We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome looking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schloss THUN

Schloss THUN
Ranked #2 of 21 things to do in Thun
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Awesome looking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We hiked the stairs to the castle and it was quite awesome. Work was being done, scaffolding, which sort of took away from pictures.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveltrio03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    93
    27
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of many lovey castles around Thun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Earlier this month, my family visited Lake Thun and many of the surrounding attractions. This castle anchors the town visually and is just as impressive on the exterior as it is inside. Like most of the best parts of Switzerland, the more effort you invest, the better the experience. The nearby caves, awe inspiring mountain setting, and crystal clear lake can be overwhelming.

If this castle is too busy for your taste, the nearby castles in Spiez and Wimmis are equally worthwhile. Schloss Spiez is great for little boys interested in how life was during medieval times. The self guided tour, simple gift shop, multiple food and drink venues, and the entire setting perched at the edge of the lake are incredible. (Trip Advisor needs to make adding locations and destinations easier.). The ferry boat terminal is within walking distance.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank AHermes88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous views from atop Schlossmuseum, Thun Castle, Thun Switzerland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Drove by Thun on our drive from Bern to Interlaken and stumbled upon a medieval gem- Scholssmuseum inside Thun Castle high above Thun! Visitied this Castle/Museum in June 2013 and enjoyed every moment of our 3 hour visit inside. Very reasonable entrance fees and lovely walk up the castle from the gorgeous town of Thun below. Very worthwhile walking up to the very highest rooms in the towers to get some of the most breathtaking and magnificent photos of the nearby lake/ mountains and town below (can get a bit claustrophobic climbing the steep staircases up to the towers but once inside--- all worth it!). Visited with 2 kids aged 4-8 and they enjoyed seeing the displays of armor, flags, historical artifacts and old guns/swords. Can very easily spend half a day here and in the town below or even more (in hindsight, would have loved to have stayed at least a full day and night in this town). LOVED our visit and hope to someday come back again. Very friendly staff everywhere in this old medieval town of Thun. Great food in quaint sidewalk cafes as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank biggyboy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not for the out of shape traveler”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

The walk up the hill via stairs to the castle are not for those with bad knees or weak lungs that is for sure. Once inside, it isn't very well signed as to where you should go to see the exhibits. When we thought we had seen what exhibits there were and were heading out, we found a whole other floor with more to see. However, to get out of the castle, you had to go up again to the room we had been through already to find the way down and out of the castle. Very confusing!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mar4805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Schloss Zahringen/Thun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We visited on a rainy day - I knew that my history-buff 14-year old would love it, but wasn't sure about my 12-year old who is NOT a history fan. Both ended up loving it - they were particularly fascinated by the graffiti dating from the 1300s. Interesting exhibits, slightly scary - filled the bill perfectly for a rainy day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fidel106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schloss THUN also viewed

Thun, Canton of Bern
 
Thun, Canton of Bern
Thun, Canton of Bern
 

Been to Schloss THUN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing