We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything is Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cornavin Hotel Geneva
Ranked #34 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Egypt
Level Contributor
65 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Everything is Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

This hotel is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in when on budget. I was arriving by train so I needed a place close to the station & this hotel couldn't be closer, its just next to the station entrance. The hotel is on a wide street with a major tram & bus stop infront of it, but I didn't use them as the hotel is only a short 4-5 min walk to the lake & 8-9 min to the shopping streets & the old town. The hotel reception is modern & clean with very helpful staff.
I was staying with a friend so booked a double room & since this hotel was cheap I expected a small room, but I couldn't be more mistaken. We got a room on the 3rd floor facing the main street & it was huge with 2 twin beds, fridge, tea/coffee making machine, a TV with nice selection of channels, a safe, a big desk & a large window. The room was spotlessly clean, the beds were comfy & everything worked very well. Also, although the room faced the main street we didn't have any issues with the street noise. The bathroom/shower was very clean & spacious and evrything worked well & the waterflow in the shower was excellent.
I would definatly return to this hotel again if I'm in Geneve & would recommend it to anyone looking for a cheap, clean hotel with a very good location.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mobz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    387
    168
    51
    38
See reviews for
120
177
68
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

I stayed in this hotel for one night in a single room on a group tour. The first thing that struck me was the rather unusual, modernist, if not high-tech, look of the room. The sink was right in the room, and the toilet and shower stall were separated from the rest of the room by a thin matte glass wall with a single sliding door. I guess, it makes sense, in a single room the person can be either in the toilet or in the shower! This left me wondering, however, how a double room looks like in this hotel. In a double room, I suppose a better _insulation_ of the bathroom would be nice!

The high-tech-looking bed was comfortable enough, there was a nice flat screen TV and tea-making facilities. WiFi access was incredibly expensive, something like 21 CHF for your entire stay, and as I was there for 1 night only, it didn't make any sense.

I was afraid that due to proximity to the train station it would be noisy at night, but in fact I heard no notices from the station whatsoever, however the hotel was not very quiet, some guests were leaving or arriving through the night.

The breakfast is served in a panoramic view room at the top floor, but you don't see much from that location and the breakfast itself was underwhelming, no hot food. You can view the famous clock of the hotel, however, with its pendulum extending all the way from the 8th to the ground floor. Officially the longest clock pendulum in the world.

Location is next to train station, which means convenient transportation and within 15 minute walk from the city center. I was given a free public transport card for the duration of my stay; supposedly, it is the policy in Geneva to supply such cards to all guests of all hotels. Public transportation in Geneva is excellent, and it's easy to get around.

I'm giving this hotel 4 stars for the cool room design, though I am not sure how convenient it would have been if I stayed longer that 1 night; I also hoped for a better breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, wv
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Just walk out of the train station and look to your right and you'll see Cornavin Hotel. It is clean, comfortable and has a great breakfast room with good breakfast and a great view while you eat your delicious chocolate croissant and drink a great cup of coffee.

Room Tip: Hard to find a cheap place to eat but everything in Geneva is expensive!! Shops across the street a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vidulichm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

I have stayed here before and i remember it was the 5th floor. The room was great and nice and warm. This time we stayed for 3 nights end of November. The room was located on the 8th floor by the breakfast room. Odd setting.... for 2 people, who want to be cosy together, the bed was a nightmare...its really 2 beds put together.... hated it!

A plus is that the view was nice. Room is big, however, it was cold when i stayed there....hope the heating was fixed. There was a not so nice receptionnist that i dealt with once....i just avoided her during the rest of my stay. otherwise, everything else was nice. it is right next to the train station, so conveniet for those who come in late or travel very early by train. The Paquis area is not so far away. You are close to all the shops...you can walk to the lake from here and the hotel gives you a travel card that can be used on all public transportation: busses, trams and most CGN boats..

Room Tip: In summer i think i would choose a panoromic room on 8th floor as the view is really nice from here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NubianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

Given the fact that most hotels next to central railway stations are a bit ugly, this one stands out because it is respectable and safe for a female guest travelling alone, and the rooms are surprisingly modern, though spartan. Two steps away from Cornavin train station, which means a short train trip away from Geneva airport (it takes about 5-6 minutes by train).

I spent a night there while on a business trip to Geneva, and would stay there again given the chance, because it was the only reasonably priced hotel in the area (i.e. under 150 CHF per night when I went).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elan_Switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Is the title enough to draw you in? If so, read on! This was the most single awful hotel of my entire stay in Geneva. We drove to the property and the area near the hotel is under construction. This made it extremely difficult to park near the hotel to drop someone off. The property sits next to the rail station. If you're looking for proximity to mass transit, this is for you. Otherwise, it is kinda loud.

Upon checkin, the rude agent at the desk couldn't have made it more obvious he was annoyed to have to speak English. He advised us that he did not have a reservation for us. Even after we provided him papers from their hotel confirming the reservation, he continued to argue with us. He later realized that he had a typo and checked us in - with no apologies.

The room was adequate, but it wasn't anything to write home to mom about. There was no complimentary Wi-Fi, so I had to walk across the street to McDonald's to use theirs. The walls were paper thin, so I can hear the couple in the next room getting better acquainted with one another.

Room Tip: If you have a rental car, park it in the train station parking garage next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tlabranche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

The hotel is next to the railway station, so one cannot have high expectations. It will not capture your heart forever, that is for sure, but given the high room rates in Geneva, this hotel is a good compromise.

Pros:
- The breakfast is relatively good, and it is served on the top floor with great view over the city (and the rail tracks, of course)
- It is close to the railway station, therefore no taxi is needed from and to the Airport
- All major bus and tram lines meet there
- It is clean
- In 5 minutes you can reach the lake
- It is famous for being in the Tintin episode "L'Affaire Tournesol" (there is a statue of Tintin at the entrance)

Cons:
- It is pretty soulless
- Wifi costs a fortune, don't bother
- The railway station area hosts a large number of drug dealers and other shady crowd
- The view of the rail tracks from my room was pretty depressing


- It

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donor_kebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Warwick Geneva
#31 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#14 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Hotel Cristal Design
#42 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#28 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornavin Hotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornavin Hotel Geneva

Property: Cornavin Hotel Geneva
Address: boulevard James- Fazy 23 | Gare de Cornavin, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > James-Fazy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornavin Hotel Geneva 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cornavin Hotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneva Cornavin Hotel
Hotel Cornavin Geneva
Cornavin Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing