We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect hotel!!!”
Review of Hotel d'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel d'Angleterre
Ranked #1 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This is an outstanding hotel, one of the best I have ever stayed in!! Our room was gorgeous, with silk covered walls, the location on the lake is perfect and the building is beautiful. But from the moment we arrived, tired and jet-lagged, the staff made this hotel not just a hotel but a home away from home. Every staff member was truly delightful, helpful, attentive and so friendly. We really felt like we were leaving family when we left. And we cannot wait to come back!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Vital D, General Manager at Hotel d'Angleterre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear Maria,
Thank you very much for the warmth of you comments. I am so glad our team made you feel like home. It is really our main goal. All our rooms are decorated with various objects, allowing to create an ambiance and a spirit to each and every one of them.
We can't wait for your next visit as we have some freshly redecorated room to show you. See you soon then !
Jean-Vital Domézon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
There are newer reviews for Hotel d'Angleterre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

This boutique hotel is not only situated perfectly but is blessed with wonderful and helpful staff. The help they gave us as our son was not well was outstanding. The restaurant and bar are worth trying. Our rooms had great views too. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms with balconies are fantastic.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tunu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Vital D, General Manager at Hotel d'Angleterre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear Tunu,
It has been a real satisfaction for me to read your comment. I hope your son Jaz has now fully recovered. You will definitively need to be back to enjoy Geneva a bit better with him next time. There are still areas of Geneva you don't know ! The team will still be there to show you that “because we care” are not only words for us !
Jean-Vital Domézon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My husband and I visited in April 2012 and had a fantastic time. We were celebrating a special occasion and were upgraded to a spectacular suite and given champagne and fruits when we checked in. Nice! The staff was so attentive and gave great food recommendations. The view from the room as gorgeous. We had a fantastic time and will be back!

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank cls2486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We only stayed in Hotel d'Angleterre one night, but it was a memorable one! Although expensive, the hotel is very elegant, with a wonderful staff. Whereas my husband and I had a less expensive garden view room, which was very well appointed with an extremely nice bathroom and wonderful toiletries, our friends had a room overlooking the lake, which was spectacular. The hotel is very well situated, facing the lake and is a very easy walk to Old Town, where we had a delightful breakfast at a small cafe. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We just spent a total of three nights here broken up into two stays. Both rooms were excellent- the first on the fourth floor with a view of the Lake and the second a newly renovated room on the first floor. What really made the stay memorable however was all the staff. Everyone of them was friendly and helpful. The hotel was not busy so we had time to chat with several of the staff and we were impressed with all of them and the level of sevice they provided. The food in the restuarant was also excellent as was the service. Geneva is expensive and so is this hotel but our stay was truly enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coffee522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Vital D, General Manager at Hotel d'Angleterre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

I was thrilled to read your very kind comment regarding our hotel and our Windows Restaurant. Your kind comments regarding the team make me so proud of them. Be sure that I will pass on your congratulations to them! I hope you’ll keep brilliant memories of your time in Switzerland and that you enjoyed your time in france.
Warmest regards.
Jean-Vital Domézon, General Manager, Hotel d’Angleterre Geneva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

An unplanned stay at the hotel which turned out to be a most pleasant experience, level of service outstanding, attentitive and very helpful staff, fantastic food.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Vital D, General Manager at Hotel d'Angleterre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

Dear Ian,
Thank you very much for your nice comment. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel, its unique staff and the cuisine of Philippe Audonnet, chef of the Windows Restaurant. If you happen to come back to Geneva, for a planned stay this time, we would really happy to greet you again!
Kindest regards
Jean-Vital Domézon, General Manager, Hotel d’Angleterre Geneva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

just returned from a 6 day stat at Hotel d'Angleterre in Geneva. A charming gem of a hotel at a great location in Geneva. The staff is cordial and helpful, the hotel is large enough enough to be full service but small enough to be personalized and inviting.

I would recommend Hotel d'Angleterre to anyone visiting Geneva.

Room Tip: rooms facing lake geneva have a postcard view of Quai du Mont Blanc and Lake Geneva.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael_Colby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Vital D, General Manager at Hotel d'Angleterre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

Dear M. Colby,
I would like to thank you twice: once for your warm comment and once for your wonderful picture. It is a remarkable one, most probably shot from your room, that shows a bit of Geneva’s best : its Leman lake, its iconic Jet d’eau as well as the top of Europe, the Mont-Blanc in the background.
Your comment emphasises on one of our aim : being the smallest of the big hotels in Geneva, or is it the biggest of the small hotels of Geneva? One thing is really true : our size is real asset to be able to give a true intimate, personalized and dedicated service to our guest.
Hope you’ll be back soon on the shores of Geneva.
Warmest regards.
Jean-Vital Domézon, General Manager, Hotel d’Angleterre Geneva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 106 in Geneva
969 reviews
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#11 of 106 in Geneva
761 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre

Address: quai du Mont-Blanc 17, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#1 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#2 Green Hotel in Geneva
#2 Family Hotel in Geneva
#3 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: £319 - £861 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Angleterre 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Angleterre
d Angleterre Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing