We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but super pricey”
Review of Cafe du Grutli

Cafe du Grutli
Reserve with
Cafe du Grutli is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #206 of 1,705 Restaurants in Geneva
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Geneva
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food but super pricey”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Went to Cafe du Grutli with a group of people. The place is small and cozy (a bit more suitable for a date I guess). The only negative I have is that it was rather expensive, but you do get a good quality food which looks and tastes delicious. Would recommend for sure

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MDI N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    28
    18
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Artsy vibe, pretty good food”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This is a nice location to eat at if you're going to see a concert, or happen to be in the university/Place Neuve area. I've been here a number of times, and enjoyed it. Service this most recent time wasn't great, but it's been better in the past.

Food is pretty good. I had the orecchiette pasta, which was great, and there's a decent chocolate fondant for dessert. They also have reasonably-priced wines by the glass (actually cheaper than buying the same wines by the bottle!)

This place could work nicely for a small group of friends, or a date, and is easy to get to with public transportation. Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sokarys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good but not creative food”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

It is a well located restaurant as part of a culture center. Service and inside atmosphere is average but space is limited. I had full course of starter, main dish and dessert. Starter salad with goat cheese and fruits were tasteful. Main course was classic cooked lamb but not extraordinary. Dessert was average brownie. I would expect such a place inside of a culture center may try further creativity for the meals and inspire the people with fusion dining experience. Wine was not good.

Helpful?
1 Thank Beratti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A favourite for Geneva lunch”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I had lunch here a couple of times. The food is of top quality and prices are competetive for Geneva. Service is good. In the summer they have an outdoor patio. The restaurant is part of the Grutli cultural centre with a cinema.
In summary, this is one of my favourite places for lunch in Geneva. They do dinners as well, but I have not tried - yet!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A unique restaurant with a great menu”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I love Grutli for a Friday night dinner with my husband. THey have a small but very good menu, and I especially love the Moroccan salad. The atmosphere is cozy and feels a bit like home. And next door, there is a small cinema with art films, old movies, etc. Very good option for after dinner.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe du Grutli also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Cafe du Grutli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing