We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Hotel Ambassador Was My Savior!”
Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador
Ranked #60 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Hotel Ambassador Was My Savior!”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

After a night at hotel in a terrible neighborhood (see my review of the Hotel Edelweiss) we were desperate for something nice in the heart of Geneva and were lucky enough to stumble upon the Hotel Ambassador. This hotel has been a gem of a find. It is right in the heart of town, has lovely accommodations, an incredibly friendly and accommodating staff, and is extremely reasonably priced in a city that is anything but. Yes, the decor is somewhat eclectic and unconventional, but who cares! It has all the amenities you could ever want and we have been thrilled with our experience. As a family of five (with a nanny) we were lucky enough to find two connecting rooms that could accommodate all of us. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Geneva.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msedaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    73
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
15
28
12
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I recently stayed at the Hotel Ambassador with my husband. I can't say enough about the Hotel and it's Staff. They were all very helpful with tourist information and helping us make dinner reservations each night. The Staff would do whatever to make our stay memorable.
We had a beautiful, spacious room, on the 2nd floor, overlooking Lake Geneva. I would open up my windows and could hear the rushing sound of the water and enjoyed watching the swans swimming about. The view alone was spectacular, both day and night. A short walk across the nearby bridge to many wonderful shops. The hotel is also centrally located to many local sights and to Old Town. Very convenient location if your touring.
I highly recommend this comfortable, lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Request a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sweetpea100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

but the room I had was tiny. No, really really tiny. Good thing I didn't bring my cat because I couldn't have swung it in the room. And the room cost 200 Swiss Francs ($332, £206, xe.com), so it was really terrible value. It had a bed that was somewhere between a large single and a small double, and just about enough space to walk around it to the bathroom door, and I had to turn partly sideways to get in the bathroom door and take a couple of steps to the lavatory. The next smallest bathroom I have ever seen was on the flight over to Geneva. If this is old style Geneva, I will be looking for new style Geneva next time I come this way. The one thing I will not be doing is heading back to The Ambassador.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel or get an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjtoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Lovely comfortable hotel. Had room on the top floor overlooking river, close to town centre. Would stay here again and would highly recommend. The staff were excellent and helpful.

Room Tip: Top floor river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoondanceMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I stayed here twice. I found Rooms were too hot and I couldn't turn the heating down had to open the window. The standard room was very standard. The superior room was much better with 2 toilets, was much larger and represented much better value. Free Internet in the lobby but not in the rooms. Also the lights are on dimmer switches, so initially I found the room dark especially getting cloths out of the wardrobe.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankandyola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, USA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I stayed here for two nights on business and found this hotel to be good for what you pay. Geneva is VERY expensive and this hotel was cheap compared to other 4 star hotels. Its in a top location on the river and has great views. The restaurant was good. Furnishings are a bit dated, reminiscent of Alm Uncle.

There are better places to stay in Geneva but if you're on a budget, you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFabulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Love this hotel! I first discovered this hotel in 1978 and have been enjoying Geneva from its central location on many trips since. The Ambassador Staff is excellent, providing good personal services. It is located in the heart of Geneva and provides very good accomodations at a very reasonable price. The rooms are cozy, clean and nicely appointed. Ask for a room overlooking the river or the quaint square with a fountain.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katarina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
The New Midi Hotel
#44 of 105 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Hotel d'Alleves
#45 of 105 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 105 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Cité
Fraser Suites Geneva
Fraser Suites Geneva
#19 of 105 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Hotel Rousseau
#68 of 105 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Property: Hotel Ambassador
Address: quai des Bergues 21, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ambassador 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing