We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the top 5 in Geneva”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection
Ranked #7 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I stayed in various 5 stars in geneva and have enough experience of city. Le Richemond has a top service quality from the valet Parking to the Laundry. Excellent staff, nice bar and lovely terrace on the street. No surprises.
Rooms need a little more light, and 5 additional sq meters would be great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BusinessShipTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKabelitz, General Manager at Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review which I had the pleasure to share with the team.

All of us here look forward to your return visit. We will extend to you our warmest welcome and note your preferences regarding the room.

I wish you an enjoyable summer.

Yours sincerely,

Klaus Kabelitz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

Let's accept that it's expensive. All hotels in Geneva are expensive, and this is a top end one.
I believe (reading other reviews) I had one of the increasing number of refurbished rooms. It felt quietly luxurious and more importantly for me, it felt luxuriously quiet. Heavy fittings/curtains/carpets, zillions of thick towels - the room wasn't huge but everything was there and in the right place. (For example, the minibar was hidden in cupboards, not intrusively trying to get you to accidentally consume expensive stuff.)
So I'd read the other reviews and everyone says "great service" - but what does that really mean? I do agree, for example: concierge picks up the phone within 1 ring even when you ring at a busy time. Late checkout was courteously agreed without haggling over the time. Housekeeping managed to tidy the bathroom without imposing their views of which toiletries must go where. And the waiting staff have a special code for who is drinking sparkling water and who is drinking still. (You'll need to go there to find that one out).
One thing I would warn you about, only about a quarter of the rooms face over the garden/lake. So if when you are booking the hotel this is important for you, ask for it and pay extra if you need to. I think it would make a big difference to the experience - I had a back-facing room and I think I did lose out on some of the Geneva magic. But I was there on a conference package so I can't complain about that.
Oh finally it is easy to get there from the airport by train to Geneva Central. The airport give you free train tickets and so does the hotel and the trains are very frequent. The hotel is maybe 7 mins walk with a wheeled suitcase from the station platforms.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cafrinagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKabelitz, General Manager at Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us. We have shared them with all the staff as they contribute to a “great service” as you mention.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the perfect location of the hotel ideally at a walking distance of Lake Leman, the city shopping & business centre, places if interest and the Old Town. Even the mountains seem nearby...

I wish to point out that we propose different room categories, all equipped with the utmost comfort, either overlooking the inside, or with a view on the city, or on the Lake and Brunswick Garden, available for our guests depending of their preferences.

We shall be very happy to welcome you back for another memorable experience and look forward to hearing from you.

I remain with kind regards
Yours sincerely,

Klaus Kabelitz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We arrived at 11am and were happy to discover that our room was ready for us. A lovely spacious suite with views over the Jardin Brunswick and partial views of Lac Léman. Hotel is nicely situated just off the Quai de Mont Blanc and 10 minutes-walk across the bridge to the main central eating and shopping areas of Geneva. The room itself was spotlessly clean with all the amenities one expects of a top level hotel (nespresso coffee machine, TV in bathroom and huge double walk-in shower etc.) If possible, ask for a room facing the gardens and lake.

What really set our stay at Le Richemond apart was the exceptional levels of service we encountered. All staff were not only courteous but friendly and went above and beyond the call to answer any queries we had and make arrangements for us. Special recognition to Vivien and Christophe who epitomised the hotel’s ‘can-do’ approach. Lovely experience overall – I will be returning to Le Richemond. The only suggestion I have is to waive the costly CHF35 daily wi-fi charge, which should be included in the package rate for a hotel of this calibre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Jardin Brunswick with partial views of Lac Léman
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToodlesMcT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKabelitz, General Manager at Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at Le Richemond. We will inform the team who has contributed to making your stay a memorable one, as noted in your review "exceptional".

I am pleased that you enjoyed the unique location of the hotel, one of our Suites with a spectacular view of Lac Léman and Jardin Brunswick.

In relation to Internet, I would like to inform you that the matter is now under consideration in our group. They will come up shortly with the very best solution for our guests. It is planned to have a free connection with regular speed Internet and high speed at a favourable rate.

We all look forward to your return visit in our legendary Le Richemond and I remain with kind regards

Yours sincerely,

Klaus Kabelitz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This is a great Hotel, although we had a back facing room, it was very quiet with full shutters, so the early morning light did not wake us. We stopped for 3 nights, on the 1st day we had lunch on the terrace in the sun, which was very good. We only had breakfast their once as we joined business colleagues at the Kempinksi nearby on the other days. The Richemond breakfast was superior, although the day we had it they were very short staffed, Room and bathroom excellent. When you are paying room rates of this level you expect free wi-fi, they wanted to charge 35 Swiss francs as day!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pduxb24138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKabelitz, General Manager at Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to welcome you on a business trip in May and I would like to thank you for having chosen Le Richemond.

I am very grateful to you that you have taken the time to tell us all about.

You enjoyed particularly the utmost comfort of the room and the spacious bathroom as well as Restaurant Le Jardin,its legendary terrace, and last but not least our new Mediterranean cuisine.

I am pleased that you mention Internet, as this matter is under consideration in our group and they will come up shortly with the very best solution for our guests. .

Looking forward to your return visit to show you our improvements, I remain with kind regards

Yours sincerely,

Klaus Kabelitz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

With so many options in Geneve for top end hotels, it is tough for hotels to stand apart. Le Richemond manages to stay near the top of the list by offering top level service. Location just iff the lake offers the advantages of a central location without the noise.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sa3dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKabelitz, General Manager at Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much to speak glowingly about your recent stay at Le Richemond Genève and its unique location.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the impeccable service provided by a dedicated team.

You are most welcome to visit us soon again either for pleasure or business and I look forward to welcoming you.

Yours sincerely,

Klaus Kabelitz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

The room was beautiful, though very small. I understand this is common for Geneva, but it was still small and narrow. That being said, I would stay here again. Why? Service. Service.

I arrived at 7am. Received a room immediately. wow! no extra charge. The hotel is lovely location in front of the lake and you only have to cross a bridge to be right in the thick of the business district. the first day I walked to "old" geneva with no problem. The hotel provided free umbrellas. I returned and found that my suitcase was unpacked! Each day the room was cleaned twice and extra water was left free of charge (this is big to me, as I go through a LOT of water). The room has great blackout shades. great for jetlagged naps.

I was here on business and worked a lot from my room and required a lot of coffee due to jet lag. of course, this is a charge, but twice room service brought me coffee (and beautiful cookies) without charge me because it was "off" times and they said it wasn't any trouble. wow!

My one complaint would be the 'business center". There is not one. seriously. there is a small room with a pathetic printer that will only let you print six pages at a time. Again, though, service shown through. the front desk woman told me to email the document to her, she printed it within ten minutes and brought it to my room.

The location is "removed" so it is quiet, but it is within easy walking distance of everywhere. I saw lovely tulips on the bank, the "fountain" and had quaint restaurants within easy walking distance. Three blocks back, though, I think I stumbled on the sex trade district. I was traveling alone and felt unsafe (only place I did), so quickly turned around. I would not choose not to stay here because of this, though.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKabelitz, General Manager at Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you at Le Richemond on your business trip and to hear your feedback which I value greatly.

The hotel, a legendary place in Geneva, has a long history of service and tradition and I am glad you had a taste of it during your stay.

I am also delighted that you enjoyed so much one of our beautiful rooms and look forward to surprise you with a different one on your return visit.

In addition, I would like to inform you that we have planned a business centre in our next renovation program of the public areas this year.

Thank you very much for your very kind words and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Klaus Kabelitz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

It is located trickily that the balconies (on one side) still see a great view of the Jet d'Eau on the beautiful lake, yet at the same time, with a little distance away from the lake-side traffic which creates problem of noise for other hotels at the same privileged location. Instead of a busy road with day-time jam, its entrance faces a relaxing garden which the gothic monument of Brunswick.

I was first impressed by the high quality of courtesy of a number of front desk staff when I visited just for viewing of the room for my guest. From the Front Desk Manager, the Shift Leader to the Concierge (he is the most experienced in town!), they all give you the air of a professional with high standard training, placing the customer always in the highest end, with respect and understanding.

Our group has a list of requirements for different rooms and this is the first hotel where the Front Desk tackled with all my challenging requests with a tireless smile and politeness, returning with even more than I asked. In fact Sylvain the Manager treated me more like an old friend who understood well why I made such requests, though it's the first time we met. I think I started to understand what "hospitality" means for the first time. Being understood before welcomed, rather than just superficial hugs and smiles.

The only things that I can pick is the lack of hot plates at the breakfast, especially for Asians. And particularly for vegetarians like us, this is the first-five star hotel which we found difficulty at breakfast time in our European trip. But again the elegantly furnished restaurant answered our special request, and the chef made us freshly prepared Rostis and steamed vegetable deliberately, although the waiting time was a bit long. But they managed to remember our need and improved in the following mornings. And the careful Front Desk Manager apologized sincerely that he had not asked me in advance.

Le Richemond changed my concept and expectation of a GOOD hotel and the professional quality of its staff. Real hospitality with a personal touch in its management. Superb!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake is a must, otherwise the other side faces a huge piping system but they are a...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWPanting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKabelitz, General Manager at Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent visit to Le Richemond, a legendary place in Geneva.

I am delighted that you enjoyed so much your stay with us, particularly our great hotelier tradition of hospitality and the excellence of service provided by a dedicated team.

It is also a pleasure to hear your suggestions as we are constantly striving to improve our services to you.

Looking forward to welcoming you and your guest back in a near future,

Yours sincerely

Klaus Kabelitz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 106 in Geneva
970 reviews
Hotel d'Angleterre
#1 of 106 in Geneva
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
738 reviews
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection

Address: Jardin Brunswick | Rue Adhemar-Fabri 8, 1201 Geneve, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Pâquis Navigation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Geneva
#4 Business Hotel in Geneva
#5 Family Hotel in Geneva
#7 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#10 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: £264 - £571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of Lake Geneva, by the famous Jet d'Eau, Le Richemond is at the heart of a city known for its style and grace. Le Richemond is ideally located at the heart of the city, a few minutes by walk from the main train station and 15 minutes by car from the International Airport. Just over the bridge, on the rive gauche, guests can discover the old city and the Cathedral Saint-Pierre, the museums district and the luxury boutiques of the Rue du Rhône. The iconic five-star hotel is celebrating this year 140 years of history. In 1875, the hotel was a small family hotel with only 25 beds owned by Adolphe-Rodolphe Armleder. For over a century, Le Richemond has welcomed distinguished guests, from Hollywood icons and artists to international dignitaries and authors, all enjoying the unique cosmopolitan atmosphere and alpine scenery. The clientele has included some of the greatest names of the 20th century - from Charlie Chaplin and Louis Armstrong to Sophia Loren, Rita Hayworth and Marc Chagall. Renovated in 2007, Le Richemond has been decorated in a contemporary style with a strong emphasis on comfort, elegance and state-of-the-art facilities. Le Richemond features 109 rooms including 22 suites with a lake or courtyard view. Signature suites are spacious with luxurious marble bathrooms and offer breathtaking views on the Brunswick Gardens and snow-capped Mont-Blanc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection Hotel Geneva
Le Richemond Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing