We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, upmarket hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva
Ranked #21 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Good location, upmarket hotel”
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I arrived having made a booking some weeks before to find the hotel was full. The manager was called and after 15 minutes they found a room.

Despite this the room was nicely laid out and well finished. Complimentary chocolates and and iPod ready AV system were nice touches.

Location is nice, on the lake, and if you're a car fan you'll enjoy the exotic collection outside from the more affluent guests. There's some shops nearby, a co-op, if you don't want to use the mini bar.

I found all members of staff to be courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: It's often full, checking in late seems to get an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagicTorchster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Thank you for staying at the Grand Hotel Kempinski during your recent visit to Geneva. I am delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and liked our high technology equipped renovated rooms. Our commitment is to provide the highest level of service possible and your invaluable comments will help us reach our goals and serve as encouragement to our staff. I am truly delighted that we have met your expectations.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and meeting you on your next visit to the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva.

With warmest regards,
Thierry Lavalley

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    265
    96
    54
    42
See reviews for
111
164
54
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

2night october12 and 13.

it is was not my first stay in this hotel. but next time i wont be staying there. i had a personal issue with room service.

it is a good hotel at a good location. the room are good for Geneva business travelers. the internet was free compare to my last year visit to the hotel.

i used the business center 4am and it was open and a lady was there to fill the printer with paper when i needed it.

i loved the complementary swiss chocolates in rooms.

now, the things i didnt like:

no alarm clock in the room or radio alarm clock - the reception did offer a wake up call when i checked in.

no complementary water kettle to make tea or coffee. i usually see it in in every 5star business hotel i stay in.

while i was standing at the reception for check in, i could hear the receptionist standing next to me say the rate of the guest next to me out loud, which made me feel bad about it, knowing i have paid the double rate he did. it was not a good start.

-- my personal issue i had was with room service: i have complained about it and i didnt get any answer from them. the problem was i needed to eat something because i needed to take my medicine. i called room service and ordered something simple to eat(a burger) around 8pm. i have given my room number and repeated it couple of times(because he kept asking it) and spelled my last name to the person who answered the phone. after two hours, yes two hours, i call back and ask why i didnt get my order. the guy just said we got the wrong room number, blaming me for it?!!, although i have repeated the room number couple of times and spelled my last name and reminded him about it(he was the same guy who took my order in the first place). after an argument, which should not happen even if it was my fault, i asked can i have my order? to my shock!! with careless attitude, he said he will get me something else, without saying anything about what is it, just something else. i got angry and said i just want my order. we had another argument that ended with me canceling the order. just to end this pointless argument of i just want my order not something else. so i walked to mcdanolds next to the train station around 10:30pm. , i complained to the reception about it and didnt get answer and i complained about it also when i checkout and the reception wrote a note about it and still didnt get any answer about it or at least we hope you have better time next time you stay with us.

i travel alot for business. i stayed in alot of hotels, but this is the first time something like this happen to me with room service. i understand if the order got mixed up, missing something, wrong room number, but have an argument about my order and they will make something else, is a first to me.

this is my last visit to this hotel. no one needs drama with room service.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank travelsmiles2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Thank you for selecting the Grand Hotel Kempinski during your recent stay in Geneva. We appreciate your positive comments in regards to our location, rooms and business centre.

In the meantime, please accept my sincere apology for having a disappointing experience with our room service. After conducting some research we have identified the problem and taken the necessary measures. Please rest assured that we will not allow this inappropriate experience to happen again, as this does not reflect our philosophy nor culture.

For your next stay with us please do not hesitate to contact our front office or guest relations manager to request a kettle with full tea and coffee setup as well as an alarm clock to be placed in your room prior to your arrival.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and meeting you personally on your next visit to The Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva.

Kindly accept our apologies once more.

With kindest regards,

Thierry Lavalley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
156 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I've been going to this hotel since it was a Noga Hilton, for the last 10 years.the crew didn't change much, the guys in the reception , many are portuguese , are very good, very professional. The bar has a wonderful vew of the lake. The rooms are much better now after the taking over by Kempinski. Excelent breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulus70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Kempinski during your recent stay in Geneva. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit with us and that we met your expectations. I am truly delighted that you have enjoyed our breakfast buffet.
Our commitment is to provide the highest level of service possible and your invaluable comments help us to reach our goals and serve as encouragement to our staff who are very loyal and committed.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and meeting you on your next visit to the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva.

With kindest regards,

Thierry Lavalley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I must say that this hotel has an amazing location, situated on the lake across from the old city.
The service was very good, the concierge went out of his way to help us as to where to go how to get there etc. Lake view room is a must, if you get a courtyard room someone will be looking directly in your room. It is quite expensive as is everything else in the city. The only negative thing about this was the way the room was set up. It was very spacious length wise, but not width wise. When we opened our balcony door it literally hit and jammed up against the bed therefore it could only open 3/4 of the way and you had to close it to get to the other side of the room. In all an excellent hotel, but a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary_Pap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Thank you for selecting the Grand Hotel Kempinski during your recent stay in Geneva. We appreciate your positive comments regarding the service and the friendliness of our concierge.
Guest satisfaction is our aim and our commitment is to provide the highest level of service possible. In the meantime, please accept my apology that the layout of this specific room was not to your entire satisfaction.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and meeting you on your next visit to the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva. I will personally make sure this time that your stay will entirely meet all your expectations.

With warmest regards,
Thierry Lavalley

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The hotel is very beautiful situated on the lake and approximative 10-15 minutes walk to the city centre and old city. Rooms are renovated, very nice decorated and include all amenities you would expect from a 5-Star hotel. The service at check-in and check-out has been very quick and efficient. The swimming-pool and Spa are a beautiful place to relax after work. I will return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sun23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Thank you for staying at the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva. I am delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations. I was pleased to read that you have enjoyed our renovated rooms and our amenities. You are 100% correct, I fully agree with you that our spa and swimming pool are definitely the right escape after a long day of work.
Our commitment is to provide the highest level of service possible and guest satisfaction is our aim.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and meeting you on your next visit to the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva.

With warmest regards,
Thierry Lavalley,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I am big fan of the Kempinski chain, this was disappointing. I mean, its a nice hotel with decent gym, pool, location by the Lake so nothing terrible but the price you pay, there would be much better options in Geneva, I am sure. The foyer felt like a 90's shopping Centre, it was particularly overpriced and the rooms were uninspiring, very dated...

If you stay in Geneva, you have to pay decent money for a nice hotel but i am pretty sure there are better options than this Kempinski, the Geneva hotel lets this respected brand down.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidF2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Thank you very much for choosing the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva for your recent stay. I am delighted to learn that you are a big fan of the Kempinski Chain worldwide.

We take all reviews seriously and appreciate your feedback. I wish to personally reassure you that our prices are within the price range of all other 5-star Hotels in Geneva. I hope that during your next stay with us you will have the time to experience our spa, fitness and swimming pool.

I look forward to personally welcome you on your next visit to the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva.

With warmest regards,

Thierry Lavalley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
153 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Stayed on a one night business trip in September. The hotel is located by the lake and I enjoyed a walk along the promenade, but it is a concrete functional design of building. The porter and reception staff were were friendly and very helpful. The public areas and bedrooms are spacious compared to hotels in the old town. I didn't use the swimming pool but it looked generously sized. Everything was clean and efficient although at a price.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heraldthewake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Thank you very much for choosing the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva for your recent visit.
I am delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations. I would also like to thank you for your appreciation of our Front Office staff. I am certain that your comments will serve as an encouragement to all our staff.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and meeting you on your next visit to the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva.

With Kindest regards,

Thierry Lavalley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva
#20 of 105 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection
Hotel d'Angleterre
#1 of 105 in Geneva
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#8 of 105 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva

Property: Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva
Address: 19, Quai du Mont - Blanc, Geneva 1211, Switzerland (Formerly Le Palace Hilton Geneva)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Geneva! Home to numerous international organizations, Geneva has been referred to as one of the world's best cities to live in. By bicycle or on foot, visit an awe-inspiring cathedral, the UN and Red Cross Head-quarters, swim in the famous Lake Geneva or simply marvel at the Jet d'Eau, the iconic water fountain that soars above the skyline. Majestically situated on the shores of Lake Geneva, The Grand Hotel Kempinski is both a perfect leisure and a business destination located in the heart of Switzerland's most cosmopolitan city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing