We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed two nights at the Mandarin on business. When I arrived in Geneva my luggage did not (Swissair - go figure). The staff at the Mandarin was super helpful in getting me through this situation. Cleaned my suit overnight. Communicated with the airline in search of my luggage. Provided some needed amenities, etc. The staff here just gets it right. Little things like handing you a towel and bottle of water when coming back from a jog. Will definitely make this my go to hotel when traveling to Geneva.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJoenophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear NJoenophile,
What a pleasure to learn that you had a great stay with us, we would like to thank you very much for your positive feedback on the occasion of your recent stay. Delighting our guests with a friendly yet very professional service and anticipating their needs are our top priorities. It is wonderful to know when this contributes to a most memorable experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental, Geneva in the not too distant future and thank you again for your most kind and warm words of praise.
With best regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
(lwagner@mohg.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 420 of 675 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stay at the MO Geneva every year or so; although there are some issues (I will get to the header later :-) it is obviously our favorite hotel.

The service is wonderful, from the restaurant to the concierges (a special thanks to Samuel for everything he does for us).

I love the food in the restaurant Le Sud, especially the traditional Swiss lake perch with mashed potatoes and spinach. It was not on the menu this year, but we asked for it and it was made for us. I don't care for the even-more-pricey Indian-influenced food at Rasol, but that is probably just me.

The croute au fromage at the MO bar was, however, nowhere near up to par--very dry.

Last year the hallway to our room was a disgrace for the price and reputation of the hotel--positively seedy, with battered and dirty paint and carpeting, The room was kind of banged up too--although large and with a giant bathroom.

We usually get one of the larger lakeside or side rooms, but they are inevitably afflicted with traffic and other noise despite the heavy windows. This year we asked for one of the smaller rooms on the inside courtyard, hoping for a quiet five nights. It has been nicely renovated and was very quiet for a couple of nights.

Then came a party next door starting about 10.00 pm and continuing for a couple of hours of shrieking and laughing, despite three calls to the front desk.

And the last night....oh dear. We had noticed a small place opposite our window called the Cafe Bizarre, with nothing much happening. But on this one Thursday night they had an outdoor party, shouting and screaming from about 10 pm until at least 2 am. To my great surprise, this being Switzerland, the front desk said that it was permissible to make this kind of public night noise until 2am, that the police could do nothing.

So, when you select a room and want it to be quiet, beware the Cafe Bizarre.

The ratings below average out the poor and good sleeping nights, and the cost is rated average because everything in Geneva is overpriced by American standards.

Room Tip: Avoid any room looking out at the Cafe Bizarre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoronadoCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Dear CoronadoCarol,
My team and I would like to thank you for being such a continued loyal FAN of our hotel for so many years and for having shared with us your recent experience at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva. We are very sorry to learn that your stay was troubled this time by a noisy group of guests at the adjacent Café Bizarre, behind the hotel. This is a very unusual situation that you experienced from this bar which does not belong to the hotel. We are sorry to read that this has troubled your experience at our hotel. You may rest assured that we have taken action upon this with the municipality of Geneva to avoid the reoccurrence of incidents of this nature. For your next annual visit we recommend trying our new Mandarin floor on the 6th floor of the hotel.
We have passed on your kind words of praise to Samuel and his team who are very grateful. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our Le Sud restaurant, inspired from renowned Paul Bocuse. We will ensure that during your next stay your sleep will not be troubled again and we really look forward to welcoming you back to your most favorite hotel in this part of the world: Mandarin Oriental, Geneva.
Kindest regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
(lwagner@mohg.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Mandarin Oriental is a very nice, high end hotel. The rooms are spacious with modern conveniences and finishes. It is a good mix of old and new. The service is excellent and the food if quite good too. I only had breakfast, but it was delicious.

The hotel is located right on the water so it is very picturesque. It seems a little inaccessible to other attractions because of the long block the hotel sits on but if you venture out you’ll be able to get to some of the shops, etc.


The hotel is on the expensive side so I will probably not make it a habit of staying there, but if you get the chance it is a very good experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatiBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Dear NatiBoy,
We are delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us, thank you very much for having taken the time to share your impressions on TripAdvisor. You are right that our spacious rooms, legendary service and ideal location are our hotel's renowned strengths, with a 5 minutes walking distance to Geneva's chicest boutiques and main attractions. During your next visit, we encourage you to try our Michelin starred Indian restaurant "Rasoi". We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kindest regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
(lwagner@mohg.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Stayed here for one night. Excellent hotel. The rooms are excellent and the staff are all very friendly. My favorite hotel in Geneva. The furniture in the bar needs a bit of a revamp but all else is just perfect! I definitely recommend it!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
Thank RAK1574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear R K,
What a pleasure to receive your nice comment on your recent stay with us. Thank you very much for your support as a Top Contributor and it is a real honor for us to be considered your favorite hotel in the city. My team and I feel very proud to have given you a warm and friendly experience and to have created this "home away from home". We already look forward to welcoming you back to it in a not too distant future.
With best regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
(lwagner@mohg.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

My wife and i spent a couple of nights here and were very impressed with both the quality of service as well as the location.

The property is located directly across from the Rhone River and all of the rooms have views that overlook it.We had a very nice lunch in their restaurant and from there took a short walk to the downtown shopping area. If you follow the river walk you will end up at Lake Geneva where there is all sorts of activity going on as well as many little shops where you can buy food and drinks.

Our room was on the second floor and was beautiful as you would expect from a property of this calibre. I had some trouble with getting something off my computer and after a very nice concierge tried to help me over the telephone, I was able to bring it to her and she quickly resolved the problem, I have been in many other hotels and I can say that this level of service is not something you would typically find and here efforts were quite appreciated.

If you come here expect to be pampered as this is what their brand is all about. Combined with the wonderful location this is the place to go for service, quality and, of course, a luxury experience.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have river views so I don't think you can go wrong with any of them. Ours was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear ron114,
It is a delight to read your kind words and we are very grateful for the time you took to share your impressions on Mandarin Oriental, Geneva. We are equally pleased to learn that you and your wife had an exciting time with us and enjoyed the finest charming Geneva has to offer. Our location and legendary service quality being our distinct features, we really appreciate your kind feedback about them and you can feel confident that each and every guest that we welcome at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva will be pampered with the ideal blend of genuine Swiss hospitality and oriental charm.
We look forward to delighting you and your wife on your next Geneva getaway.
With kind regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
(lwagner@mohg.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

It isn't hard to find a good hotel in Geneva - but what separates a good hotel from a great hotel is the service and at Mandarin Oriental, the service is genuinely second to none. Friendly and efficient check in is accompanied by a glass of champagne which banishes travel weariness. The newly decorated rooms exude city sophistication and ours had views over the Rhone river. Dine at Rasoi by Vineet on the ground floor, an Indian Restaurant that resoundingly won over our children's reluctance to spices - and they even they helped the Chef with the naans. Altogether a memorable visit and highly recommended

Room Tip: The river view rooms are the nicest and give a sense of place with a view over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MstmNorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear MstmNorton,
We would like to express our most sincere thanks for your kind feedback on your recent stay with us. All members of our team are delighted that you had an excellent experience at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva and that our legendary service exceeded your expectations. We are equally delighted to learn that our newly renovated rooms were to your liking and that your family had a memorable dinner at our Rasoi restaurant, with our Indian Chefs.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family soon back to Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, your “home” away from home.
With kindest regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
(lwagner@mohg.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We really liked the rooms...... well lit, decent size and all you would expect from a Mandarin Oriental hotel. Specially like the bathrooms. On the downside, it is a short walk away from the main strip, is smaller and unless you pay up for a lake view, looks over a tiny, crappy "garden". We didnt try the two hotel restaurants, and it didnt look like anybody else ate there either.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeshS800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Dear KeshS800,
We would like to thank you very much for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the comfort and space of our rooms. Both our rooms and suites on the river and courtyard side provide luxurious accommodation and state-of-the-art technologies and usually our courtyard side rooms are chosen for more quietness and privacy. As for our restaurants, they are both very lively on weekends but since it was Easter long weekend, it is a custom for Geneva people to take holidays in the surrounding mountains or outside the city, which is why our restaurants were calmer these days.
We do hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back again soon at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, maybe in one of our new Mandarin Floor renovated rooms.
With best regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
(lwagner@mohg.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 109 in Geneva
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 109 in Geneva
1,105 reviews
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#15 of 109 in Geneva
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Geneva

Address: quai Turrettini 1 | Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Geneva
#5 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#5 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#6 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: £339 - £523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Geneva 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A living example of Swiss hotel tradition at its very best, Mandarin Oriental, Geneva has a superb location on the River Rhone, located within the heart of the city's shopping, historic and business districts. Following an extensive refurbishment, the hotel features 189 elegant and spacious rooms and suites, with many suites enjoying private terraces with supreme views of the river, Old Town and snow-capped mountains. Michelin starred dining, unparalleled service and luxury make it the ideal choice for discerning travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva Hotel Geneva
Mandarin Switzerland
Mandarin Oriental Switzerland
Geneva Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing