We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cristal Design
Ranked #42 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Brisbane, Queensland.
Level Contributor
272 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great location and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

Loved the hotel. Very good and warm friendly service. Great funky décor in the hotel and the rooms as well. Very modern and clean and good facilities. The view from the breakfast room was wonderful overlooking the roof tops. A great location close to everything and close to the tram stops, shops and restaurants. Loved it and would recommend.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarinnaCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    244
    94
    22
    11
See reviews for
63
132
44
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

My partner and I spent three very happy and comfortable nights (on a room-only basis) in this gem of a city-centre hotel.

Located just a few minutes walk from the main train station and the lake front, this hotel is perfect for reaching many of Geneva's main attractions. It's away from the red-light district, so you needn't feel intimidated when returning late at night. Externally it looks in far better condition than many of the other hotels in the area, which looked shabby and we're probably far less value for money

The hotel staff are polite, friendly and helpful. Our room, a double on the seventh floor was found in pristine condition, and maintained that way by the maids who never visited too early for us, a pair of late-sleepers. The room was perfectly sized, wonderfully designed, well appointed and the modern decor was a dream. From our window we had a view of the Jet d'Eau and a small square surrounded by hotels and restaurants. The room was ready for an early check in. The bed was amply sized and comfortable, and there were no noise issues whatsoever.

We paid approximately £150/night (late April, booked quite late), which we considered to be very reasonable - especially as some chain hotels were based in the seedier area and charging more.

The only negative my partner and I could come up with was that the shower wasn't quite as powerful as she'd have liked. However, that's by-the-by, all things considered.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors have a view of the Jet d'Eau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

I found this hotel by accident. It sits right smack in the middle, between the red-light district and a few blocks to the geneva lake bridge, aka mont blanc st. All are walking distance. The hotel room size is small. Good for travellers that just need place to sleep. Hotel room is very clean, helpful and friendly staff I can't complain - value for money. But do not stay here if you're on your honeymoon :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LazyServer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

This hotel was great! The front desk allowed us to check in early and they were always helpful We were traveling with lots of suitcases, so being close to the train station was perfect. The room was pristine and very space efficient. Very clean and modern. Lots of restaurants nearby, but just take care late at night. Some corners are a little sketchy.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

In Geneva for business, I prepaid for six nights at the Cristal. Arrived here and was so pleased with the hotel's location just a block from the main train station. My room is smallish but very well laid out. The floor to ceiling French window looks out on a quiet street; it's quiet and comfortable.

But here's the rub--no wireless, or rather none all weekend long. And no sign that the management cares or is trying to repair. Which is pretty bad if you've got a million thngs to do including talking to the family, and you're jet lagged and longing to stay in.

So be warned!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank affuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

This hotel is located right next to the train station. We didn't opt-in for breakfast, but there's a starbucks right in the corner. The rooms aren't very spacious and they look better in the pictures than in real life, but they were fine too. The bed wasn't the most comfortable, but again, for this price it's all good. We stayed for four nights, and I have to say that if you're traveling with someone that you're not VERY intimate with, the bathroom arrangements probably won't work out for you - the door might as well not be there, because it slides and not all the way through. All in all, it's a good cost-benefit, great location and overall a good place to stay. We'd book it again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brunapgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Very well located, just a little distance from the train station. Stayed here for one night with my spouse. At 100 euros a night breakfast was not included. But this area has lots of eating joints, so did not have any problems. The Geneva tourism office is located quite nearby where you can get information about the local attractions. Local train/bus tickets for Geneva were provided by the hotel during the period of stay (this is done by all hotels in Geneva).
The good points -The room was moderately spacious with a decor comprising of glass and hidden LED lights. Very futuristic design.
The not-so good points - Two single beds had been combined to make a queen size bed. Not very comfortable. The reception staff were pretty sad looking people.
Overall not a bad place to stay for short visits.

Room Tip: The rooms at higher floors provide a little view of the Swiss Alps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBhaumik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#14 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
James-Fazy
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#28 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
Cornavin Hotel Geneva
Cornavin Hotel Geneva
#34 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Cornavin
International et Terminus
International et Terminus
#55 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristal Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristal Design

Property: Hotel Cristal Design
Address: rue Pradier 4, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cristal Design 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Four-story Hotel located 50 meters from train station & 5 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cristal Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristal Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing