We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs repair but location location location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador
Ranked #60 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Needs repair but location location location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Ambassador last week (Geneva, Switzerland). The location was worth the price tag but the rooms definitely needed to be upgraded. The bathrooms were clean and more modern but the rooms have been beat up. It was clean and staff helpful but should be rated 3 stars not 4.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    71
    27
    7
    6
See reviews for
15
26
12
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

The location is the best, great views of the lake, right on the pedestrian walking bridge.
Breakfast is separately charged.
Wifi work better in the lower floors.
Bathroom is huge for the delux room.
Lake od disclosure: My parents room AC didn't work, and they couldn't fix it so they offered us to change the room. But, my sister joined later the trip and the only available room was the one my parents left. The hotel book them in that room without telling them that the AC is not working.

Room Tip: Wifi work better in the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FIB J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Being a 4 star hotel, not a cheap one and in Swiss, you expect more. Otherwise everything is good and ok, fast and friendly staff, rather small but comfy room, good location, acceptable breakfast and so on. But nothing great in any category. Location and fast and prompt staff and a casual ambience is all that goes for this hotel. Everything else is just ok and it needs improvement in its bathroom and breakfast selection.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rostam1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I liked location of the hotel in the Geneva city center; close to exhibitions and city sightseeing. The hotel was recently refurbished, and now having modern and luxury room & lobby design and equipment. Hotel staff is friendly, but probably a little bit more "official". Parking was OK (arranged by hotel staff itself).

Attention is to be paid to the rooms’ selection. You can get - for the same price - the really luxury room, but on the other hand also quite small room with 1 armchair, only, and very confined arrangement. But when reaching the receptionist - they are able to move you immediately to very different room (very satisfactory). Such the behavior might easily be felt by guests as some type of cheating? Simply said - what I was offered first was very far from my expectations, taking into account that the hotel is not cheap. Also - I am not a friend of "integrated" (opened) hotel lobby with the breakfast room; it is less comfortable "to be a part of the general hotel service while having breakfast". This design change was unhappy. Also - the level of breakfast itself was worse than 8 years ago (I used to stay in the hotel repeatedly from 1999 to 2004, and I have to tell that the breakfast options used to be by far better in the past).

Room Tip: Attention is to be paid to the rooms’ selection. You can get - for the same price - the really luxur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miroslav W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks in January: good service and nice breakfast. Excellent location overlooking the lake... HOWEVER, while I was there my change purse containing $200 was stolen from the safe. When I reported it to management, I received nothing but uncommited mumbling... no apoglogies, no proposal to report it to the police and no discount or reduction for my stay... Unimpressed by such a response from a reputable establishment... made me wonder if it had not happened before... Especially, when the following week, another object was stolen from my room at another Geneva hotel-it was subsequently returned when I complained! I've traveled all over the world and never "lost" anything at a hotel in my life.... So a lesson at Geneva hotels seems to be: watch out for your valuables.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RER1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

The excellent location. Good service. Instant registration. Some numbers very small, an entrance to a toilet very narrow and long, 50*50 см (20*20 in), to large people are included into a toilet will be a big problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VadymO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Good hotel with artistic touch in the most expensive city on the earth from the cities I visited (Tokyo is expensive but not Food or Coffee). Hotel has good rooms and service. Only recommendation is don't eat in Hotel Restaurant not a good food and mediocre service...just happened to be stuck and ended up eating there....

Room Tip: currently (Aug 2012) there is construction towards lake side so don't take rooms as they cranes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SKU1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
The New Midi Hotel
#45 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Hotel d'Alleves
#44 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Cité
Fraser Suites Geneva
Fraser Suites Geneva
#25 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Property: Hotel Ambassador
Address: quai des Bergues 21, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ambassador 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Superbreak UK and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing