We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressed, Sophomoric, Lack of Attention to Detail...Beware!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel d'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel d'Angleterre
Ranked #2 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Alabama
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Unimpressed, Sophomoric, Lack of Attention to Detail...Beware!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

The Hotel D'angleterre is outwardly the epitome of European style and class. My family and I have stayed at many of the world's best hotels, and D'angleterre is certainly competitive in regards to amenities and ambiance. It is in a convenient and scenic location on Lake Geneva, within walking distance to many of the city's sights.

However, as nice as the hotel appears, there were so many problems with our stay that I can not possibly leave them a positive review. Allow me to explain.

1. We asked for directions from the airport to the hotel and were given very bad directions that took us an hour and a half greatly out of our way and caused us to incur expensive railway ticket charges. This was easily avoidable, but the hotel employee was careless and so we were very much put out. As upsetting as this was, it was the hotel desk clerk who made the situation worse. I politely explained what had happened and all he wanted to do was to argue with me while ignoring my concerns. I received no apology and this was disappointing. (I called the manager about the issue and he was kind enough to offer free drinks, but still no actual apology).

2. I found the food service to be spotty and inconsistent. Dinner at the Windows restaurant was delightful, but at breakfast we had two orders come to our table incorrectly (eggs cooked poorly and with the wrong accompaniments). We also ordered ice to the room and it never came, which was puzzling.

3. We found ourselves unfortunately stuck in the elevator and was forced to use the buzzer to call for assistance. Why did the elevator malfunction? I have no clue, but the hotel employee seemed to think it was my fault, which was crazy but sort of sums up this hotels attitude towards their guests.

4. We prepaid for the hotel before we arrived, but upon check out the desk clerk presented us with a bill for our stay. I had to explain and spell out to the person why I should not have a bill. It was eventually fixed, but it is this complete lack of attention to detail that one does not expect to see at a hotel of this caliber.

5. The shower was malfunction when we arrived and we had to wait while it was being fixed. We were not offered a different room, we simply had to wait around while the repairman fixed the issue.

6. Last but not least, they had the audacity to attempt to charge me for taxes that I had indeed prepaid at the time of booking. My booking confirmation form said clearly "taxes prepaid." I was however presented with a bill for taxes, to which I presented my receipt showing that they were included to which he said "no, you have to pay these taxes." He said that I prepaid for the VAT tax, which is a ridiculous statement. As anyone who has spent any time in Europe knows, VAT is always included, it is never separate. He was attempting to gloss over the issue by telling me anything to get me out of the lobby, instead of honoring the terms of the booking. I called the travel agency whom I booked the hotel through and they said that I had prepaid the taxes and deserved a refund. They sent a letter to to D'Angleterre stating the same, but predictably D'Angleterre told them no, that I would not be getting my taxes back. So, even though taxes were included at the time of booking I was forced to pay for them again. Of course, this is a matter of principle and not actually about the money. However it is frustrating to deal with a hotel that makes up the rules as it goes along regardless of the price paid at the time of booking.

So, all in all, this hotel was a great disappointment. With attitude such as theirs, I have absolutely no idea how they achieved a high Tripadvisor rating in the first place. I understand that things do go wrong and that a hotel can not be perfect every time. Things happen, that's life. What amazes me about this hotel is that the things that they had control over, they would not help me with. All that I wanted in each of these cases was an apology, but they were to proud. If the hotel responds to this Tripadvisor review I can only imagine how arrogant it will sound. When I was making my complaints at the hotel in no instance did I ask for or expect anything more than an apology (except for the taxes, which I do intend to get back before things are done with).

Next time we are in Geneva we will be staying at the Four Seasons where I know that if issues arise they are handled with professionalism and care. We've stayed at many Four Reasons properties and have never had a single problem; we should have done so this time. Thank you for your time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Lawbooks01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Vital D, Manager at Hotel d'Angleterre, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding the style and the location of our hotel.

I was really disappointed to learn that we have not been able to meet your expectations and that you have not had the desired empathy from our staff.

Be sure that I am highly concerned by every single of your comments and take them very seriously. I have personally already started dealing with some of the issues you have raised to ensure this will not happen twice.

Our aim at the Hotel d’Angleterre is to provide the best experience and ensure all of our guests leave with great memories of their stay. I will get in touch with you to discuss with you and see if you would consider giving us a second chance to prove how important happy guests are to us.

Respectful regards.

Jean-Vital Domézon
Deputy Manager
jvdomezon@rchmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    76
    11
    2
    7
See reviews for
86
268
36
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

From the moment we arrived every member of the staff knew our names and no task was too difficult - the concierge even walked us to the lake steamer to make sure that we got on the right one! The room was excellent and the location is superb with a great view of the lake and an easy walk to the left bank. (there are also free watertaxis right opposite the hotel) As the hotel is small it has the feeling of a home away from home and the staff take great care of every guest. You will not regret staying here. The Leopard Bar is fun and very busy after 9pm often with live music.

Room Tip: we had a side room with a balcony and had a great view of the jet so a lake facing room is not a mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MInneapolis
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

We just returned from a one week trip through the Berner Oberland by way of Geneva, and our stay at the Angleterre was the icing on the cake. This hotel is spectacular, from the convient address-across from the lake and many restaurants, to the well appointed rooms, and great service, really pleasant staff. The beds were very comfy and felt great after a week of hiking in the Alps. My only regret is that we didn't know what we were missing and could easily have stayed longer. We will be sure to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

A small boutique hotel with excellent service, extremely friendly staff and a very knowledgeable concierge team. Rooms are comfortable and include free internet access. Breakfast is served in Windows restaurant, which has amazing views of the Jet d'eau and offers a wide choice of food both buffet and a la carte along with juices and even champagne. In the evening the hotel bar, The Leopard Room is not to be missed even if just to check out the decor! It can get quite busy later but hotel guests get priortity for tables and there is also live music.

With regards to the location, the hotel is just across from the lake and hotel guests can get free tickets from reception to use on the yellow water taxi's to cross to the opposite side.

For families, the botanical gardens are around ten minutes walk away and are a good place to take children. There is also a small train which stops near the hotel entrance and goes along the lakeside regularly.

All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel and Geneva as a destination to anyone travelling to Switzerland.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Wow! This place is so so fancy! I just loved it. It is really so so very special and you can see why it is 5*. Our room was probably one of the smaller ones but it was perfect and the staff were so professional and amazing. It is very expensive (for me anyway!) but as a treat - it is worth it - I loved it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank totallyali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We went to this hotel to celebrate my birthday. We had a really wonderful time the staff were extremely attentive and very helpful. In the evening at dinner they brought in a wonderful birthday cake with a giant sparkler on top it was so delightful and the waitress sang happy birthday to me. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank firestone163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

My spouse and I spent one night at the D'Angleterre after a hiking trip in the French Alps. Prior to our arrival, we received an email that welcomed us in advance and asked us to fill out a short questionnaire to ensure that any preferences we had could be accommodated - a very nice/professional touch. We received a very warm greeting upon our arrival at the hotel, check in was seemless and the desk clerk gave us a tour of our upgraded room, where we found some fruit and a few sweets waiting for us. The bathroom was spacious. Turn down service included lit tea candles in the bathroom. The room was very quiet, which ensured a deep sleep. The room was immaculately clean. The decor can be described as 'masculine'. We had a number of requests - an early wake up call, reservations at a restaurant that could accommodate my spouse's specific dietary preferences, a taxi, a premier chocolate shop, etc. All these were dealt with very efficiently by desk staff. The location of the hotel is ideal - right on the lake, very close to the jeu d'eau, within a short walking distance (about 12 mins) from the train station, close to the designer shops and also a short walk to the old town (no need for a taxi to and from the train station). If you need to get to the airport, you can take a train from the train station for about 3 euro - most, if not all trains stop at the airport. It is also a close walk to the bus station (if you need to get to certain destinations that are serviced by bus). The hotel is a member of Leading Hotels of the World and that designation is very well earned. This hotel is not cheap - in fact, Switzerland is quite expensive in general, but I consider that this is money well spent.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytravellerme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre

Property: Hotel d'Angleterre
Address: quai du Mont-Blanc 17, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#2 Green Hotel in Geneva
#2 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#2 Family Hotel in Geneva
#3 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Angleterre 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Angleterre
d Angleterre Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing