We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva
Ranked #24 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A business hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Geneva is expensive. This hotel is expensive. It is nice, things are well appointed. I found it to be spotlessly clean. The common areas make it look very flashy. Surprising that all of the nice hotels are a block away from the red-light district - but no issues with that.

Per one of the other posters - there was bottled water in the room - but hidden in the mini bar.

Very convenient for les bains de paquis - which is an institution I am told.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachedas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiHotelGeneva, Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Mr. Beachedas,

Thank you for visiting The Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.
We appreciate your kind remarks on our service and location next to the lake and are delighted to hear your overall experience at our hotel was positive.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip to Geneva.

Yours sincerely,
Thierry Lavalley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    261
    94
    54
    42
See reviews for
110
163
54
404
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a regular place for me to stay when in Geneva. This time round, the front desk made every effort to make my stay comfortable despite the initial problems with the rooms. I even got upgraded in the end with a view of the lake. Great location, good room service...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meedan_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiHotelGeneva, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Meedan_hk,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva.

We are delighted to hear that you particularly appreciated the professionalism and efficiency of our staff, our unbeatable view and room service. Rest assured that we will share your kind comments with the departments concerned.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva.

Yours Sincerely,
Thierry Lavalley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I had stayed in Kempinski Beijing, Bangkok and Geneva many times for business and conference since 2000. The concierge and housekeeping services of Kempinski Geneva is the terrible one I have ever experiences in my 20 years of business travel.

I was staying in Kempinski Geneva in superior room 3331 for EBACE2014 on 18-22 May 2014. My samsonite suitcase is in good shape the taxi driver put it from the trolley to the trunk of the taxi. The bellboy of kempinski help picked up the suitcase from the trunk of the taxi and take it straight to my room. After I completed check-in and arrive my room, I soon realized the handle of my suitcase is broken. I raised complaint regarding this incident to the front desk and they just pass me to the concierge. The concierge asked the bellboy regarding this incident. The unhonest belly boy just said "it was broken the time I take it from the trunk of the taxi, perhaps the taxi driver mishandle this suitcase". The concierge offered to call the taxi driver and have me to go to lunch first. He said he will get back to me ASAP.

After I get back from lunch, the concierge just told me the taxi driver said he never touch my luggage at all and I am the one put it in the trunk of the taxi. ( I wonder if they have make any call for me. ) What a lier, the taxi driver charged me an additonal 6 CHF for the luggage. What a good suggestion from the concierge is to have me to call the police? They cannot do anything. I am really helpless at this stage. The concierge never offered any sound remedy and solution right of way. I have to beg them to have the hotel technician to tempory fixed the suitcase. I said I will post this incident on tripadvisor. It seems to me they dont really care. Their business is too good and at the right location. They dont really care my business. What I learn from this incident is that "NEVER EVER LET THE BELLBOY TO TOUCH YOUR SUITCASE, YOU BETTER CARRY IT ALL BY YOURSELF TO YOUR ROOM".

I flight back Hong Kong on 22nd. When I get home on 24th and open the suitcase, I soon realize I left my Hugo Boss' pant of my black business suit in my room. I immediately sent several e-mail to the hotel to have them look for my pant and mail it back to me. What I get is just an e-mail from the hotel saying they did not find anything in the room 3331 after my departure. That's it. I only stay in your hotel during my business trip to geneva and I never open my suitcase except this room. I guess somebody already take my pant.

I left my expensive digital camera in shangri-la bangkok. They kindly return it to me by courier mail using DHL. So I expected Kempinski can do better becasue you are charging a six star hotel price. I will never ever stay in this hotel manage by unhonest personnel. I will try the new Mandarin Oriental Geneva during EBACE 2015.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franco K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiHotelGeneva, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Mr. Franco K,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I was concerned to learn that, on this occasion, we failed to deliver our normal high standards of service, quality, professionalism and hospitality, namely on arrival and after your departure. I sincerely apologize for the undue inconvenience and aggravation caused in this respect.
Needless to say that your observations have been taken into serious consideration and appropriate actions will be taken with my Operational Department Heads .
Trusting that you will give us another chance of demonstrating that we can serve you better with your Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva needs, thereby restoring your full confidence in our product

Yours sincerely,
Thierry Lavalley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Very nice hotel on Lake Geneva. Room was nice and very clean and the staff was friendly and most of them spoke some English. Like anything in Switzerland this is a very expensive place to visit. No free bottled water in the room. Hotel was a 5 minute walk to the bus station where the tours I signed for left from. A margherita pizza in the room is CHF 34. The Kempinski Signature Burger is CHF 56. Ouch!!! Other options for eating are out there. Check across the street for sandwiches and pizza. My room was above the street and there was always some sort of hell raising or partying going on waking me up around 4ish in the morning. I was in room 4477. Not a great location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiHotelGeneva, Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Mr. Doug S,

Thank you for staying at the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva and for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor.
We value your feedback and what a pleasure to read that you particularly appreciated the kindness of our staff, and that you also enjoyed our unbeatable location and comfortable room.
As for your remark concerning the noise pollution from ​outside the hotel, w​e sincerely apologize for the undue inconvenience ​​due to our privileged city location.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva shortly.

Your sincerely
Thierry Lavalley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Hotel K is wonderfully located and provides the basics of a grand hotel. Positives include an incredible breakfast with a highly attentive staff; excellent pool, spa and fitness center with steam and sauna; nicely appointed rooms; and a general welcoming for American guests. There is room for improvement with the rest of the staff - who seem more oriented to serving the uber rich who visit Geneva. Prices are very high in the bar, and noise from the disco is annoying when it's late into the evening. As well, walls and doors are thin - which is a problem with loud guests on the floor.

Room Tip: Push for something quiet, away from disco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RSJ50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiHotelGeneva, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear RSJ50,

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Kempinksi Geneva.
We are delighted to hear that you particularly appreciated the professionalism and efficiency of our staff, and that you also enjoyed your room, the breakfast and our Spa&Fitness. Rest assured that we will share your kind comments with the departments concerned.
As for your remark concerning the noise pollution from the Bar and the Java Club, this will be discussed with my Director of Food & Beverage and Director of Rooms Division. We sincerely apologize for the undue inconvenience and aggravation caused in this respect.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva shortly.

Yours Sincerely,
Thierry Lavalley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We were really dissapointed during our stay.The bathroom ventilator was working like a vacuum cleaner allday through and night.That made our night really difficult.and when checking out we had to wait a huge line due to luck of personnel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KellyNt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiHotelGeneva, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Mr. KellyNt,

Thank you for your constructive feedback.
We regret to learn that we failed to deliver our normal high standards of service in your room.
I would like to assure you that your observations will be brainstormed with my Operational Department Heads and appropriate actions will be taken.
Trusting that you will give us another opportunity to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,
Thierry Lavalley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
523 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I have always enjoyed my stays in Geneva but have not always enjoyed the hotels where I have stayed. Don't get me wrong, there are a lot of terrific hotels in Geneva but they just haven't felt like a home away from home. Happy to report that I have found my place. The Kempinski is right on the lake and in easy walking distance of most areas downtown. The service is impeccable, the rooms very well appointed and if you have a lake view, and a view of Mont Blanc, nothing could be better! I had a drink in the bar but did not eat in the hotel but from the reports of my colleagues, it was great but a little pricey. The only quibble I have with the location is that the nearest café where you can grab a coffee to go is about 15 minutes walk and it is a Starbucks!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view to the lake which will also get you Mont Blanc
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiHotelGeneva, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Mr. John K,

Thank you for your wonderful review!
It really is a delight to read comments like yours and see that we have succeeded in making your stay at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva unbelievably good.
Please be assured that your impressions have been shared with all the team.
Again, we thank you for your warm words and we are hoping to welcome you back very soon for another wonderful time in Geneva!

Yours sincerely,
Thierry Lavalley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva
#20 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 106 in Geneva
5.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#9 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva

Property: Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva
Address: 19, Quai du Mont - Blanc, Geneva 1211, Switzerland (Formerly Le Palace Hilton Geneva)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Geneva! Home to numerous international organizations, Geneva has been referred to as one of the world's best cities to live in. By bicycle or on foot, visit an awe-inspiring cathedral, the UN and Red Cross Head-quarters, swim in the famous Lake Geneva or simply marvel at the Jet d'Eau, the iconic water fountain that soars above the skyline. Majestically situated on the shores of Lake Geneva, The Grand Hotel Kempinski is both a perfect leisure and a business destination located in the heart of Switzerland's most cosmopolitan city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing