We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Excelsior(Geneva)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (712)
Filter reviews
712 results
Traveller rating
535
119
34
18
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
535
119
34
18
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver viewle chaletconcierge teamgreat hotelluxury hotelfour seasonsroom serviceshopping arearooms are spaciousnespresso machinei highly recommend this hoteldeluxe roombreakfast buffetlocation is excellentold townbusiness hotelbusiness trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
437 - 442 of 712 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel this past weekend (May 24-26, 2013) on my first trip to Geneva in 21 years! The city was mostly as I remembered it, and the hotel was just as wonderful as the other Mandarin Oriental properties I've visited over the years. I stayed on the newly renovated sixth floor, in the luxurious Mandarin Room, complete with views of the Rhone River. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous (the two concierges who recommended restaurants and museums were top-of-the-line), breakfast at Le Sud restaurant was a real treat and dinner at the hotel's gourmet Indian restaurant Rasoi by Vineet was a memorable experience. The cocktails at the on-site MO Bar were decadent and refined. I recommend this property to anyone visiting Geneva.

Room Tip: Choose the river-view Mandarin Room on the sixth floor.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marvyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear Marvyboy,
My team and I are so grateful for your wonderful feedback about your stay with us. After all these years, it must have been a nice and relaxing experience for you to come back to Geneva and we are proud that our hotel was your “home away from home” during this visit, especially as a Mandarin Oriental FAN. Our Concierges would like to thank you so much for your kind words, they were delighted to recommend the best in town for you. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva.
With kind regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
(lwagner@mohg.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I visit geneva really a lot, almost every summer

The hotel is in perfect location infront of the river and its an easy walk to both sides of the lake, it is as well an easy walk to the shopping area.

The hotel rooms are very comfortable, clean and big, they also provide a lot of connected rooms if you are going as a family, the hotel renewed the decorations and its well decorated.

the staff are nice and services are good.

The lobby is small, but have a excellent indian restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Besh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Dear Besh A,
We are delighted to learn that our hotel is your favorite when visiting Geneva and escaping the heat in your home country. Thank you so much for being such a supportive and loyal FAN. Our location is indeed great. Our renovated rooms and suites were conceived and renewed with an aim to provide the best comfort and convenience for our guests and families. We are delighted to read that you like our Michelin-starred Indian restaurant, Rasoi by Vineet. Thank you for your kind comment on our colleagues who delighted you when staying with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental, Geneva in the not too distant future.
Kindest regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
(lwagner@mohg.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed two nights at the Mandarin on business. When I arrived in Geneva my luggage did not (Swissair - go figure). The staff at the Mandarin was super helpful in getting me through this situation. Cleaned my suit overnight. Communicated with the airline in search of my luggage. Provided some needed amenities, etc. The staff here just gets it right. Little things like handing you a towel and bottle of water when coming back from a jog. Will definitely make this my go to hotel when traveling to Geneva.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJoenophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear NJoenophile,
What a pleasure to learn that you had a great stay with us, we would like to thank you very much for your positive feedback on the occasion of your recent stay. Delighting our guests with a friendly yet very professional service and anticipating their needs are our top priorities. It is wonderful to know when this contributes to a most memorable experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental, Geneva in the not too distant future and thank you again for your most kind and warm words of praise.
With best regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
(lwagner@mohg.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stay at the MO Geneva every year or so; although there are some issues (I will get to the header later :-) it is obviously our favorite hotel.

The service is wonderful, from the restaurant to the concierges (a special thanks to Samuel for everything he does for us).

I love the food in the restaurant Le Sud, especially the traditional Swiss lake perch with mashed potatoes and spinach. It was not on the menu this year, but we asked for it and it was made for us. I don't care for the even-more-pricey Indian-influenced food at Rasol, but that is probably just me.

The croute au fromage at the MO bar was, however, nowhere near up to par--very dry.

Last year the hallway to our room was a disgrace for the price and reputation of the hotel--positively seedy, with battered and dirty paint and carpeting, The room was kind of banged up too--although large and with a giant bathroom.

We usually get one of the larger lakeside or side rooms, but they are inevitably afflicted with traffic and other noise despite the heavy windows. This year we asked for one of the smaller rooms on the inside courtyard, hoping for a quiet five nights. It has been nicely renovated and was very quiet for a couple of nights.

Then came a party next door starting about 10.00 pm and continuing for a couple of hours of shrieking and laughing, despite three calls to the front desk.

And the last night....oh dear. We had noticed a small place opposite our window called the Cafe Bizarre, with nothing much happening. But on this one Thursday night they had an outdoor party, shouting and screaming from about 10 pm until at least 2 am. To my great surprise, this being Switzerland, the front desk said that it was permissible to make this kind of public night noise until 2am, that the police could do nothing.

So, when you select a room and want it to be quiet, beware the Cafe Bizarre.

The ratings below average out the poor and good sleeping nights, and the cost is rated average because everything in Geneva is overpriced by American standards.

Room Tip: Avoid any room looking out at the Cafe Bizarre
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoronadoCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Dear CoronadoCarol,
My team and I would like to thank you for being such a continued loyal FAN of our hotel for so many years and for having shared with us your recent experience at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva. We are very sorry to learn that your stay was troubled this time by a noisy group of guests at the adjacent Café Bizarre, behind the hotel. This is a very unusual situation that you experienced from this bar which does not belong to the hotel. We are sorry to read that this has troubled your experience at our hotel. You may rest assured that we have taken action upon this with the municipality of Geneva to avoid the reoccurrence of incidents of this nature. For your next annual visit we recommend trying our new Mandarin floor on the 6th floor of the hotel.
We have passed on your kind words of praise to Samuel and his team who are very grateful. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our Le Sud restaurant, inspired from renowned Paul Bocuse. We will ensure that during your next stay your sleep will not be troubled again and we really look forward to welcoming you back to your most favorite hotel in this part of the world: Mandarin Oriental, Geneva.
Kindest regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
(lwagner@mohg.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Mandarin Oriental is a very nice, high end hotel. The rooms are spacious with modern conveniences and finishes. It is a good mix of old and new. The service is excellent and the food if quite good too. I only had breakfast, but it was delicious.

The hotel is located right on the water so it is very picturesque. It seems a little inaccessible to other attractions because of the long block the hotel sits on but if you venture out you’ll be able to get to some of the shops, etc.


The hotel is on the expensive side so I will probably not make it a habit of staying there, but if you get the chance it is a very good experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatiBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Dear NatiBoy,
We are delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us, thank you very much for having taken the time to share your impressions on TripAdvisor. You are right that our spacious rooms, legendary service and ideal location are our hotel's renowned strengths, with a 5 minutes walking distance to Geneva's chicest boutiques and main attractions. During your next visit, we encourage you to try our Michelin starred Indian restaurant "Rasoi". We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kindest regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
(lwagner@mohg.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews