional, the environment is excellent. All employees are kind and having friendly approach. The "Swiss sauna" is just like excellent - calm, lots of additional services and very clean. The food is fabulous. The view from the shore is overwhelming the turquoise color of the water is indescribable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jozsef-Oldjoe58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed here in May for a wedding for one night only. We were warmly greeted by reception staff and were allocated a room straight away despite arriving hours before check in. The room was a good size with a private balcony which was a nice touch. The wet room was also spacious, although as is the case with wet rooms, everything gets soaked. The bathroom also had a window so that if you are sitting on the bed, you can see right through to the shower which may put some people off.

The complimentary welcome drink was a brilliant added extra and allowed us to enjoy a glass of wine in the sun overlooking Lake Thun. The breakfast buffet on Sunday was epic, and regularly topped up throughout the morning. The staff were all great, and the location is absolutely stunning. Very easy to get to thanks to the train station and would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing break. Unfortunately we didn't have time to try the spa facilities, but others in our party did and had only good things to say about it.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake or mountain view to make it extra special, although I think wherever you are in the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jemimapuddleduck612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore India
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Thun's Seepark is like a government institution. Two incidents point to the problem. We used two rooms there for two nights until yesterday. The rooms are not heated properly. The duvets are tiny and ineffective. We asked for blankets on the phone and were ignored for two hours. When we went to reception the cheeky receptionist lady said there was no housekeeper on duty and she would tell the hallporter. Additional duvets did come but go blankets.

Secondly, the young breakfast room waiter who was requested to help us with freshly squeezed orange juice brought us canned stuff saying: " We normally do not bring things. It is not part of our duty."

The attitude is dangerous and ingrained because the hotel is controlled by the UBS. General Manager Urs Bircher was not available to us.

On the positive side, the hotel is brilliantly located near a small forest next to the lake. No lake views. The food is mediocre. Much scope for improvement. About a 15 minute walk from town.

Will we go again? Not sure.

B G KOSHY
INDIA

Room Tip: None. The lake is not exploited for views. The fabulous ShadauPalace opposite is the best eating opt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BGKoshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This UBS conference hotel is placed in a charming setting outside of town, with stunning views of the lake and the Alps. The rooms are small, but nicely appointed and comfortable and most seem to have terraces. The food was delightful, although for Switzerland they didn't have much of the trademark chocolate! Everything worked and ran smoothly. I'm not a huge fan of their unlimited wifi system - you have to provide a mobile number and they text you a code which seems just all too clunky but I guess for free what do you expect? The staff were unfailingly helpful. Thun is about a 2 hour train ride from Zurich and there are even direct trains straight to the airport which is really convenient. The hotel is about 5 minutes from the main train station and taxis are plentiful.

Room Tip: I was on the 3rd floor and there was some elevator noise - doesn't bother me but if it bothers y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thun
0.8 mi away
Hotel Freienhof
Hotel Freienhof
#4 of 9 in Thun
233 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue au Lac
Hotel Bellevue au Lac
#1 of 2 in Hilterfingen
98 reviews
1.0 mi away
Krone Hotel-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#1 of 5 in Spiez
267 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpha Thun
Alpha Thun
#5 of 9 in Thun
100 reviews
1.8 mi away
Parkhotel Oberhofen
Parkhotel Oberhofen
#1 of 1 in Oberhofen am Thunersee
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hotel Seepark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hotel Seepark

Property: Congress Hotel Seepark
Address: Seestrasse 47, Thun 3602, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Thun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Thun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Congress Hotel Seepark 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant, airy and stylish Superior Congress Hotel Seepark stands right on the shores of Lake Thun, in the midst of the historic Schadau Park. Its 85 rooms, 4 junior suites and 2 panorama suites are comfortable, generously proportioned and modern. The Seepark offers a choice of eating options - gourmet dining in "dasRestaurant", and hot food and snacks virtually round the clock in "theTimeless'" bistro. Leisure activities include excursions to the region's beauty spots, outings on the hotel's mountain or e-bikes, and use of the in-house wellness and keep-fit facilities. Fresh, seasonal cuisine and exquisite original dishes, mainly from local produce, make our menus a tempting culinary experience. This tranquil setting with its breathtaking lake and mountain views promises relaxation, pleasure and a sense of utter well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Congress Hotel Seepark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing