We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de la Cigogne
Ranked #42 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Perfectly located hotel in the very center of Geneva. We had a very lovely suite on the top floor and have to admit that everything was just perfect. The suite was very clean, comfy beds, perfectly equipped bathrooms. The staff is very friendly and makes you really feel home. My first choice in Geneva.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 71KEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

Recently returned to the hotel after a stay 12 years ago that was very nice. The hotel's air conditioning wasn't working and it was a warm day. We were offered another Jr. Suite, but it was just as warm, and very plain. Luckily, we could open the windows and our room cooled by the time we slept. They were working on the air conditioning the next day.

I saw, on entrance, scaffolding outside and asked if there was construction going on. I was assured it would not occur. The next AM at 9:20 loud vibratng construction started on our floor and lasted for at least an hour. We had hoped to sleep in, because we had been travelling a lot that week. We complained about he noise and were told it would stop, but it didn't. I took a comment card on chekout and gave feedback online to Relais & Chateau. The manager emailed me and said because we did not formally complain on checkout, he could do nothing for us.

This place is not a 5 star hotel, with these sorts of issues. Never had such problems with many stays at Relais and Chateau branded hotels before.

Room Tip: Jr. Suites are not worth it. The baths are tiny and the commode is in a separate room. Suggestion to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

A truly great value!
Genève is an expensive city and when you see the room prices of local 5* hotels you clearly understand this. However, if you do not really need a swimming pool you may find some nice hotels without spending a fortune! Hôtel de La Cigogne is one of these places. It is perfectly located on a quiet pedestrian street in the center of the city, close to everything. It has very nice rooms, and provides you a good sleeping comfort even if you are taller than 190 cm – I really enjoyed wide and, what is more rarely found, long bed in my room.
There is free Wi-Fi with good speed provided, and breakfast, already included in the room price, is more than sufficient and substantial even without any additionally charged extras.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anton_Panasenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Nice central location, close to the old town

Easy to walk around here the hotel and get to some good resturants and the lake

The staff were friendly and helpful

Defiently a place to go back to if I am in Geneva again

Room Tip: If you are on your own make sure you ask for a king / queen bed not two singles otherwise the beds w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babahadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Although we only had one night at this hotel, the room was beautiful, staff was wonderful; the general ambiance was spectacular in a perfect location on the old town center. This is a quaint, boutique hotel with an amazing location. Old town is walking distance, only a few minutes cab ride from the train station.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Im no Gordon Ramsey but at least I expect reasonable scrambled eggs and toast for breakfast! Overall this is a nice boutique hotel. Old world but well maintained with very attentive staff. Breakfast was the let down. The scrambled eggs were watery and although I am sure they were made from real eggs they were so tasteless that they could easily have been made from a mix. I asked for wheat toast and got rock hard brioche. Given the many high quality hotels in Geneva I will give this one a miss next time.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
Thank Russell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Spent our last night of our France trip in Geneva at this beautiful hotel.The staff, especially Damian, was so friendly & helpful,and the location so central to everything, the construction out front seemed minimal. Our room was spacious & elegant with a beautiful, newly remodeled marble bathroom with large shower. The continental breakfast was surprisingly large & delivered to our room on a beautifully set table. This turned out to be the best ending to a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coloradodusty08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Cité
Hotel Les Armures
Hotel Les Armures
#31 of 106 in Geneva
217 reviews
Cité
Fraser Suites Geneva
Fraser Suites Geneva
#20 of 106 in Geneva
132 reviews
Hotel Longemalle
#58 of 106 in Geneva
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bel'Esperance
#37 of 106 in Geneva
279 reviews
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#10 of 106 in Geneva
771 reviews
Tiffany Hotel
#23 of 106 in Geneva
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cigogne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cigogne

Address: place de Longemalle 17, Geneva 1204, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: £275 - £607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Cigogne 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovering the beautiful sights of Geneva starts at the Hôtel de la Cigogne, a haven of peace and tranquility in the heart of Geneva's business centre, only a few steps from the old city, the lake and the cultural district. On place Longemalle, the gilded swan overlooking the door sets the tone of a hotel in which all rooms are different and have been entirely redesigned in a young and dynamic spirit. In culinary terms, you can take a delicious break right in the city centre and sample gourmet treats, now also on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HRS, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de la Cigogne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cigogne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing