We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, spacious rooms, close enough to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ibis Geneve Centre Gare
Ranked #38 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Clean, spacious rooms, close enough to everything”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The hotel is walking distance to all of Geneva's sights, including the lake. Ideal for a short stay, the only negatives were that the daytime reception staff have a very poor grasp of English. Undesirables tend to loiter along the road from the hotel late at night.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hampstead30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    190
    123
    27
    7
See reviews for
74
115
37
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Room ended up being extremely small with only one outlet in the corner of the room which was quite frustrating. Location was good (Cornavin Station). Breakfast wasn't my favorite, average selection and slightly overpriced for what it was. Overall basic hotel with a good location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
359 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,080 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The hotel is strategically located (near Cornavin Station/Centre Gare), although it’s situated in a dark, completely inelegant and totally empty street from the early evening as well.
The reception service is friendly and helpful, and definitively very good. But the hotel comfort is really very poor: my room (a double) was tiny, with essential and not too functional furnitures, with even smaller toilet (having an only towel for my convenience and without any courtesy set included) for real lilliputians; moreover the room was closest (or better door-to-door) the lift with the consequent effects…
The breakfast was on medium level: good quality but a not large variety of foods.
To be honest, in comparison to other IBIS Hotels experienced before, I expected much more that this. The price is acceptable for the Geneva standards, it’s true: but from my part it’s not enough for having a further stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gio1962car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibis2154, Directeur général at ibis Geneve Centre Gare, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Genève Centre Gare. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer.
Ibis room is a standard of Brand.
Our breakfast buffet is the standard brand Includes, hot drinks (coffee, espresso, cappuccino, chocolate, tea), 2 fruit juices, fresh fruit salad, fruit basket, 3 choices of cereals, breads 3, 2 pastries, jam, honey, pate spreads, meats, cheeses, hardboiled egg, natural yoghurt and fruit, bruesli ...

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

London UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

stayed here for 1 night to attend motorshow 8th march 2014. Paid £110 for double room & additional £30 for 2 breakfasts-suppose to be wide variety & eat as much as you like. On arrival at hotel to check in had to pay in full? Have never paid for a hotel on arrival so found that strange. Our room was 108 on 1st floor and on leaving the lift was greeted with a nasty sewage smell in the corridor. On opening our door to our room the door hit straight into the bed & only opened half way-surely this a fire & safety hazord? the room was tiny with barely enough room to walk round bed & no room for luggage-looked nothing like the pictures on website. Bathroom was also tiny with no bath-only a small shower cubicle. The toilet seat was broken & reported straight to reception. Hardly got any sleep as sounded like window was open & could hear all the traffic and people walking past till early hours of the morning-would have thought it would be double glazed? Got up at 7:30 for breakfast to be completely shocked to find breakfast room was the small seating area in reception with tables & seats for 30 people so had to wait for people to finish to be seated. You had a choice of croisants, toast, 2 cereals, fruit, salami, cheese slices & yoghurts only and there was very little left of anything. There was no mugs left for hot drinks as being washed & the glass i picked for water was broken all round the rim. there was not enough cutlery so had to ask and again wait to be cleaned. we were in the breakfast room for 20 minutes and in that time mugs were not brought out. It was no way worth the £15 pp for breakfast especially when no cups for a cup of tea or coffee with your breakfast.

I do not think our stay was worth the £140 we paid and would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not be fooled by pictures on website-rooms look nothing like this or certainly dont on 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mel23sky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibis2154, Directeur général at ibis Geneve Centre Gare, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Genève Centre Gare. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer.
Ibis room is a standard of Brand.
Our breakfast buffet is the standard brand Includes, hot drinks (coffee, espresso, cappuccino, chocolate, tea), 2 fruit juices, fresh fruit salad, fruit basket, 3 choices of cereals, breads 3, 2 pastries, jam, honey, pate spreads, meats, cheeses, hardboiled egg, natural yoghurt and fruit, bruesli ...

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triesenberg, Liechtenstein
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for a business trip. Very friendly staff that all spoke English well. Small snack lounge and free wifi all over - all that u need. The room was on floor 7 and was quiet, clean and comfortable. I would come back anytime. Thanks!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Manuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
177 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed for two nights and was very comfortable. Not a far walk to Lake Geneva. Road is a bit busy and you can hear the traffic, but it quiets down before you go to sleep. Room was a bit warm. Breakfast was good, but pricey (as is always the case at Ibis). Staff was very friendly. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
213 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

It is a typical Ibis hotel. The rooms are very basic but clean and the furniture simple but functional. I had a triple room and for three people there was not really a lot of space, especially for the luggage. The first impression of the bathroom was good, after having a closer look you can see that it has for sure seen better times but nevertheless it was clean as well. The hotel is located only a couple of walking minutes from the main station and therefore centrally located. Compared to other hotels in Geneva the breakfast is cheap and again basic but ok.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mbieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#14 of 105 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Cornavin
Ibis Styles Geneve Mont-Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Cristal Design
#43 of 105 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#48 of 105 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Geneve Centre Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Geneve Centre Gare

Property: ibis Geneve Centre Gare
Address: rue Voltaire 10, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Geneva
#28 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Geneve Centre Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Geneve Centre Gare is a completely non smoking hotel located in the heart of the city, 200 m from the train station and 5 km from the airport. The Old Town, the Grand Casino, international organisations and Lake Geneva are all within 2 km. The hotel offers 64 airconditioned rooms, including 27 with WiFi and one for guests with limited mobility. Our bar is open 24 hours and there is a pay car park 200 m away. 5 Km from the PALEXPO business centre. Public transport is free for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your ibis Geneve Centre Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Geneve Centre Gare Hotel Geneva
Ibis Hotel Geneva
Accor Geneve Centre Gare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing