We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador
Ranked #60 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

In what is an expensive city, I still expected more. A tired and dated hotel, under stocked mini bar, the noisiest ( and most ineffective ) air conditioning I think I've ever experienced, and decidedly below average breakfast. Location is of course excellent, and the staff were all pleasant, but I couldn't help coming away feeling somewhat ripped-off.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank xslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    72
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
15
27
12
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The location is fabulous and the staff attentive. The rooms are very very small and overall the hotel could use an upgrade as is very dated. Access from main train station and airport is easy and there are many restaurants very close by. Afternoon tea or wine at the Fours Seasons is a must to simply people watch!

Room Tip: Facing the lake is best ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

It is my job to book hotels across Europe and the US and this hotel was one of the most professional hotels I have ever worked with. The service was outstanding! The price was also very reasonable for the location.

I have not given 100% because I thought the rooms could have a fresh coat of paint. the rooms are a good size and the facilities are good however the walls look grubby.

While I have mentioned the paint work i would take another of my corporate groups back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EventsOrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

After a night at hotel in a terrible neighborhood (see my review of the Hotel Edelweiss) we were desperate for something nice in the heart of Geneva and were lucky enough to stumble upon the Hotel Ambassador. This hotel has been a gem of a find. It is right in the heart of town, has lovely accommodations, an incredibly friendly and accommodating staff, and is extremely reasonably priced in a city that is anything but. Yes, the decor is somewhat eclectic and unconventional, but who cares! It has all the amenities you could ever want and we have been thrilled with our experience. As a family of five (with a nanny) we were lucky enough to find two connecting rooms that could accommodate all of us. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Geneva.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msedaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I recently stayed at the Hotel Ambassador with my husband. I can't say enough about the Hotel and it's Staff. They were all very helpful with tourist information and helping us make dinner reservations each night. The Staff would do whatever to make our stay memorable.
We had a beautiful, spacious room, on the 2nd floor, overlooking Lake Geneva. I would open up my windows and could hear the rushing sound of the water and enjoyed watching the swans swimming about. The view alone was spectacular, both day and night. A short walk across the nearby bridge to many wonderful shops. The hotel is also centrally located to many local sights and to Old Town. Very convenient location if your touring.
I highly recommend this comfortable, lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Request a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sweetpea100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

but the room I had was tiny. No, really really tiny. Good thing I didn't bring my cat because I couldn't have swung it in the room. And the room cost 200 Swiss Francs ($332, £206, xe.com), so it was really terrible value. It had a bed that was somewhere between a large single and a small double, and just about enough space to walk around it to the bathroom door, and I had to turn partly sideways to get in the bathroom door and take a couple of steps to the lavatory. The next smallest bathroom I have ever seen was on the flight over to Geneva. If this is old style Geneva, I will be looking for new style Geneva next time I come this way. The one thing I will not be doing is heading back to The Ambassador.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel or get an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjtoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Lovely comfortable hotel. Had room on the top floor overlooking river, close to town centre. Would stay here again and would highly recommend. The staff were excellent and helpful.

Room Tip: Top floor river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoondanceMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
The New Midi Hotel
#45 of 105 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Hotel d'Alleves
#44 of 105 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 105 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Cité
Fraser Suites Geneva
Fraser Suites Geneva
#19 of 105 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Hotel Rousseau
#68 of 105 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Property: Hotel Ambassador
Address: quai des Bergues 21, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ambassador 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing