We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your home away from home :)”
Review of Hotel d'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel d'Angleterre
Ranked #1 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Your home away from home :)”
Reviewed 26 August 2010

The best luxury hotel from Geneva. As a member of the Small Leading Hotels of the World, Hotel D'Angleterre is there to offer you impeccable service in their blend of old-world charm, cosmopolitan surroundings, and 21st-century technology, in short a 5-star luxury hotel, with a discreet, intimate atmosphere. And the most important thing is the personalized service you get :)

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    77
    12
    3
    7
See reviews for
92
281
36
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SAUDI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 5 days and absolutely loved it. The room was huge.Moreover,The staff were so friendly and so helpful. The breakfast buffet is just amazing and managed . Room service is good value and very quick .

We absolutely loved our stay here and will definately stay there again. I have already

recommended it to other expats here in Saudi arabia.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALATHEER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

I stayed there only for one night. Location is best, right on Q. de Mont-Blanc in front of Jet d'Eau. Wonderful restaurant with a view, and very nice Leopard Bar in the evening. But the hotel itself is really tight and gloomy. Very dark-green corridors with pale lights, very small rooms, I mean standarts. But really great stuff with high level of service. So my conclusion, to stay there only if there is no alternatives in Geneva available on your dates or you are a big fan of English style .

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marumbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Service: the concierge is amazingly helpful and trust me, follow their recommendations on places to visit and eat. They know their stuff.

Amenities: the room is typical five star with nice toiletries, bathrobes, etc.

Internet: free wifi with a unique code

Food: the food is rather pricey and not many vegetarian options.

sauna: the sauna and gym are high quality and the sauna is a private one which is booked in advanced.

Not much else to say, but amazing service and attention by the staff to make sure one's stay is memorable experience. They really go out of their way.

I rated the value of the hotel as 3 stars only because despite all the positives, and no negatives, it is still too pricey.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kreuzlingen, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2010

The hotel is located directly on the main street overlooking Lake Geneva. We could look out at the Jet d`Eau while enjoying the fabulous breakfast which was a combination of a light buffet and a freshly cooked selection served at the table. The room was quiet, well equipped (including an i-pod-docking station) but was not really big enough for the very comfortable but oversized bed. The service was always attentive and friendly with a particular note for the assistance with restaurants and places to visit from the concierge Marco and the nice ladies from the reception.
The hotel has no driveway as the entrance is on a small side street which was not a major problem since our car was parked by an employee waiting outside.
We did not try the restaurant (Windows) in the evening but did visit the Leopard Lounge (Bar). Although the decor is an appealing colonial style the very loud disco music did not seem to match the atmosphere and prohibited a normal conversation.
The overall impression of this distinguished little hotel is pleasant and friendly and has all the comforts one would expect from a five star house and one which we will surely return to.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milo-tb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

Having had to endure a last minute booking at another hotel the other side of the lake I was relieved to book in here for 2 nights last week. Quite simply, this place is perfect. On arriving at the door to leaving 2 days later my experience was exceptional. The front desk staff were extremely polite and helpful, the concierge was really great in giving advice on where to go/what to see and nothing seemed too much trouble for him. As a lone female it was so reassuring to feel so safe and looked after.

So to the room...beautiful. I had a room looking over the courtyard which didn't in the slightest bit bother me as the room was so lovely. Everything you could need from an ipod dock, lush fat towels, heavy bathrobes, coffee facilities, fresh and candied fruit...at evening turndown you get a yummy sweet thing and lit candles in the bathroom. Such a nice touch.

I didn't eat breakfast there so I can't comment on that but I did have room service one night which was actually not bad value for money at around £15 for pasta and bread. And it was good.

The bar downstairs is rather stunning and fun in leopard design. Much funkier than it sounds! All the staff were just so kind and this includes the bar staff who didn't make me feel at all uncomfortable as a lone female having a glass of wine in their bar on a saturday night.

It's not cheap (£725 for 2 nights-eek!) but such a fantastic experience I wouldn't hesitate to return should finances allow. I just cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We just returned from a 3 night break to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary. The welcome was amazing, with drinks in our room and fresh fruit being served shortly after arrival. We paid for a "Deluxe" Room - this means you can see the Lake (not necessarily the fountain which was rarely in operation during our stay - not the fault of the hotel I hasten to add!!). The staff were attentive, almost to the point of being oppressive, there was a free wi-fi connection, and after such a warm welcome we hoped for great things. However, there were no "magazines" or "fruit" in our room, as stated on their website (unless this meant the apple & orange we received on arrival?). We were never asked if we would like to use the gym or sauna. We were never offered a Geneva Travel Card (free to all Geneva Hotel Guests), and we had great trouble getting any milk for our tea!! We only learned of the Geneva Travel Card from this website, and were only issued with one when we asked for it. Some previous comments have noted that the hotel is not in the Old Town - however there are very few good hotels in that area. All of the good hotels are in the vicinity of this hotel and are just a short (10 minute) walk or boat ride (2 minutes) from the (much nicer) old town. The boat leaves from right outside the hotel, and is free with a Geneva Travel Card. There is a plentiful tea tray in your room, but this does not include milk (even UHT), only powdered coffee creamer. Any Englishman will know that tea needs fresh milk! So on Saturday morning I called room service and requested a small jug of fresh milk. 20 minutes later the milk had not arrived so I had to call again, and soon after the milk arrived. The following day we returned mid-afternoon to collect some sweaters. The ever-dutiful concierge was on hand to open the lift door, and I requested that some milk be sent up to our room. Nothing happened! As the previous day, 20 Minutes later I had to call AGAIN to request the milk, and miraculously a suitably embarrassed young man appeared at our door soon after. Now, in itself, milk is not a serious matter. It is milk. However, the hotel prides itself on having entertained such guests as Michael Jackson, Celine Dion and Mikhael Gorbachev. I wonder how long they would have had to wait for a small jug of milk? This is a beautiful hotel, in a beatiful location and the room itself was idyllic, if a little old fashioned. Turndown was fabulous, with not just the obligatory chocolate on the pillow, but also the blinds and curtains were closed, a candle was lit in the bathroom and all manner of other lovely little touches were performed. However, the point of my review is that all of this was a little mechanical, both the arrival "procedure" and the turndown. But when push came to shove, they didn't seem able to honour the most simple of requests. At £600 per night, room only, a small jug of milk doesn't seem like such an unreasonable request - does it?

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy2Travel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bristol
#6 of 105 in Geneva
927 reviews
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#10 of 105 in Geneva
725 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#7 of 105 in Geneva
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre

Property: Hotel d'Angleterre
Address: quai du Mont-Blanc 17, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#1 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#2 Family Hotel in Geneva
#2 Green Hotel in Geneva
#3 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Angleterre 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Angleterre
d Angleterre Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing