We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special find!”
Review of SoulKitchen b&b

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thun
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
SoulKitchen b&b
Ranked #6 of 15 Thun B&B and Inns
Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A special find!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

This is the most charming place to stay in Switzerland! The entire B&B is quirky and memorable, but of course it is the bedrooms that make it the perfect home away from home. Don't be put off by the shared bathroom. It is only shared by three rooms, and it's worth it: it's spacious and luxurious. In fact, it's much better than having a private ensuite that's cramped and uncomfortable.

The breakfast is generous and laid out so you select what you want and take it back to eat in your room, with a view of the mountains. Really, there's nothing negative I can think of to say.

I wish there were places like it in the bigger cities in Switzerland, but Thun isn't a bad base for a holiday and we'll definitely come back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mcbear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vigo, Spain
Level Contributor
196 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

If you are looking for a non-conventional accomodation in Thun... this is the right place. A good value. This B&B is better than more of 3 stars hotels in Switzerland with small cages/rooms and it is very close to bars, shops, banks and supermarkets.

Easy to reach from the SBB Station, just 3 minutes walking from there. Go towards Manor (a shopping center) cross the bridge, the first building on the left side is the place (reference: A lobster with a clock) Notice the building has 2 main entrances... The right one is close to the river.

The rooms are huge, clean and comfortable, and they had been decorated with very good taste and style!!!. Amazing views of the mountains.

Full breakfast buffet that you can eat in your room (table and chairs)

And the staff is very nice and polite, always smiling: a young couple with a little princess (a baby) The baby doesn't distub never!!!!

Be sure, after your stay here you will be agree with my opinion...

Thun is a nice town....

Personal tip: Try to visit the Schadau Park, a nice stroll from the city. The goal is amazing: You will be rewarded with wonderful views: the lake crowned by Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau. So nicel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Another tip: Cheap food in Manora restaurant for eat-in or take away

Room Tip: All the rooms are equal good!!! Mine was the burgundy room, the exotic ones :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Javi_Varela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

What a delightful B&B! Excellent location, easy walk to train station (even with luggage!) and steps from shops, restaurants, and the charm of Thun. The rooms overlook the Aar River as mentioned, and if you are lucky enough to be there during clear weather, and most awesome view of the Alps. The breakfast area is set up right outside the three rooms. If you like to sleep in, you might find it a tad noisy in the mornings when breakfast is being set up. But it's worth getting up and having breakfast in your room overlooking the stunning view. Decent WI-Fi, although we understand that the triple room is iffy with their Wi-Fi. The family (couple with a baby) is very nice, and accommodating. Excellent hosts. Would definitely recommend this B&B not only for the great location, but for it's extreme charm. IF you arrive at dark, get explicit instructions. It's a tad hard to find if you don't know what you are looking for the first time. The rooms are large, and good value, especially for Switzerland. The close location to the train station allows fun day trips. Just lovely.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms, all very nice. The largest, the triple, has a large wardrobe, a day bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltrio03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Lovely big room, very comfortable and extremely clean. Bathroom is shared between the three rooms but was always very clean. Breakfast good and owner was very nice and helpful. If you use the street address and have a map it is not too hard to find, you won't see a sign from the street you have to look closely at the doors to find the correct building.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonGoingonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We had a large comfortable room with a double bed, single bed, wardrobe, table with four chairs, TV, wi-fi and a great view over the Aar River and the mountains (at least, we would have seen the mountains if the weather had been kinder!) The bathroom was shared between the three bedrooms, and contained a HUGE bathtub, separate shower and toilet. There was a second toilet near the entry. Breakfast was a lovely cold buffet with hot drinks, and you chose what you wanted and ate it in your room. The B&B is in a great location on the island just around the corner from the main shopping area, and very close to the train station and the ship docks. Despite this, it’s really quiet. This was by far the most expensive accommodation in our seven week trip, but by Thun prices it’s on the cheaper side.

Soul Kitchen is on the 4th floor of a commercial building, and although very close to the train station, is not easy to find. From the Hauptbahnhof, turn left, walk 100 metres down Bahnhofstrasse and cross the river on the Bahnhofbrücke. The large, square, grey building immediately on the left is Krebser Haus – Soul Kitchen is in this building. Walk straight ahead. The entrance is 15 metres from the corner of the building. There is an elevator.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loki_crazycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Soulkitchen. The owner where very nice and helpful. The rooms very nice and absolutly clean. The place is just 1 step away from the city. The breakfast was great as well. We enjoyed our stay at this great place

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanapaese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The b&b is very centrally located, although the entrance is a bit difficult to find for the first time. We stayed in a room decorated with paintings on flowers, and the whole place was decorated in a personal and charming way. Breakfast was good, we had it in our own room. The shower and toilets were modern and very clean, and we were even provided with bathrobes. It was easy to come and go according to our own schedule. We could definately go there again when visiting Thun.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kumpula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thun
0.1 mi away
Hotel Freienhof
Hotel Freienhof
#4 of 9 in Thun
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Schlossberg
0.2 mi away
Krone Hotel-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue au Lac
Hotel Bellevue au Lac
#1 of 2 in Hilterfingen
92 reviews
0.8 mi away
Congress Hotel Seepark
1.1 mi away
Alpha Thun
Alpha Thun
#5 of 9 in Thun
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SoulKitchen b&b? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SoulKitchen b&b

Property: SoulKitchen b&b
Address: Baelliz 64, Thun 3600, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Thun
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Thun
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing