We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Very Reasonably Priced Hotel for Sleeping Well”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel At Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel At Home
Ranked #83 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Good Very Reasonably Priced Hotel for Sleeping Well”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I have stayed several times at the Hotel at Home over the last few years. The hotel provides the basics that you need at a very affordable price in Geneva which is known for its very tight high prices and low hotel room vacancy rate. The staff are warm and friendly folks who dispatch their duties efficiently and kindly. The rooms are fairly small but clean and functional in the sense that the TV works fine and the washrooms are clean and modern. Moreover, at least during the winter months, there was little noise and it was easy to get a good sleep. I normally don’t bother with breakfast and walk to the central train station a few minutes away but the hotel seems now to be including breakfast in an overall higher price than a few years ago, and so I had breakfast at the hotel, which consists of tea or coffee and a croissant and a bun, and orange juice - a bit minimalist even for Continental European standards but okay nonetheless. Hotel at Home is very affordable, reliable, friendly and close to some really fine restaurants which all count as important advantages. A disadvantage is that the neighborhood is filled with a lot of prostitutes and people who seem like drug dealers, hanging around on street corners late at night, and when you walk by, they kind of look at you to check if you want something. Rather creepy, but if you ignore that weirdness, the advantages of Hotel at Home easily outweigh the disadvantages and I would recommend it just for sleeping and for short business trips. The wifi works fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A, Gérant at Hotel At Home, responded to this review, 26 January 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at our hotel. I'm glad that you found our location and price convenient and I hope that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Geneva.

Kind Regards,

Morteza

Hotel At Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    7
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
2
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fino del Monte, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This budget hotel offers a bed for a right price, but fornitures and anything else are quite old, but not ancient :-).
The neighborhood is a little bit heavy, with prostitutes everywhere.
Breakfast is a little bit poor, but I think in line with budget hotel in Geneva

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelo p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A, Gérant at Hotel At Home, responded to this review, 26 January 2015
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us.I am glad that the price match your expectation because we try our best to provide the best rate.

See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards,

Morteza

Hotel At Home Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I stayed at the apartment room for 3 weeks. The room has 2 single-bed, each fit 1 person size exactly! The kitchen equipments are not complete. The bathroom is okay and it has a small living room, but only 1 table, in the bedroom and 1 dining table fit for 3 persons. This hotel provide free wi-fi and free do-it-yourself laundry at the basement.
This hotel location is very strategic, near to the train station, term and bus station: Cornavin.
You can go shopping at the famous 'rue du Mont-Blanc', by walking 5 minutes.
There is an Asian grocery just on the side of this hotel.
This hotel also located near the Geneva's 'red light district'.
If you are coming to Geneva with a limited budget, I think this hotel would be a perfect choice.
The staff is very nice and speak English very good. You'll feel being at home, a small one.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NovelMatindas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A, Gérant at Hotel At Home, responded to this review, 27 January 2015
Dear Customer,

First of all, we thank you for the time you give us on TripAdvisor following your stay at our hotel.

We are pleased to see your satisfaction with the provided services and benefits.

It is true that our location in the heart of Geneva, allows to move quickly through the pedestrian and commercial areas of the city.

Of course, we will certainly share your comments with our team .

Best Regards,

Morteza
Hotel at home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

This is a budget hotel... if anything can be a budget hotel in Geneva. It's a 3 or 4 minute walk from the tram. Lots of lower cost but good restaurants around. Not an upscale neighbourhood, but seems quite safe. Rooms at the hotel are pretty basic 1.-2 star but clean. Apartments are available, and they're fine. No aircon. No free wireless. It's pricy, but there's an internet cafe across the street and down a bit that allows free access for your laptop if you buy soft drinks, etc. I didn't have much choice of hotel because it's very high season here during some UN meetings where a lot of people are looking for cheap rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catscam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A, Gérant at Hotel At Home, responded to this review, 27 January 2015
Dear Guest,
I would like to once again thank you for your TripAdvisor comments.
We value all the feedback we receive from our guests as we use them to continually improve the service we provide.

I want to let you know that now we have free wifi access and im also delighted that our services and prices matche your expectation.

I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Morteza
Hotel At Home Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

A decent hotel but in the heart of Geneva's red light district.
For only 3 or 4 streets around it is not too pleasant but once you get 250 metres away the area is as charming and cosmopolitan as you expect from this City.
If like me you like to sleep with a window open it can be a problem as the girls and their minders are fairly vocal until the early hours.
That apart the position is quite good being only a 5 minute walk to the Gare Cornavin (the main station) where there are also good bus connections.
The Lake is only a 10/15 minute saunter away.

I would not be happy with any of my unaccompanied female staff staying here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pambill2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A, Gérant at Hotel At Home, responded to this review, 27 January 2015
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for having taken the time to leave such a detailed review about your stay in Hotel At Home.

Im delighted that the location of our hotel matched the purpose of your visit in Geneva.

I am sincerely sorry to read that you encountered issues during your stay with our neighborhood and I am very sorry if this prevented you from enjoying a good sleep.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future!

Kind regards,

Morteza
Hotel At Home Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandern, Germany
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

The name of the hotel is misleading. In the middle of the red light district, actually a sex-shop is next door, the rooms are small and very, very basic. The rest is a minimalistic as Geneva hotel in this price range tend to be. In any case being at home is - at least for me - quite different. If you have no other place to stay, one might still consider it.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A, Gérant at Hotel At Home, responded to this review, 27 January 2015
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at our hotel, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I am truly sorry to read that your stay was not up to your expectation. I understand the inconvenience you had go through due to the location of our hotel.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel.

Kind Regards

Morteza
Hotel At Home Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
169 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

I booked this hotel at short notice on an unscheduled delay in Geneva . The staff were friendly and welcoming. The location is central and particularly convenient for the train station. Unfortunately, the rooms smelt strongly of cigarettes (despite being a non-smoking hotel) and were hot and stuffy, especially at night. Due to significant street noise from bars and clubs nearby windows and shutters had to be kept closed. This is a reasonably cheap hotel for Geneva (~£120 for a double room) and feels like it. A useful hotel for a brief stop but not one to recommend.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adeno_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A, Gérant at Hotel At Home, responded to this review, 28 January 2015
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our Hotel. I am sorry that your experience didn't meet your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Im delighted that the location of our hotel meet the purpose of your visite in geneva and also that the staff looked after you during your stay.

I am sincerely sorry to read that you encountered issues during your stay with our neighborhood and I am very sorry if this prevented you from enjoying a good sleep.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Cornavin
International et Terminus
International et Terminus
#55 of 106 in Geneva
264 reviews
Cornavin
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#85 of 106 in Geneva
93 reviews
Pâquis-Temple
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#48 of 106 in Geneva
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cornavin
Hotel Les Arcades
Hotel Les Arcades
#51 of 106 in Geneva
195 reviews
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 106 in Geneva
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel At Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel At Home

Property: Hotel At Home
Address: rue de Fribourg 16, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Pâquis-Temple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel At Home 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel At Home offers many rooms ( suites, studio apartments ) with and without kitchen. Short-term and long-term booking availability. Free Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel . Hotel At Home is ideally located in the center of Geneva, with direct access to public transport. - Close to the station ( Cornavin Geneva ) and the lake (5min) - Fast connection with the airport ( 15min) - Close to international organisations (UN, WTO, WHO) and business district. - Close to the shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel At Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing