We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful in Geneva” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel d'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel d'Angleterre
Ranked #2 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful in Geneva”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed for several days with our young children (6 and 8) and I could not think of how our stay could have been any better. Our rooms were very clean nicely decorated. The view of Lake Geneva with the mountains in the background was beautiful to wake up to each morning. The Hotel staff was very helpful in making suggestions on what we should see and helping us make the necessary arrangements. The daily breakfast buffet in their restaurant was well worth the cost and we celebrated my youngest daughter's birthday one night in their restaurant and they certainly made her feel like a princess. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a mountain/lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCB00001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    74
    11
    2
    7
See reviews for
84
266
36
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

At the time to make a reservation in Geneva, I did remember a comment made about this hotel from a friend who travels often to Switzerland. He was saying that it was the place to stay in Geneva.
I dont know much about other hotels in the city, but i doubt that you can find better.
Great location, the perfect comfortable room, nicely furnished with a with a large bathroom.,
At check-in, you feel instantly that the staff, gentle and very professional will provide a great service.
In fact, everyone cares about your well being and do their best to please you. GREAT! GREAT!
I have never seen a place so clean, they will even cover an opened bottle of water to protect it from dust ( see picture)
100% happy

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanluc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

A very elegant hotel, heavy on character, in an excellent location. The rooms, especially the bathrooms, are small but stylishly decorated. Despite the fact that the hotel faces a major street, our room was quiet. I appreciate the fact that the concierge was able to get me a last-minute booking for CERN. The staff was very professional and courteous.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank b00kgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

My husband and I just spend five nights at the Hotel d'Angleterre in Geneva and I wanted to add this review to the glowing reviews of the property that have already been posted. The hotel is very convenient to transportation but that's not its biggest asset. The staff could not have been more welcoming or accommodating! The rooms are spacious and well-furnished. The bathrooms are delightful. Our room had a rain shower that was wonderful at the end of a hot day exploring the town. The only drawback to this hotel is that it doesn't have a pool, which I would have enjoyed. My husband says its the nicest place he has ever stayed!

Room Tip: The rooms over-looking the lake are worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

One always says that the venue makes the difference, I think in the case of the Hotel d' Angleterre, it simply is the peoples.
Everyone is there for you, looking after your every need, simply a fantastic stay again.
This time we had 2 rooms as a family and everyone, adults and teenagers were made to feel home.
We surely will be back, thank you all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlivierGibaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

This location can't be beat! 5 minute walk to water taxi, 5 minute walk to bus terminal to catch tour buses. Easy to get around right across from lake Geneva, excellent concierge, excellent restaurant, hotel and rooms itself a bit dated but still nice and very clean, staff very helpful and professional.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

This is one of the finest hotels anywhere, so I will mention the two drawbacks. First, even for Geneva, it is expensive. Second, the tiny elevators may require splitting up more than a couple of people. That is it; every other aspect of the hotel is exquisite, even world class, and I think given the location (better than Four Seasons) and beautiful building (Kempinski) it is the best hotel on the lake, a hard fought honor.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank EWWarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de la Paix
#3 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre

Property: Hotel d'Angleterre
Address: quai du Mont-Blanc 17, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#2 Family Hotel in Geneva
#2 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#2 Green Hotel in Geneva
#3 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Angleterre 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Angleterre
d Angleterre Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing