We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Les Armures

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Les Armures
Ranked #38 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent location, lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The location of this hotel is wonderful if you want easy access to the old town and city centre. It doesn't have lake views but that wasn't what we were after.

The service was consistently lovely. No problem at all when we arrived at 1am after a delayed flight from Heathrow. The room was always wonderfully cleaned while we were out - we were very happy.

The room was a mix of original features and modern touches which was very nice. Slightly strange breakfast bar style table in our room but not unpleasant. Lovely to have a window that looked out onto the street and a window sill big enough to sit on to enjoy it.

The only reason I am not giving this 5 stars is the price. It IS expensive but so is Geneva. It also doesn't have the facilities that the luxury hotels on the lake have like a gym or spa but if you're after a beautiful room in the old town then this is perfect and I would definitely recommend it and definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taylor1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpater, Directeur général at Hotel Les Armures, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at “Les Armures”.

It is nice to see that you both loved the decor and the location in the Old City of Geneva. Also, we pass on your kind words to our hotel staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit in Geneva.

With our best regards,

Michel Paternotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    59
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
37
68
7
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed for one night very beginning of May. We were upgraded to a junior suite which was really nice with much place. Beds are very comfortable, wifi is excellent.
Our feeling was that the public spaces in the hotel should be upgraded to the same level as the rooms. The corridors, the lobby and the other rooms downstairs are not up to what you can except for the stars and the price of the hotel.
Service is good but not very good. They may need a few more people so that clients do not have to wait too long when they ask for something.
If we had not been upgraded I would certainly have thought the price was slightly too high.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KUSNACHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpater, Directeur général at Hotel Les Armures, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are happy to read your comments regarding your very recent stay with us at “Les Armures” and would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience via Tripadvisor.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Junior Suite.
Regarding your little disappointments, we will carefully study your remarks to maintain the high standards of service expected.
We look forward to welcome you again to "Les Armures".

With our best regards,

Michel Paternotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Next time we plan to stay LONGER. We flew all the way from Los Angeles via London to Geneva in one day and took public transportation to Old Town then walked up to the hotel. We were exhausted, but as soon as we walked through the door we were so warmly greeted.

After receiving a generous complimentary upgrade for our two-night stay, we slept day one away! Hands-down that was the most comfortable bed we've EVER slept in and we do quite a bit of traveling. From the best pillows on earth to the bedding and the tranquil feeling of our junior suite, we felt we'd died and gone to Heaven!

Our junior suite had a living room area, open beam ceilings, beautifully decorated, a dressing room, fluffily bath robes, slippers, and the bathroom was marvelous! What a superb tub! I always love my tub and shower separate so it was perfect. Also, fluffiest bath towels EVER!

We are very eager to return!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpater, Directeur général at Hotel Les Armures, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post such kind words following your stay at “Les Armures”.

We are very pleased that you liked the bedroom, the decor, the comfortable bed and “the best pillows on earth”… We are very dedicated to making our guests feel at home and we are thrilled that you felt we could not do enough for you.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Sincerely yours.

Michel Paternotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed with this hotel.
It has the best location in Geneva.
But this is all.
Service is poor, impersonal.
Rooms are tiny.
There is no acoustic insulation, as it is an old building.
So, everyday (and night) you are awaken either by the service personel or by other guests.
Talking about old. There is one lift. That was broken during our stay.
The cherry on the pie? They simply charged minibar items we didn't consume...
Way to many stars in the facade.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Little_World2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpater, Directeur général at Hotel Les Armures, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Sir,

I am happy to read your comments regarding your recent stay with us at « Les Armures » and would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience.

First of all, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the old city’s situation of the hotel.
Moreover, I would like to apologize as it seems the hotel Les Armures hasn't answered your needs and expectations. I am sorry that you had to experience some disturbance caused by the lift out of order for a couple of hours. But please don't worry; if some parts of our hotel existed since XVIIth Century, this is not the case for the lift...
I am not only disappointed to read that you found the service poor and impersonal, but also surprised. We pay attention to helpfulness and friendliness, so the staffs are well-known to provide a high quality and personalized welcome and service.
I will carefully study your remarks to maintain the high standards of service expected.

I look forward for having another opportunity to welcome you back to « Les Armures », and to prove you that the image you have is really different to its reality.

With my best regards,

Michel Paternotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed at Les Armures in Jan 2013. The hotel was beautiful and extremely well situated. The small touches (sheets and towels, for example) were fabulous, and our room was well laid out and quiet, as we had requested. The only problem: in all our years of traveling, this was the MOST EXPENSIVE hotel in which we have stayed. Yes, the cost of living in Geneva is astronomical; prices for everything reflect this fact (ask us about our pretty average $250 pizza dinner!). But if you are willing to splurge for a few nights -- and if you close your eyes when you sign your credit card bill at the end -- this hotel was a real treat.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpater, Directeur général at Hotel Les Armures, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post such kind words following your stay at “Les Armures”.

I am very pleased that you liked the bedroom, the décor and the small touches in the bathroom. We are very dedicated to making our guests feel at home.

I hope to welcome you back in the future,

With my best regards

Michel Paternotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munchendorf, Austria
Level Contributor
364 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

High level swiss hospitality in a warm-haerted familial atmosphere. The location near the south bank of the lake invites you to discover the old part of geneve by walking around. Large rooms with a perfect mix of old and modern but with every indulgence in a very old historic building. Breathtaking architecture, interieur and design!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enricoBeiWien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpater, Directeur général at Hotel Les Armures, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a nice review.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Also, I am delighted you enjoyed the décor of the rooms and the great location in the Old City of Geneva.
I look forward to welcoming you again at “Les Armures”, I remain,
Yours faithfully

Michel Paternotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at Les Armures in early January 2014. This was our second time at this hotel.... and I have reviewed it before. The hotel is in a great location and the hotel and restaurant were fantastic.

The reason I am giving it only 3 stars is the following.

The rooms run hot. I turned the temperature down to the lowest setting, but it was still too hot to sleep. We were left to sleeping with the windows open, which was fine the first night, but the second night was horrible. Unfortunately, given the proximity to bars and restaurants and the mild temperatures outside, the street noise from people partying was outrageous. We did call down to the front desk, but nothing could be done because the noise from the hotel was not the problem. This noise continued to well after 2a.m. I don't know about Switzerland, but in the US, someone would have called the Police and they would have responded and taken care of the situation. Given that we were dealing with Jet lag too, this was horrible.

It has been my experience, while staying in European hotels, it is difficult to change the temperature of the rooms yourself and even with hotel help we usually have to sleep with the windows open. If we travel back to Geneva, we will consider another option. This may be an isolated incident, but it is enough to give us pause in the future.

Otherwise it was a great hotel, with fantastic service and an excellent restaurant!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghasenei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpater, Directeur général at Hotel Les Armures, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Sir,

I am happy to read your comments regarding your recent stay with us at “Les Armures” and would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience.
I am disappointed to hear that on this occasion you were disturbed by the temperature in your room and also the noise in the street. The hotel staff would have to explain the possibilities of your room. You can turn off the heat, open the window, turn on the AC, and this is possible all year round. If you are sensitive to street noise, we have quiet rooms on the 4th floor and also on a interior courtyard.
Once again, I am sorry that the disturbance you encountered on this occasion has marred your opinion of us and do hope sometime in the future you may give us another try and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in us. Do not hesitate to contact me personally for your next visit in Geneva.
Thank you again for all of your comments and constructive feedback, it really helps us to maintain our standards and focus on areas that we need to improve.

With my best regards,

Michel Paternotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel de la Cigogne
#36 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#9 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Cité
Fraser Suites Geneva
Fraser Suites Geneva
#25 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiffany Hotel
#21 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Hotel Longemalle
#55 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Bel'Esperance
#41 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Armures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Armures

Property: Hotel Les Armures
Address: rue du Puits-Saint-Pierre 1, Geneva 1204, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Cité
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Geneva
#28 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Les Armures 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique hotel located in the heart of the Old town of Geneva, “Les Armures” offers a breathtaking view of historic part of the city, while being only a stone's throw away from the business and shopping centre of Geneva. This magnificent 17th century residence has been recently renovated to create a unique environment, combining luxury and refinement, well-being and savoir-vivre with uniquely decorated rooms and suites, all of them with their own charm and elegance. As far as dining is concerned, Epicureans will enjoy “Les Armures” restaurant, known as one of the oldest in the city. The “brasserie style” restaurant, features all-day dining and serves Swiss specialities, such as cheese fondue or raclette. Undoubtedly, Les Armures Restaurant is an unforgettable experience!The walls of this romantic hotel still seem to vibrate with the charisma of his well-known guests as: President Jimmy Carter and his wife Rosalynn, President Bill Clinton and his family, Paul Mac Cartney, Gary Gasparov, Jean Marais, Yannick Noah, Sophia Loren, Pelé and recently George Clooney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Les Armures reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Armures Hotel
Les Armures Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing