We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe du Centre

Cafe du Centre
Ranked #68 of 1,667 Restaurants in Geneva
Price range: US$22 - US$89
Cuisines: French, Swiss, Seafood, European, Soups, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Rues-Basses Longemalle
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We did not really plan to eat at the Café du Centre, but for some reasons we ended up there. It was a very nice experience. The specialty of the restaurant is sea food. However, we chose meat and it was very good. The service was excellent. Choosing among the house-made deserts was, however, a very difficult task. They all look so amazing. Finally, we were both more than happy with our choice! So don't eat too much in the main dish, you need some space for the dessert ;-)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fwchj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    263
    100
    56
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I has one of the best meals ever at this restaurant. Tartare de chanterelles et magret de canard (divine!) Scallops and crab cake on black rice (fabulous) and tarte aux pommes. Just amazing! Really recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IOWNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great location, horrid service from the head waiter.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We were three girls and ordered a plate of salad and pot of mussels to share.
Portion size was sufficient for the 3 of us.
Service however, was very much on the poor side. First off, I was ignored upon arrival by a maître d'hôtel; distinguishable from their suited uniforms, while trying to enquire on the available seats. The biggest spoiler however, came upon completion of our meal when the same old head waiter came by our table and told us off for not knowing how to eat properly.
It truly is a wonder, how someone of such experience within this trade should fail to understand that the end of a customer's meal is the most memorable of the entire dining experience.
Overall, i would definitely recommend this place despite the destruction of what would otherwise be an excellent dining experience by a single and utterly horrendous senior waiter.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Huiqi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Swiss break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

We just had a lovely evening meal here, waiter was attentive and had good English, a little on the costly side but about average for Geneva, the desserts were delicious. Would recommend for most travellers. We sat outside as the weather was still quite warm, inside was very busy with little chance of a table. Visit www.cafeducentre.ch for information.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnboyM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead
Level Contributor
313 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great Seafood but service mixed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

We very much enjoyed the food at this restaurant especially the Moules and the Prawns with Nacos. We found it expensive but its probably average for central Geneva. We were dissappointed by the service. Whilst the table waiter was helpful and polite the Maitre de was rude and supercilious when pushing more tables in next to us. We felt unwelcome and pushed out. A pity.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank djne11026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe du Centre also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Cafe du Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing