We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel in excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cristal Design
Ranked #43 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great value hotel in excellent location”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I wanted a cheapish hotel in a convenient and safe location because I was visiting Geneva on my own - and couldn't have chosen better. I was amazed to find such a high standard of accommodation at such a reasonable price in such an expensive city. he Hotel Cristal is perfectly located literally three minutes walk from trains, trams and buses, and ten minutes walk from the Lake. There's a Starbucks next door and plenty of cafes and restaurants around. A couple of people on Tripadvisor have mentioned that it's near the unofficial red light district, but please don't let this put you off. It is also near four and five star hotels such as the Kempinski, and is really not a problem. The area is very busy during the day and evening and I never felt remotely intimidated, even on my own. The staff are professional and helpful, and the rooms are clean, modern, compact and cleverly-designed so they contain everything you need. Breakfast is in a bright and airy room on the top floor and you can look out over the rooftops as you help yourself to cereals, fruit, cheese, yogurt, bread and coffee. The Cristal isn't the sort of hotel you'd book for a romantic weekend, but it doesn't charge enough to offer the luxury you'd want for that. All-in-all for velue for money and location I give it five out of five.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swamp-pokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    248
    96
    23
    11
See reviews for
66
133
45
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I spent two nights in Hotel Cristal in a single room located at 6 floor.

The hotel seems to be quite new or totally refurbished. The room (bit small but sufficient) was clean and arranged in a modern and practical way, including the new bathroom. At the reception you will get a map of the city plus a ticket (for free) for local transport. I liked very much the breakfast area located at the last, 8 floor of the building, from where extends the view over the roofs of the buildings through the +/- 30 metres long window (!). They serve solid and varied buffet breakfast there which include (sweet: croissants, jems, nutella, cornflakes, etc. / salty: bread, cheese, salamis, etc. / fruits: bananas, kiwis, pears, etc. / yogurts / drinks: tea, coffee, (unfortunately) processed juices. Price was high (105 Euros per night) but still this was lower than in other hotels in the area. All and all, nothing to complain. I had a really pleasant stay there.

In addition, the hotel is located in the city centre, close to the lake and 3 minutes from the train station which was very convinient for me since I arrived to the hotel at 24:00. The area is not noisy at the evenings (I had quiet sleep).

Taxi to the airport costs 35 CHF (during the weekend around 50 CHF). Train which takes you directly to the airport in just 7 minutes (faster than taxi) is only 3.5 CHF.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We were surprised by the great rates of the Hotel Cristal Design, especially as compared to rates of the Best Western at the end of the same street. Being somewhat skeptic, we Google mapped its location, did a street view walk, and then quickly made reservations. The price was reasonable (for Geneva) and it was conveniently located next to a train station. Location was especially important to us as Geneva was the first stop of a 17 day train trip of Europe. Hotel Cristal Design was very clean with ultra-modern style and furnishings. The room was compact but well designed. Due to space constraints, the entrance of the room opened into the sink area of the bathroom. Frosted glass walls & doors separated this area from the toilet/shower and the sleeping area. There was exceptional spot lighting and this combined with the glass created an illusion of space and openess. There were adequate shelves, a closet, a desk/workstation (free Wifi which worked great), and very comfortable feather bedding & pillows. The headboard of the bed was against large windows facing the front street. The window coverings and windows could be opened to create a brighter feeling of space. We didn't opt for breakfast but checked out its location on the top floor. The room was very cheerful with full glass overlooking the city. The hotel is steps from a busy Starbucks and much shopping and restaurants in all directions. I gave this a very good rating because of value, location & cleanliness.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ready2go4more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Really happy with this modern clean and compact hotel right at the train station. nice prices / nice people !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dagocleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saint-lambert
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Cristal for 1 night before I flew out of Geneva. Location is excellent, literally a 5 minute walk from the Geneva Rail Station. It's located on a quiet side street next to Rue de Mont-Blanc. There a a number of small cafes and restaurants on the surrounding streets. The hotel design is very modern and the room, while small ( single room) was perfectly adequate. The walls in the room are made of sandblasted glass and the floors are wood. The closet and bathroom doors run smoothly on overhead tracks. Lighting is very important in space design and the designers have succeeded exceptionally well here.

As I left very early the next morning I cannot attest to the breakfast quality. The only negative comment I have is that the bed was very soft and perhaps hadn't been included in the room renovations. Apart from that I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bob d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Modern and newly renovated design hotel close to the train station. Even single room feels bigger thanks to the lightly colored walls and the use of mirrors. Clear, simple design of the rooms and the hotel lobby feels refreshing. Especially like the tea kettle in the room, great for the rainy evenings or colder nights. Surprisingly comfortable bed, one of the best I slept in the hotels. Breakfast is not included, but there is a coffeshop right by the hotel and many other cafes for cheaper breakfast ( it was offered for 20 CHF extra I think ). For an expensive city like Geneva, this is great hotel for its price!

Room Tip: stayed in a single room, which was quite spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dramatika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The hotel is situated just one block from the central Cornavin train station and bus depot, which made it extremely convenient to get into and out of the airport, and around Geneva. The train from the airport is 15 minutes door to door, and free. My room was very uniquely designed, filled with frosted blue glass separating the en suite bathroom from the bedroom. The mattress was a bit stiff, but comfortable. Free wi-fi is available hotel wide, and I had a great connection the entire time I was there. The mini-bar is actually located in the hallway, not the room, and like everything in Switzerland, is a bit pricey. I would have liked an iron in the room, but they only offered a common area in the lobby for ironing, which was a bit inconvenient. Also, for international travellers, be sure to note that the electrical sockets in Switzerland are NOT the same as elsewhere in Europe, you will need a different adapter. I remedied that with an electronics store directly outside the underground entrance to the train station next door to the hotel. There is also a Starbucks and McDonald's for quick eats directly next door if you're in a hurry. Overall, the staff was great, and the hotel was convenient and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank c0den1nja42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#14 of 105 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
James-Fazy
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#28 of 105 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
Cornavin Hotel Geneva
Cornavin Hotel Geneva
#35 of 105 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Cornavin
International et Terminus
International et Terminus
#56 of 105 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristal Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristal Design

Property: Hotel Cristal Design
Address: rue Pradier 4, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cristal Design 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Four-story Hotel located 50 meters from train station & 5 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cristal Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristal Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing