We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel d'Angleterre : Geneva's finest; perfect location; luxury perfection”
Review of Hotel d'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel d'Angleterre
Ranked #1 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Gosforth Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel d'Angleterre : Geneva's finest; perfect location; luxury perfection”
Reviewed 18 June 2008

My wife and I had the pleasure of celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary last week at Hotel d'Angleterre. In all those years , this is without doubt the best hotel we have ever stayed in. We have never been in a five star hotel that comes anywhere near to providing the discreet friendly service and quality of surroundings provided by Hotel d'Angleterre. In addition it is located in the best, and we would say the most beautiful position in Geneva. To top this, the hotel's exquisite Windows restaurant, facing Lake Geneva and the famous Jet d'eau provides cuisine which is gastronimic perfection and an artistic masterpiece of presentation. If you want to indulge in probably one of europe's finest hotel experiences, book Hotel d'Angleterre now! We are going back.
Ian and Angela

  • Liked — MOST BEAUTIFUL AND CONVIENIENT LOCATION IN GENEVA; BEST LUXURY HOTEL IN TOWN
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IANandANGELA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    77
    12
    3
    7
See reviews for
95
282
36
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2008

This is a small boutque hotel situated right on Lake Geneva. Everything about this hotel is wonderful. The location is right in the middle of shops, restaurants, gardens and a lot of other activities. You could not choose a better location for a hotel. Although the hotel is older, it has been lovelingly restored. We had a deluxe room with a view of the lake and -although it was small- it was beautiful.. It had a really nice bathroom, a comfortable bedroom and bed , a dressing area and a small sitting area. I cannot say enough good things about the hotel staff. Everyone was very professional, friendly and helpful. They could not do enough for us. Whenever we asked for anything, someone from housekeeping, room service or reception was at our room in five minutes. The service is just excellent. We really enjoyed our stay here and would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again and to recommend it to our friends. If you are in Geneva, this is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Liked — I liked everything about the hotel.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank casalinda2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2008

We loved staying at this small but wonderfully comfortable hotel. Every amenity you would find at home was provided in our room. While the reception area was small, the adjoining restaurant and the waiting area adjoining it made for a nice first impression. We found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. The location was excellent and after looking at some of the other five star hotels, we would definitely come back. Our room rate included a wonderful breakfast served in lovely surroundings and with a late check out time, we felt we got excellent value in what can be a very expensive city. We found Geneva charming and staying at this hotel contributed to the experience.

  • Liked — Quiet elegance
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NewJerseyExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2007

I can't think of a top hotel with which I have been more impressed. I extended my stay and then extended again - for the sense of sheer comfort, pampering and well being I experienced here. There are grander hotels, maybe, in Geneva, but none, for me, match the intimacy, personal attention and thoroughbred class of this hotel.

The reception and public areas are modest though stylish. The corridors spotless though arguably a little austere. But the rooms are perfect with every little thing you need. I tried two different superior rooms over the duration of my stay - one reminiscent of a gentleman's study/club in furnishings, one more country house bedroom in feel. In both, I could simply sit and spend ages just enjoying the immaculate style of them. The bathrooms and spotless, very modish and luxurious.

Finally the service is, for me, the best type. It is is very professional and efficient but also very warm and genuine. When all the staff know your name, you don't feel it is just a gambit - you feel they are genuinely interested.

The Beau Rivage and Four Seasons may feel more immediately grand - but for my money, niether can match the quality and individuality of design you get at the D'Angleterre. The Cigogne has wonderful character and can work out cheaper, and is one I would also highly recommend - but ultimately I don't think it can rival the quality, comfort and understated sophistication of the D'Angleterre. As with any good design or a good wine, your appreciation of its quality and charms grow over time.

  • Liked — Sheer quality and comfort of the rooms; the warm, unstuffy, personal service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tomaso38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2007

I just returned from a week trip in europe. I spent the first nite at the hotel d'angleterre and was very pleased. The check in process was swift, courteous and efficient. As I was being registered, the concierge was there giving me maps and info on geneva. I am a member of Leaders club with LHW which gave me an automatic upgrade at time of booking. I booked the cheapest room ($410) and was upgraded to a superior room. The room was tiny but immaculate with a very comfortable king bed and a spotless bathroom. Over all, I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rentadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2007

What an experience - fantastic hotel with charming staff, who spoke very good english and provided excellent service.
I requested additional towels and pillows on two separate occasions and both were delivered within minutes. Rooms clean and smoke free!
Front office staff were very knowledgeable and helped with planning my daytrips.
Beautiful location, close to city centre, easy for airport and trips along the lake.
Definately recommend and great location for trips around the lake.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yetanothertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2007

My husband and I found this hotel to be extraordinary in every way and beautifully managed. We stayed six nights while on vacation and had difficulty pulling ourselves away from the d'Anglaterre on Lake Geneva. It would be equally exceptional while on business. The staff are all extremely courteous, attentive and discreet. We arrived early afternoon on a Saturday and all staff already knew our names at dinner and at breakfast the following morning. The property itself is superb with a stunning location, and the amenities are five-star, including the cuisine at Windows Restaurant and the ambience and service at the Leopard Bar. Coffee ordered early in the morning through room service was delivered in about five minutes. Sonia Mathy, Maitre D', was welcoming and made us feel at home at Windows. Bruno Pensa, Head Concierge, and his team, quietly and efficiently answered questions and helped with reservations and purchasing of train tickets to Zurich. The element we appreciated most at the hotel was the atmosphere of discretion and the absolute quiet and tranquility. We had a lovely deluxe room with a lake view on the fourth floor.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Liked everything
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Everycontinent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 105 in Geneva
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#12 of 105 in Geneva
734 reviews
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 105 in Geneva
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre

Property: Hotel d'Angleterre
Address: quai du Mont-Blanc 17, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#1 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#2 Family Hotel in Geneva
#2 Green Hotel in Geneva
#3 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Angleterre 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Angleterre
d Angleterre Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing