We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Indian style food near station” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sajna Restaurant

Sajna Restaurant
Reserve with
Sajna Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #463 of 1,667 Restaurants in Geneva
Price range: US$23 - US$57
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: kerala,south,north Indian and Bengali cuisine
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Indian style food near station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

I was looking to have some Indian food which are not so expensive but nothing is cheaper in geneve, after looking trip advisor I went in this restaurant although its same price as neighbouring Indian restaurants.
We ordered Shahi panner which is not in this menu but recommended by owner, garlic naan and Malabar spicy chicken biriyani, overall the food is good and you can sit outdoors and owner is friendly and can recommend dishes.
If you are craving for some curries around the station area (walkable), this can be tried.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hareesh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    34
    15
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Heavy food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

A decent Indian restaurant. Well connected. Just 5 minutes from Railway Station and Lake Geneva. But food is very heavy. Very less south Indian food. Prices are also too high. Good staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ssooryaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
101 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fresh and authentic but turn off the TV!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

After a week of French bistro food in the Alps we needed a curry fix and we got one here. The bhindi and the chicken jalfrezi were really yummy with a good spice kick although we were disappointed with the Kerela chicken - it really lacked a good South Indian punch and the meat was not breast so it was quite rich in the wrong way. Also the onion pakora was a little strange. Nice in flavour but it was actual onion rings dipped in batter, like from Burger King but with the Asian flavour - not like a pakora or bhaji that we've ever had from any region of the Subcontinent. For the beer drinkers you have the usual plus Singha and Cobra - great stuff!

The style of the decor was not too over the top and a bit more down to earth which we welcomed - shame about the distracting and very annoying Bollywood TV. Why do Indian restaurants do this? If not for the TV it would score higher for ambience. The service was great though and by Swiss standards, good enough value for money. Remember - everything in Switzerland costs 3x more than in London or New York).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank safiaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toulouse
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Authentic indian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Finding a decent Indian restaurant in this corner of France / Switerland has proved a challenge. The Sajna has been quite a find. Good sized portions of excellently spiced food. A bit pricey but then most restaurants are here. Far far superior food and better value to another Indian restaurant over the border in France.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank toulousebrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

We went to this restaurant on a Sunday night and it wasn't open till 6. But the owner was lovely and let us in and have papadams. Food is delicious although bit expensive compared to what we pay in Melbourne. But their food is great and it was the best authentic Indian food we had in Geneva. Also we got desserts on the restaurant and the "Keer" was delicious. I loved it and definitely visit this place again. But the neighborhood seemed bit isolated at night and its good to be cautious..

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sajna Restaurant also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Sajna Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing