We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ibis Geneve Centre Gare
Ranked #34 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Ibis Geneva is a very nice property and value for Money. Rooms are very comfortable and clean staffs are very friendly and english speaking you can enjoy staying here. the distance from the geneva Railway station is around 20 Km (If I am not wrong).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dharam168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
There are newer reviews for ibis Geneve Centre Gare
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Sanusi I
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The Ibis Geneve Centre Gare is a normal average hotel. I am not a big fan of its location. You have to go under a train bridge and the area is quite dark and lonely at night. Service was good, people were friendly. Rooms are small and pretty standard. Would look for a better location if I ever visit Geneva once again

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank atl010684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed just for one night to break a long journey by train from Locarno back to England.
The hotel is not far from the station, although the station is currently undergoing renovations, so it was hard to find the front ground floor exit. Head for an exit on the right and you should find the main road along which you need to go. If you follow signs for CITY, the route takes you under the main road and you could emerge in the pedestrian precinct on the way down to the lake! We stopped a helpful couple who kindly sent us in the right direction so we got there no problem after that. The receptionist was friendly and efficient. Our room (we had emailed to ask for a quiet position), was 3rd floor right away from the lift and overlooking the side street rather than the busier road at the front. It wasn't a huge room but adequate and same for the bathroom. The bed was spacious and comfortable; there are blackout curtains and shutters, so we both slept OK. Considering the central position of the hotel this was more than welcome! Plenty of hot water for our morning showers. We didn't have much time before our train so opted not to eat breakfast as it was quite pricey. But it looked good if you have the time to do it justice. This was the most expensive of all our accommodation in Switzerland, (without the benefit of kettle etc and the weakest WiFi), but compared to other places we looked at, this represented good value for Geneva and we would use it again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank time0f0urlives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Positives:- close to train station, ten minutes walk to river and centre, clean, bed was comfty, quiet (even with room next to lift), free wifi

Negatives:- tiny room even by Ibis standards. For those reviewers who said room is spacious are either very small themselves or had bigger room! Bathroom is approx 150cm x 150cm.

No luxury. Budget for Geneva (expensive compared with outside Switzerland).

Make sure you ask for wifi code and the free transport ticket if they aren't readily offered. (Also, if arriving by plane you can get free bus/tram ticket in baggage collection hall to take you to the centre).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoolePike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The hotel is in a good location and within walking distance to the train station (10 minutes) and lake Geneva (10 minutes). Our room was very average. We had a room with two single beds, on the ground floor right next to reception and the main road. So close in fact we had a switch to close down the shutters over the windows at night. As a result there was some road noise in the evening and morning but we didn't loose any sleep over it. The bathroom was poor quality and needed updating however the room overall was clean.

Room Tip: High floor away from the road
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Day48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The hotel is literally 5 minutes from the central station in Geneva; although it's slightly off the main street. The room we had was clean, if a bit small. The bed was comfy and the room was very quiet. The bathroom was slightly small and a bit in need of renovation but it was fine. Breakfast was really good with a wide selection of pastries, breads, cheeses, meats, cereals and drinks. It's around a 10-15 minute walk to the centre of town and the lake and the free public transport pass was a nice touch. The staff were exceptionally helpful.

This is not a luxury hotel, but it doesn't market itself as such. If you're looking for a clean, comfortable place to lay your head whilst you're exploring Geneva then this is a pretty good place to do it - and cheap for Geneva.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Pâquis Navigation
Hotel ibis Geneve Centre Lac
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 106 in Geneva
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cornavin
Ibis Styles Geneve Mont-Blanc
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#48 of 106 in Geneva
445 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#39 of 106 in Geneva
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Geneve Centre Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Geneve Centre Gare

Address: rue Voltaire 10, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Geneva
#28 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: £89 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Geneve Centre Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Geneve Centre Gare is a completely non smoking hotel located in the heart of the city, 200 m from the train station and 5 km from the airport. The Old Town, the Grand Casino, international organisations and Lake Geneva are all within 2 km. The hotel offers 64 airconditioned rooms, including 27 with WiFi and one for guests with limited mobility. Our bar is open 24 hours and there is a pay car park 200 m away. 5 Km from the PALEXPO business centre. Public transport is free for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your ibis Geneve Centre Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Geneve Centre Gare Hotel Geneva
Ibis Hotel Geneva
Accor Geneve Centre Gare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing