We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Continental
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Biel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No Complaints”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Excellent Breakfast, Quiet location, short walk to shopping mall and train station, short walk to Lake biel dinner boat station, free WIFI, clean, friendly, helpful, Smart TV, comfortable bed, nice bar but not opened on weekends, Very good dinner and competitively priced. Rear rooms have a decent view of the Juru mountain and sunset, as well as the canal that runs to Lake Biel, and a small portion of Lake Biel

Some rooms come with a shower only so if you desire a bathtub you should make that point clear.
Bar is not opened on weekends,frontside rooms have a street view, that's it. If you room view is important drive and hour south to Interlaken and have Swiss Alp view

Room Tip: Upper level rooms have windows that open and back side rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotts4511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    47
    51
    20
    10
See reviews for
9
37
21
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bainbridge
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel because I needed good parking(free). This is a typical BW hotel. No curb appeal but it is just 5 minutes to the trains and 10 minutes to shopping and dining. Room was clean. Safe didn't work, no mini fridge. Wifi is free and works well. Breakfast was well done. Standard European fare. Coffee maker in room.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank tshaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-in-Arden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Not great. It is all a bit depressing, aparently the rooms were all recently redecorated! Well if they were it was done on a very strict budget that is all I can say. Okay, the room was clean and functional and it will do for two nights. The bathroom has been painted, even the ceramic tiles were painted? I had to place me feet in the shower tray to use the loo! The shower tray looks suspect too, it may be formed from concerete? Breakfast is just okay, it is just an okay sort of place.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a sea (lake) view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zometa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Biel hotels

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
215 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

Well situated Hotel in Biel. But there is no element that makes it above average. Rooms are clean but old fashioned. Breakfast was good bit that is somerhing we can expect. Vers reasonable room rates.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swiss_Traveller_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Having in mind good experience of Best Western hotels in the US about 30 years ago I was looking forward to a nice night in this hotel overlooking the lake. Don't think anything had changed since the last 30 years. Old fashioned, very basic, but clean. The price was reasonable at 112 Swiss Francs including parking, although the overflow parking looked like a bad spot in a bad town in a bad movie. The hotel was completely booked. So it is very basic, old fashioned, one of those showers which kept moving when adjusting the water pressure it was clean.

I slept at the front and traffic starts early, so would try to avoid that. The breakfast is good, full cooked english breakfast if required and included in the price.

Basic, cheap does it for a night, won't take the wife there for a romantic weekend at the lake.

Room Tip: Select a room high up at the back, you might have a view on the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheVanHs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The hotel is very very close to the train station and right between Bien and Nidau, so that you can have a two minutes walk to go to both the places.
The staff is very friendly and you feel strongly that, despite the bad appearance, the hotel is part of an important international chain. My room was a single one, 90 Swiss Francs breakfast included. The breakfast is really good!!The place is clean, well furnished, lake view.
It is the right place for tourists or a single person. I do not think it is rather good if you have a VIP guest.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertoMoravia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aesch, Switzerland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We overnighted in Biel last weekend, and were looking for an economic option for just one night.
The Continental is located only 10 min from the lake, easy to find, and has a free parking lot behind the building.

It seems they were pretty booked, as there was just a crowd of people gathering in the lobby when we arrived.
We were asked to pay up front and not just give the credit card as guarantee for the night, which is a bit surprising but well, they probably had had bad experiences.
We got a room with a queen bed facing the back, which was nice as we did not want to have the street noise during the night.
The room was clearly set for 1 person, only 1 set of towels, etc.

The room was clean, the bathroom could have been cleaner.
Bed comfort was ok, window wasn't locked so we could open it all night (as it was rather hot and no AC).

Breakfast was included in the rate, served until 10am, and crowded once again. The waiter was extremely friendly and smiling all the time, unfortunately I didn't get his name, but it was a nice morning atmosphere there.

The buffet was well stocked, scrambled eggs as warm buffet option, variety of muesli, cheeses, jelly, juice, fruit, yoghurt, bread and croissant.

Room Tip: Ask for room to the parking lot, definitely quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biel
0.7 mi away
Mercure Plaza Biel
Mercure Plaza Biel
#1 of 11 in Biel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lago Lodge
Lago Lodge
#1 of 1 in Nidau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Elite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dufour
Hotel Dufour
#7 of 11 in Biel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Metropol Biel
Hotel Metropol Biel
#5 of 11 in Biel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Florida Studen
Hotel Florida Studen
#1 of 1 in Studen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Continental

Property: Best Western Hotel Continental
Address: Aarbergstrass 29, Biel 2503, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Biel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Biel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Biel
Biel Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing