We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“maybe worth a visit for westerners”

Collections Baur, Musee des Arts d’Extreme-Orient
Book In Advance
More Info
US$28.03*
and up
Geneva Pass
Ranked #36 of 153 things to do in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An internationally renowned collection of Chinese and Japanese artwork.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“maybe worth a visit for westerners”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The collection of this museum main focus on China and Japan. If you have visited the National Palace Museum in Taiwan, you won't be impressed with this museum.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 龍達魏
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    24
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“enthusiast”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is the most wonderful collection of Chinese porcelain in a beautiful house in les Tranches area of Geneva. One of our favourite museums.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vict4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The jewel of Geneva's museums”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Museum wise, Geneva offers little of international interest. The Musee Baur is an exception. Its Chinese and Japanese collections, beautifully displayed in an elegant 19th century mansion, are world class. Worth visiting again and again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cloudtail10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Exquisite collection displayed in an elegant period house”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Whether or not Far-Eastern art is your special interest, you cannot fail to appreciate the beauty and craftspersonship of the artefacts on display in this museum, the fruits of a fastidious collector, Alfred Baur. Originally a German-Swiss, he made a fortune in Colombo (Sri Lanka), and then created a foundation to allow the wonderful objects that he was able to collect and commission to be on display in a Geneva town house that he acquired for the purpose. His wife came from Geneva, and when they returned to Switzerland, they settled in her home city, which is how these precious objects come to be where they are.

Apparently Alfred Baur began by collecting Japanese items, and later turned to Chinese art objects. For us, this museum provided so much to enjoy and learn about. Beautiful items are displayed with very helpful and informative explanatory boards and labels in French and English. The atmosphere is very calm, and the environment elegant and conducive to enjoying precious objects.

While we were visiting the museum, it had a temporary display on its lower ground floor called 'Jewellery from the Roof of the World – From China to the Caucasus: The Ghysels Collection'.
If you are able to get to the museum before this closes in March, we strongly recommend it — even if, like us, jewellery does not usually particularly appeal to you. We found ourselves strongly drawn to the wonderful precious stones and metals — amber, turquoise, coral, gold and silver, the extraordinary design and craft skills of the jewellers, and, especially, the museum's explanations of the roles that the finished items performed in cultures so far from us, and so very different from our own. This special collection was built up through the passion and perseverance of Colette and Jean-Pierre Ghysels, who searched in Mongolia, Tibet, Nepal, Northern India, Afghanistan, Pakistan, and Central Asia.

Although this was once a private house, careful forethought has been given to adapting it to enable disabled people to move around comfortably and view everything. My partner, who uses a mobility scooter, found it all quite accessible — it is just a squeeze getting out of the lift on the top floor, but staff helped us. All those whom we spoke to had excellent English and were clearly very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the collection they were caring for. If you are disabled, parking nearby is not easy, but with perseverance it is possible.

A splendid collection for anyone who appreciates beauty and quality, however little one knows about the subject matter.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Rita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Interesting and excellently presented museum.”
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I would recommend this museum. I went with the idea in my mind that i would be thoroughly bored but i was nearby (it's near to the Russian church and the musee modern) and thought i'd give it a go.

The pieces were extremely well presented and printed descriptions all the pieces in each room are available in French, English and Chinese. pieces are placed across many beautiful rooms and several floors, beginning with ceramics and ending in things like ornate swords, traditional belt hangings and related carvings.

Admission was Fr5 for their main exhibit and another Fr5 for the guest display (this time on ornate Peruvian and Guatemalan jewelry) (about £6.50 total)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Kev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Collections Baur, Musee des Arts d’Extreme-Orient also viewed

 
Pregny-Chambesy, Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Collections Baur, Musee des Arts d’Extreme-Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing