We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is good with average service and a bit priced”

Cafe du Bourg de Four
Ranked #138 of 1,700 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Cité
Description: It is a straight forward inexpensive restaurant in the old city of Geneva with a general European cuisine, mixed with a few Balkan dishes. It does a good rosti. But the general food enjoyment is let down by a surly and rude waiter.
Geneva
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food is good with average service and a bit priced”
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

We had dinner there with our kids. We ordered 4 dishes (there is no menu for children) and got mixed food: beef was ok but tuna steak was not great. If you pay with credit card you get 3% up charge...we found this practice not friendly at all

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Olimpia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    70
    15
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
375 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Worth to try”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Little, cute restaurant. Lovely decoration. If you want to eat good rösti, this is the place to be. Must to try: hazelnut liqueur.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Paulina_Bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Steak Tartar in Geneva !”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We had lunch here on a rainy cold March day. This brasserie had many locals as well as tourists who filled the tables at this small restaurant in one of Geneva's oldest squares. My husband said it was one of the best steak tartars that he has tasted. I had homemade baked spinach ravioli.
Just delicious ! We both had some local Swiss wine which was delicious. The service was superb. I highly recommend this charming little restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Marianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice meal, good atmosphere, good service”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Dinner for 5 that started out as a reservation for 11 people. I was worried that the staff would be upset with our change in numbers, but they took it in stride. The service was prompt and friendly (something you don't always find in Geneva). The food was well prepared and not overly expensive. In our party we chose two fish dishes, a steak, a salad, and rosti. All were delicious. Will definitely return to this establishment. Would recommend a reservation as the place was full.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Steak Tartare”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

A lovely and traditional restaurant in the Old City. Great place to relax at the weekend and fresh tartare.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 8tash8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe du Bourg de Four also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Cafe du Bourg de Four? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing