We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet central location in the intimate upper city”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Les Armures

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Les Armures
Ranked #36 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quiet central location in the intimate upper city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

We selected this hotel to be away from the masses of tourists in the busy lake-front hotels, and were rewarded with a much more personalized and intimate setting. In any case it is still a city-centre hotel, but you need to be good on your feet for sightseeing, as it is a bit of a climb up the hill. Rather difficult to find by car with a navigation system, by the way, and be prepared for several loops around the area before you get in front of the hotel. We thought that these clean and clear rooms were well-designed. They preserve a certain rustic charm of the antique building they are in, they are just big enough and with all comforts. The restaurant and the breakfast were not sophisticated but nevertheless excellent. The front desk was very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Othegraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    59
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
37
68
7
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

It was our first trip to Geneva and I wanted a couple of special nights to finish off a 3 week trip in Europe. This hotel ticked all the boxes. Quality of service and the attentiveness of staff was excellent from the moment we arrived .The room was quiet and spacious and the beds were beautiful and comfortable while the dual bathroom and shower was fabulous.Position is perfect in a quieter part of the old town and we actually ended up dining at the little hotel restaurant out the back, casual food and excellent service we came back 3 times mainly due to the expert attention of Jean Phillipe for whom nothing was too much trouble. We even took a lovely bottle of Burgundy there in true Australian BYO tradition and Jean pierre looked after us and made our stay memorable.Perfectly located for a quiet stroll and a number of restaurants and cafes within easy walking distance. The staff were fabulous in giving us directions and it was 5star service from start to finish. Spoil yourself and indulge in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macrobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

We stayed 1 night at this hotel, had a junior suite, very elegant, the bed was amazing, I wonder where they buy their bed linen and pillows. Quiet, nicely placed, helpful and professional staff, they provided us with a cot for the baby (we did have to wait some 50-60 minutes or so them to resolve the glitch with the room but other than that all was excellent). breakfast was appropriate. The only thing I did not like, was the restaurant: there was only 1 waitress, she was running around inefficiently almost and not very friendly and the food... the best way to describe it is forgettable and below mediocre but pricey.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beatrice35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

I grew up in Geneva - and yes, I know that after you buy a watch and eat chocolate, it has a reputation for being boring. So when I took my wife there for the first time I wanted her to really experience life in Geneva as I knew it - wonderful - and the within the wall of the Old Town was the perfect spot.

Les Armures was around when I was a kid - so it was great to return after 20 years and find that it still reigned as one of Geneva's best hotels and restaurants...Our room was wonderful (we were ungraded to a suite upon arrival) and the hotel staff couldn't have been more pleasant and accommodating thoughout our four night stay. Breakfast was the best we had in Europe - and it was so comforting to return to the Restaurant Les Armures. And yes - they do make a big deal about Bill Clinton and George Clooney staying there - but why not. It remains the best place to stay in Geneva, and I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd_Saunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda2010
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

We had a 2 bedroom suite that was amazing, very clean, very quiet, very expensive! The hotel lobby is VERY small, no place to go other than your room really. Restaurant is only for breakfast to my knowledge, very small also. Staff is not fluent in English.

The hotels great the downstairs restaurant (which may not be affiliated with the hotel) is not, worst hotel restaurant experience I have had in a while. Food thrown down on chipped plates very mediocre quality. Rustic atmosphere is more shabby chalet and cafeteria food than "the best fondue in Geneva"-save your fondue calories for elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NY-traveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paikpara
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

Simply the best in Geneva! The place is just glorious, great for romantic night. The service and all installation are excellent. The house is great, you can really relax in this place, we enjoyed very much. Absolutely recommended for everybody.They have clean and beautiful rooms. The bedding is great. (The pillows were so nice here!) I slept like a baby. The staff was friendly and went above and beyond to assist us. It's a wonderful area (Old City) with a lot of places to eat around the hotel and shopping. Amazing breakfast room (dont miss it!). I am very likely to return to the Armures Hotel. I would definitely recommend it to friends.

Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sambit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
165 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2009

Very nice looking rooms, very comfortable. A "small" hotel, nice service, perfect location for tourism (in the heart of the old Geneva).

But: breakfast is OK, not fantastic, not the perfect location for business, too expensive if not during - quite frequent - discounted weeks

In conclusion, a great hotel 5 stars for visiting Geneva as a tourist, not for business journey.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tristan_Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel de la Cigogne
#38 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#9 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Cité
Fraser Suites Geneva
Fraser Suites Geneva
#25 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiffany Hotel
#20 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Hotel Longemalle
#56 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Bel'Esperance
#41 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Armures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Armures

Property: Hotel Les Armures
Address: rue du Puits-Saint-Pierre 1, Geneva 1204, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Cité
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Geneva
#27 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Les Armures 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique hotel located in the heart of the Old town of Geneva, “Les Armures” offers a breathtaking view of historic part of the city, while being only a stone's throw away from the business and shopping centre of Geneva. This magnificent 17th century residence has been recently renovated to create a unique environment, combining luxury and refinement, well-being and savoir-vivre with uniquely decorated rooms and suites, all of them with their own charm and elegance. As far as dining is concerned, Epicureans will enjoy “Les Armures” restaurant, known as one of the oldest in the city. The “brasserie style” restaurant, features all-day dining and serves Swiss specialities, such as cheese fondue or raclette. Undoubtedly, Les Armures Restaurant is an unforgettable experience!The walls of this romantic hotel still seem to vibrate with the charisma of his well-known guests as: President Jimmy Carter and his wife Rosalynn, President Bill Clinton and his family, Paul Mac Cartney, Gary Gasparov, Jean Marais, Yannick Noah, Sophia Loren, Pelé and recently George Clooney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Les Armures reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Armures Hotel
Les Armures Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing