We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel in a fabulous city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel President Wilson
Ranked #9 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel in a fabulous city”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Wow is how you feel when you walk into your room facing the beautiful Lake Geneva. With exquisite Swiss chocolates and Hermes bath products to welcome you. The service was marvellous. The food is superb. Concierge are very willing to help. Only thing is that soft drinks are very expensive so rather fill up at the supermarket which is around the corner. The hotel makes you want to extend your stay.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking Lake Geneva!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farhana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your impressions about the Hotel President Wilson.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and particularly your room and the food. We are proud to announce that the Bayview Restaurant received its first Michelin star. We will share your kind words with the staff.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in 2014 and to surprise you even more.

In the meantime, if you wish to be informed about our latest news and happenings, feel free to follow President Wilson on Twitter and to like our Facebook page.

Sincerely,

F.Newhart
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    187
    45
    19
    10
See reviews for
86
183
48
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here just 1 night with work. Every detail was perfect. Exceptional food, wide selection of drinks (including extensive cocktail menu), and top quality staff ready to help with every request. Bar area was also one you would want to spend time in, even if not staying here. Only grumble was the price, while to be expected in Geneva and given the location, was pretty steep!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank lhawley77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Tripadvisor.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel President Wilson. We do our best to provide a high quality personalized service in order to make the guests feel “home away from home”.
We are happy you appreciated the food and the bar and your kind words will be shared with the staff of the hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in 2014.

In the meantime, if you wish to be informed about our latest news and happenings, feel free to follow President Wilson on Twitter and to like our Facebook page.

Sincerely,

F.Newhart
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is a five-star hotel in every sense of the word. Lovely location overlooking Lake Geneva, plush common areas, fab service. Prices to match in the restaurants, spa, but it is a top-notch hotel so you'd sort of expect that. Great pool and gym. Very comfortable rooms, linens. A ten-minute walk to the main central area of Geneva, where there are shops to stock up on water, wine, snacks! If you are on a massive splurge, this is a good place to do it. Nothing, it would seem, comes cheap in Switzerland (I am still hurting from the eight franc cafe latte at the airport...)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liketOtravel00742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions about the Hotel President Wilson.

We are thrilled to read that you were happy with your stay and that you enjoyed your room, the location as well as the common areas. Switzerland is indeed quite pricey but we are glad that you find it worth it if you are on a massive splurge!

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Geneva in 2014.
In the meantime, if you wish to be informed about our latest news and happenings, feel free to follow President Wilson on Twitter and to like our Facebook page.

Sincerely,

F.Newhart
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel and rooms were extremely clean, the staff was extremely nice and location was extremely wonderful! Thanks a lot to staff of this hotel! We loved this hotel and we're happy for staying in President Wilson Geneva! I like everything in this hotel!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ramin_Huseynzade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive and enthusiastic comment about the Hotel President Wilson! We are indeed lucky to have a beautiful view over the Lake of Geneva and we do our best to provide a high quality personalized service in order to make the guests feel “home away from home”.
Your kind words will be shared with the staff of the hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in 2014.
In the meantime, if you wish to be informed about our latest news and happenings, feel free to follow President Wilson on Twitter and to like our Facebook page.

Sincerely,

F.Newhart
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santorini, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have spent with my family 4 days in this beautiful and cozy hotel. Apart the high cost of Switzerland i have to admit that this hotel was the perfect choice.Big rooms, clean and comfortable. Many congrats to the staff, always helpful kind and polite! i surely recommend it!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment and for recommending the Hotel President Wilson.
We are happy that you enjoyed the rooms and your kind words will be shared with the staff.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Geneva in 2014!

In the meantime, if you wish to be informed about our latest news and happenings, feel free to follow President Wilson on Twitter and to like our Facebook page.

Sincerely,

F.Newhart
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aartselaar, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Staying at the president Wilson is truly like coming home for me and my family. I wanted to have a stay over with my wife this time round and took advantage of the junior suite on the 7th floor. The staff prepared the room with complementary champagne, fruit and chocolates and all our whishes came true.
The umani restaurant and the tent are a fanastic addition to the hotel experience and late night room service remains impeccable and unparralled in Europe.

I can only ask for 2 small improvements.
1) We preferred breakfast in the bar area as you could enjoy the lake for breakfast vs having it located at the side of the hotel. Why not in the tent?
2) I got used to Aqua Di Parma at the president from 99 to 07 so was suprised to see Hermes making it's apparition. Hope Aqua di Parma will be back soon

anyway, we had a great stay & experience and are looking forward coming back soon.

Warm regards.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slam_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback about your experience at the Hotel President Wilson.
Our main concern is to make our guests feel “home away from home” and we are truly satisfied that this is how you felt during your stay and that your wishes became true! Providing a high quality personalized service is a priority for us.
We do brunches in the tent on Sundays and of course, if you ask to have your breakfast in the bar it is perfectly possible.
We are looking forward to make your next trip in Geneva as fantastic and in the meantime if you wish to be updated on the latest news, we invite you to follow us on Facebook or Twitter.

Sincerely,

F.Newhart
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The hotel is beautiful with the most incredible Christmas decorations: automated brown bears holding wrapped presents near the entrance, a lifesize Santa with reindeers and sleigh in the bar, and fake white trees covered in fairy lights everywhere...
The staff at reception were very welcoming and accommodating throughout our stay. At the bar, however, we waited a good ten minutes for someone to take our order, and she had to go and ask the chef what the soup of the day was - surely in a five-star hotel the waiting staff are briefed every day on such things. When we wanted to leave, there was no one around to bring our bill, and we had to go over to the counter to settle.
The rooms were fine, except that in my son's room the remote control wasn't working so he couldn't switch off the TV unless he unplugged it.
I'd been asked which newspaper I wanted in the morning, but it was never delivered.
The breakfast buffet offers pastries, yogurts, cold cuts and cheeses, fruit salad, scrambled eggs that are as bad as in any inferior hotel, and as a nice Asian touch, congee and tea eggs. No Lebanese food, which is odd as the breakfast menu lists quite a few Lebanese dishes and the hotel has a large Middle Eastern clientele. When we got there the buffet had run out of many items and they weren't being replaced, especially the fruit juices. Again in a hotel of his class we expected better. On the plus side, the waiting staff were all charming and helpful.
To use the swimming pool we had to get towels and locker keys from the spa, but as all the attendants were busy giving treatment, we had to get the concierge to call someone, and it took about fifteen minutes to sort out.
The swimming pool isn't heated although it's covered in winter, and the water was extremely cold, 20°C at most but certainly not the advertised 25°C. It's also too shallow to swim properly. The setting and view, however, are beautiful.
My request for a slightly later checkout was eagerly granted and overall the staff were great. Despite the quibbles listed above, I'd probably stay there again, but for these prices I'd expect a more flawless experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brancusirocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMPW, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel President Wilson, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions about the Hotel President Wilson.
We are happy to read that you appreciated our Christmas decorations; we give a lot of importance to the visual aspect of the hotel. We will pass on your kind words to the reception and breakfast staff.
We deeply apologize that your stay wasn’t as flawless as expected, thank you for your comments, we notified the problems you encountered to the responsible departments. We would like to assure you that such matters will not happen again as it is not representative of the hotel service.
We will definitely add lebanese food to the breakfast buffet and the swimming pool's temperature is being reviewed. On your next trip you will be able to enjoy it at a warm temperature.
We are looking forward to welcoming you in 2014, in the meantime, if you wish to be informed about our latest news and happenings, feel free to follow President Wilson on Twitter and to like our Facebook page.

Sincerely,

F.Newhart
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel d'Angleterre
#1 of 105 in Geneva
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#12 of 105 in Geneva
732 reviews
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 105 in Geneva
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President Wilson

Property: Hotel President Wilson
Address: 47 Quai Wilson | Geneva 1, Geneva 1211, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Wilson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Geneva
#5 Business Hotel in Geneva
#6 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#7 Family Hotel in Geneva
#9 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel President Wilson 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from one of the most beautiful parks in Geneva, ideally located facing the magnificent panorama of the lake and Mont-Blanc, the President Wilson is one of the city's most contemporary hotel. With exceptional views of the lake, the hotel's outdoor pool or Geneva city, the 204 rooms and 22 suites ally both comfort and technology and offer luxury amenities and features such as Nespresso coffee machines, Hermes bath products or also Bang & Olufsen LCD screens. Discover Swiss refinement through the gastronomy of the famous Michelin starred Michel Roth (MOF and Bocuse d'Or 1991), or through the unique Spa La Mer, an exclusiveness in Switzerland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel President Wilson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Wilson Hotel
President Wilson Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing