We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4 Star worthy”
Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador
Ranked #63 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

The rooms were tiny (I stayed in 2 different rooms), walls are thin, equipment is old. Apart from the superb location, definitely not worth the price tag. The staff was super friendly as well, but the rooms really need an upgrade.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank rowe88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

Everything was wonderful. The Hotel was one of the best 4 Star Hotels we've ever stayed in.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Made our stay very comfortable. Very good location waking distance to everything. I will definitely be booking again on my next visit!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jadwigach C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I have stayed at the Ambassador with my family during a week end. We stayed in a junior suite with a wonderful view...Wahooooo at night time it was gorgeous .
We tryed the restaurant really good
The reception stuff is very helpful

We will be back very soon

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aure14ak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Ambassador last week (Geneva, Switzerland). The location was worth the price tag but the rooms definitely needed to be upgraded. The bathrooms were clean and more modern but the rooms have been beat up. It was clean and staff helpful but should be rated 3 stars not 4.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The location is the best, great views of the lake, right on the pedestrian walking bridge.
Breakfast is separately charged.
Wifi work better in the lower floors.
Bathroom is huge for the delux room.
Lake od disclosure: My parents room AC didn't work, and they couldn't fix it so they offered us to change the room. But, my sister joined later the trip and the only available room was the one my parents left. The hotel book them in that room without telling them that the AC is not working.

Room Tip: Wifi work better in the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FIB J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Being a 4 star hotel, not a cheap one and in Swiss, you expect more. Otherwise everything is good and ok, fast and friendly staff, rather small but comfy room, good location, acceptable breakfast and so on. But nothing great in any category. Location and fast and prompt staff and a casual ambience is all that goes for this hotel. Everything else is just ok and it needs improvement in its bathroom and breakfast selection.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rostam1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I liked location of the hotel in the Geneva city center; close to exhibitions and city sightseeing. The hotel was recently refurbished, and now having modern and luxury room & lobby design and equipment. Hotel staff is friendly, but probably a little bit more "official". Parking was OK (arranged by hotel staff itself).

Attention is to be paid to the rooms’ selection. You can get - for the same price - the really luxury room, but on the other hand also quite small room with 1 armchair, only, and very confined arrangement. But when reaching the receptionist - they are able to move you immediately to very different room (very satisfactory). Such the behavior might easily be felt by guests as some type of cheating? Simply said - what I was offered first was very far from my expectations, taking into account that the hotel is not cheap. Also - I am not a friend of "integrated" (opened) hotel lobby with the breakfast room; it is less comfortable "to be a part of the general hotel service while having breakfast". This design change was unhappy. Also - the level of breakfast itself was worse than 8 years ago (I used to stay in the hotel repeatedly from 1999 to 2004, and I have to tell that the breakfast options used to be by far better in the past).

Room Tip: Attention is to be paid to the rooms’ selection. You can get - for the same price - the really luxur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miroslav W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
The New Midi Hotel
#51 of 109 in Geneva
158 reviews
Hotel d'Alleves
#48 of 109 in Geneva
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 109 in Geneva
1,078 reviews
Tiffany Hotel
#22 of 109 in Geneva
581 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#7 of 109 in Geneva
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Address: quai des Bergues 21, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: £129 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ambassador 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HRS, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Hotel.de, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing