We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel President Wilson
Ranked #12 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel and rooms were extremely clean, the staff was extremely nice and location was extremely wonderful! Thanks a lot to staff of this hotel! We loved this hotel and we're happy for staying in President Wilson Geneva! I like everything in this hotel!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ramin_Huseynzade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive and enthusiastic comment about the Hotel President Wilson! We are indeed lucky to have a beautiful view over the Lake of Geneva and we do our best to provide a high quality personalized service in order to make the guests feel “home away from home”.
Your kind words will be shared with the staff of the hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in 2014.
In the meantime, if you wish to be informed about our latest news and happenings, feel free to follow President Wilson on Twitter and to like our Facebook page.

Sincerely,

F.Newhart
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 755 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have spent with my family 4 days in this beautiful and cozy hotel. Apart the high cost of Switzerland i have to admit that this hotel was the perfect choice.Big rooms, clean and comfortable. Many congrats to the staff, always helpful kind and polite! i surely recommend it!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maria d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment and for recommending the Hotel President Wilson.
We are happy that you enjoyed the rooms and your kind words will be shared with the staff.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Geneva in 2014!

In the meantime, if you wish to be informed about our latest news and happenings, feel free to follow President Wilson on Twitter and to like our Facebook page.

Sincerely,

F.Newhart
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Staying at the president Wilson is truly like coming home for me and my family. I wanted to have a stay over with my wife this time round and took advantage of the junior suite on the 7th floor. The staff prepared the room with complementary champagne, fruit and chocolates and all our whishes came true.
The umani restaurant and the tent are a fanastic addition to the hotel experience and late night room service remains impeccable and unparralled in Europe.

I can only ask for 2 small improvements.
1) We preferred breakfast in the bar area as you could enjoy the lake for breakfast vs having it located at the side of the hotel. Why not in the tent?
2) I got used to Aqua Di Parma at the president from 99 to 07 so was suprised to see Hermes making it's apparition. Hope Aqua di Parma will be back soon

anyway, we had a great stay & experience and are looking forward coming back soon.

Warm regards.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slam_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback about your experience at the Hotel President Wilson.
Our main concern is to make our guests feel “home away from home” and we are truly satisfied that this is how you felt during your stay and that your wishes became true! Providing a high quality personalized service is a priority for us.
We do brunches in the tent on Sundays and of course, if you ask to have your breakfast in the bar it is perfectly possible.
We are looking forward to make your next trip in Geneva as fantastic and in the meantime if you wish to be updated on the latest news, we invite you to follow us on Facebook or Twitter.

Sincerely,

F.Newhart
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The hotel is beautiful with the most incredible Christmas decorations: automated brown bears holding wrapped presents near the entrance, a lifesize Santa with reindeers and sleigh in the bar, and fake white trees covered in fairy lights everywhere...
The staff at reception were very welcoming and accommodating throughout our stay. At the bar, however, we waited a good ten minutes for someone to take our order, and she had to go and ask the chef what the soup of the day was - surely in a five-star hotel the waiting staff are briefed every day on such things. When we wanted to leave, there was no one around to bring our bill, and we had to go over to the counter to settle.
The rooms were fine, except that in my son's room the remote control wasn't working so he couldn't switch off the TV unless he unplugged it.
I'd been asked which newspaper I wanted in the morning, but it was never delivered.
The breakfast buffet offers pastries, yogurts, cold cuts and cheeses, fruit salad, scrambled eggs that are as bad as in any inferior hotel, and as a nice Asian touch, congee and tea eggs. No Lebanese food, which is odd as the breakfast menu lists quite a few Lebanese dishes and the hotel has a large Middle Eastern clientele. When we got there the buffet had run out of many items and they weren't being replaced, especially the fruit juices. Again in a hotel of his class we expected better. On the plus side, the waiting staff were all charming and helpful.
To use the swimming pool we had to get towels and locker keys from the spa, but as all the attendants were busy giving treatment, we had to get the concierge to call someone, and it took about fifteen minutes to sort out.
The swimming pool isn't heated although it's covered in winter, and the water was extremely cold, 20°C at most but certainly not the advertised 25°C. It's also too shallow to swim properly. The setting and view, however, are beautiful.
My request for a slightly later checkout was eagerly granted and overall the staff were great. Despite the quibbles listed above, I'd probably stay there again, but for these prices I'd expect a more flawless experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brancusirocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions about the Hotel President Wilson.
We are happy to read that you appreciated our Christmas decorations; we give a lot of importance to the visual aspect of the hotel. We will pass on your kind words to the reception and breakfast staff.
We deeply apologize that your stay wasn’t as flawless as expected, thank you for your comments, we notified the problems you encountered to the responsible departments. We would like to assure you that such matters will not happen again as it is not representative of the hotel service.
We will definitely add lebanese food to the breakfast buffet and the swimming pool's temperature is being reviewed. On your next trip you will be able to enjoy it at a warm temperature.
We are looking forward to welcoming you in 2014, in the meantime, if you wish to be informed about our latest news and happenings, feel free to follow President Wilson on Twitter and to like our Facebook page.

Sincerely,

F.Newhart
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed one night at the President Wilson (partly because I was reading the excellent biography of Woodrow Wilson by Scott Berg, which may not be the optimal way to choose a hotel, I admit) while on a business trip to Geneva in December. Like all hotels in Geneva, it's not for the faint of wallet. But that being a given, I was highly impressed with both the physical property and by the staff. The hotel has a nice contemporary vibe, not hipster, but surely not the stuffy Swiss hotel scene of many Geneva properties. The staff was efficient and friendly. I didn't have the opportunity to try the food in either the restaurant or room service, but the bar staff was excellent, though you'll need a stiff drink when you sign the check! I had a dinner and then a meeting the next day at a location a bit off the beaten path, and the hotel doormen quickly secured a taxi for me when I needed it. They made sure it was a cab that took credit cards (not always a given in Geneva.) My room itself was beautifully appointed in rich woodwork with a sparkling bathroom that had some excellent bath items. Though Geneva can be a "roll-up-the-sidewalks" kind of city, I very much enjoyed my stay at the President Wilson and would return. I recommend both the hotel and the book!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magellan713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on tripadvisor and for recommending the Hotel President Wilson.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated your room decoration, the services provided by our staff and our contemporary architecture. The Hotel President Wilson is the most modern five star hotel in Geneva.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in 2014 and hopefully you will be able to try our cuisine. We are happy to let you know that the Bayview restaurant just received its first Michelin Star and that we opened in December a new Japanese restaurant by the pool.

In the meantime, if you wish to be informed about our latest news and happenings, feel free to follow President Wilson on Twitter and to like our Facebook page.

Sincerely,

F.Newhart
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Had an absolutely wonderful stay. The staff are faultless and very sweet.

The room was stunning, the view was stunning, everything was stunning!

The Bayview restaurant was fantastic and such good fun.

I cant fault this hotel as we had an amazing stay.

Thank you so much for a wonderful time! We shall we back!

Room Tip: The suites are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Tripadvisor.
We are thrilled to read that you spent a wonderful time at the Hotel President Wilson. We will pass on your kind words to the staff.
We are happy to inform you that Bayview Restaurant received its first Michelin Star in the 2014’s guide in addition to the grade of 17 out of 20 at the Gault & Millau that it obtained this year.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again and surprise you even more!

In the meantime, if you wish to be informed about our latest news and happenings, feel free to follow President Wilson on Twitter and to like our Facebook page.

Sincerely,

F.Newhart
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

When travelling on business I really need a good sleep and for two nights I didn't get one. Noisy corridors with doors banging all night and even on the 6th floor a large amount of noise from outside at street level. The breakfast is average, the service at reception 'too friendly', and the prices are predictably expensive. i would try somewhere else next time.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to thank you for the comment that you have left on Tripadvisor concerning your recent stay at the Hotel President Wilson.
Indeed we always appreciate to get comments from our guests, so that we are able to improve and to keep our standard constantly.
I deeply apologize for your experience at the hotel. I have notified the situation that you mentioned above to the respective departments in order to correct them immediately and would like to assure you that such matters will not happen again, as it is not representative of the hotel service.
We hope to welcome you again in 2014.

With kind regards,

F. Newhart
Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 109 in Geneva
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President Wilson

Address: quai Wilson 47 | Geneva 1, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Wilson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Geneva
#5 Business Hotel in Geneva
#6 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#11 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: £243 - £517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel President Wilson 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from one of the most beautiful parks in Geneva, ideally located facing the magnificent panorama of the lake and Mont-Blanc, the President Wilson is one of the city's most contemporary hotel. With exceptional views of the lake, the hotel's outdoor pool or Geneva city, the 204 rooms and 22 suites ally both comfort and technology and offer luxury amenities and features such as Nespresso coffee machines, Hermes bath products or also Bang & Olufsen LCD screens. Discover Swiss refinement through the gastronomy of the famous Michelin starred Michel Roth (MOF and Bocuse d'Or 1991), or through the unique Spa La Mer, an exclusiveness in Switzerland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel President Wilson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Wilson Hotel
President Wilson Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing