We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bombay Restaurant

Bombay Restaurant
Ranked #541 of 1,677 Restaurants in Geneva
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Cornavin
Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food but expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Location is good - near the train station. Restaurant was not busy and there were lots of staff hanging around but it took a long time to be served and to prepare the food. I am aware that prices can be high in this city but the cheapest bottle of wine available was over 40 swiss francs. A cheaper house wine should be available. The food was good quality when it arrived but again the prices were high - over 30 francs for a standard main course which is around 4 times what it would have cost in England. Overall a reasonable meal but expensive and indifferent service.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank malcy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    46
    30
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Swiss break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We all had an excellent meal here this evening, none of us were disappointed in the service or atmosphere here, prices were fair and we had a complimentary liqueur before leaving, we would like to recommend this restaurant for others to use.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnboyM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Quite OK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Always difficult to find a decent Indian in Switzerland, as none of them use much heat in their dishes. This was no exception, food was tasty and plenty of it, but despite my asking for a 'spicy' version, it was quite mild for my taste.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BaselTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“very bad restaurant. Its only + is the fairly pleasant service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

This restaurant is conveniently situated near the Gare Cornavin, which is Geneva's central railway station. However, it is not a restaurant at all but just a place where ready prepared dishes are heated up. It should not call itself a restaurant but a fast food. The menu is vast which was enough to arouse our suspicions. Predictably the dishes arrived instantly. Our order was mistaken and we had to correct it twice. The food had no flavour at all and I felt that any diner could have done better him/herself with a jar of Coop curry powder. My spinach with cheese contained no cheese and my dining companion's Madras chicken curry was without any sauce. The flavour or the non flavour of the two dishes was identical. The rice was overcooked, a sort of savoury rice pudding. As their prices are not of the lowest, one felt cheated. The open wines are very expensive and mediocre. Ambiance inside is no ambiance at all. It is slightly better on the terrace at the back if it is a warm and fine evening. The place could do with redecoration. Service is pleasant enough but casual. In addition to errors in the order we were initially overcharged. That too was corrected quickly enough when we complained. But all in all this is neither a restaurant nor Indian.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank irene099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“No Good Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

we had dinner there.Reception was very poor,food was served within a few minutes,same curry sauce was used in two different dishes.Tandoori roti was very thick.No follow up to find out about satisfaction of service or food.It is OK for people who do not, what Indian food is?
I would not reccomend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohil2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bombay Restaurant also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Bombay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing