We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional collection cannot be find elsewhere”

Musee International de la Reforme
Book In Advance
More Info
US$27.56*
and up
Geneva Pass
Ranked #38 of 155 things to do in Geneva
Attraction details
iran
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Exceptional collection cannot be find elsewhere”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

There is a small museum near ST Pierre Cathedral , but with a lot information about reform in Europe .
You can follow the stream by using audio guide and get a lot of information about this juncture of Europe by focusing of Switzerland role.
I found it fantastic.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Babak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    54
    28
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Everything you ever wanted to know about the Reformation in the French-Swiss areas”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

There is a great deal of information here, largely focused on the portion of the Reformation which took place in and around Geneva and in France. But it largely ignores those portions of the Reformation taking place in Northern Europe and England. The museum would be better titled "Museum of the Reformation in France and Switzerland."

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank BobFran_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, interesting interactive exhibits”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Small, expensive but unique special exhibit. Not sure I would pay as much for regular exhibits, which cover religion, but I like small museums so would probably do so. Fantastic location.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank belcal5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“English is available!”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Many TripAdvisor reviewers have said that the Reformation Museum is all in French. There are shelf units in every room with laminated cards, detailing the collection in English. Read the cards and return them as you leave the room. (This system is in place in most of the museums in Geneva.) The audio guide is also in English -- chose language #3 or ask the staff at the reception desk to set it up for you.

The collection itself is kind of dry and scholarly, but the museum is located in a beautiful old home. The music room, tucked in an out-of-the-way corner, is particularly delightful.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank WMUer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“How do you make the Reformation interesting? Try this!”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This was a real find, and one that I might very easily have missed if I had let my school memories of studying the Reformation get the better of me. In two hours, I learnt more about the lasting significance of this movement than I would ever have thought possible. Many museums throughout the world could learn lessons from the presentation here, and how to make a very dry subject interesting. Amazing use of holograms to present Martin Luther and John Calvin (the city's most famous resident) in one of two interactive displays helped explain why the Reformation was necessary. The Museum shows the impact the Reformation had on Europe- and upon the world fantastically well- and made me realise that the period had not just religious but social implications right down to the present day. Above all, this museum is a shining example of how history can be presented in a fresh and exciting way- and in a beautiful building as well.

A plea to the Museum; your exhibition of the perfumes of the Bible is FANTASTIC- please please make it a permanent display! People all over the world are wondering what frankinsense and myrrh smelt like- now they can come to Geneva to find out!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank RWK157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musee International de la Reforme also viewed

 

Been to Musee International de la Reforme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing