We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Spartan Hotel I Have Ever Stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cristal Design
Ranked #49 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

So stayed for 7 long days in this high budget, low value hotel. One of my worst experiences ever. While the bed itself was OK, numerous other aspects rank it low.

Wifi spotty day to day
Hard floors in the bedroom
No pictures or decorations
Paper thin pillows
Paper thin towels
Key has hotel name and room number
Front desk asks for no ID when giving out a key

All this might have been OK at say 75-100 SF a night, my average though was 250-270, with some nights over 300 SF.

IN SHORT, AVOID

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank MacJoeFQV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

Booked a last minute getaway treat for me and my partner to Geneva for 1 night. Chose this hotel as price was reasonable and very central location. Arrived early and dropped the bags off, the young man on reception spoke very good English was efficient but lacked any welcome or friendliness - may be a Swiss trait but did not make us feel like a valued customer. Dropped bags in reception and went off round Geneva. Upon return the same staff member gave us our key and we took our bags to the room. The room itself was great and very well laid out and comfortable. Quite a quirky layout with the bathroom but worked well and looked very clean modern and stylish. Great size shower (no bath but not a problem) and nice toiletries. Comfortable beds with big fluffy duvets and plenty of space. The only sign of it being a renovated property is the walls, they are a rough artex type wall which hurt when you brush against them apart from that its a great revamp. On check out the next day it was the same man on reception who was efficient but lack warmth and friendliness. I would definitely stay here again but the staff need to have a couple of lessons at charm school to make this the perfect package.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tezzatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Ok location, room small but clean and comfortable, great breakfast on the top floor overlooking roofs and mountains, but the best was the staff particularly in reception, very kind, professional and helpful. Thank you to everyone for a nice stay :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Javier E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Located just a few steps away from the Cornavin train station, makes it a perfect choice to stay in Geneva. The main attractions of the city, i.e. the lake and the old town are within walking distance. The hotel provided a complimentary public transportion card that you can use during your stay in Geneva, and you can also use it for the train ride to the Geneva airport.
You can find many restaurants/cafes around the hotel, there was also a supermarket nearby.
The room design is very modern and efficiently use the small space. What I liked most about the room is that it has a lot of power sockets, great for when you need to charge all your electronic gadgets and baterries at the same time.
Breakfast was served at the top floor, menu was quite standard, included all the basic such as a few choices of bread, jam, cheese, yoghurt, fresh fruit and eggs. A coffee machine serving cappuccino, latte or hot choccolate drinks was also provided in the breakfast room.
All and all, I would say this is a very sensible hotel to choose when you need a place to base yourself in Geneva. Would very likely to stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Senri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This hotel has very nice rooms in an excellent location (literally 100 mts from the train station). Because the hotel is in a road that is away from the station it is reasonably quiet considering where it is. Since it is close to the train station, you are perfectly located for public transport (the hotel will give you a free pass to use it). Gare Cornavin is the hub for public transport in Geneva.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I walked out of the station and walked directly to this place, luckily they had a room. For 130 CF, I was surprised how nice the room was, it is super clean, roomy, great bathroom, and modern. Location is excellent, right by central train station AND it is quite! I am a very light sleeper and didn't hear anything.
The front desk very super friendly and were fluent in English which was great for me :)
I highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Geneva.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellover034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Location great for train station, so very easy to or from airport or for travel within Switzerland. Room an ok size with a good comfortable bed, the sink in the entrance area not a great idea as floor can get wet, but means that bathroom smaller and bedroom bigger I suppose.
Quite a nicely designed room, if not very comfortable to sit in, but no big issue.
All staff friendly and helpful, but didn't really have any reason to interact more than just checking in and out. Breakfast not included and not cheap, but nothing seems to be in Geneva and was a good continental spread with good choice.
Overall perfectly good hotel and great for train station within easy walking distance of the old city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donjmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 109 in Geneva
268 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#39 of 109 in Geneva
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#30 of 109 in Geneva
511 reviews
James-Fazy
Cornavin Hotel Geneva
Cornavin Hotel Geneva
#38 of 109 in Geneva
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristal Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristal Design

Address: rue Pradier 4, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: £92 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cristal Design 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Four-story Hotel located 50 meters from train station & 5 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cristal Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristal Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing