We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Optimizing location, space, comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cornavin Hotel Geneva
Ranked #38 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Geneva is an expensive place, and there are many hotels with rooms you could hardly turn around in. Having tried several over the years, I've been returning to Cornavin Hotel. the room are good sized. Simple, clean lines, functional, with comfortable mattresses. Sizes vary, but all work well for single business travelers, especially the long desk space. Breakfast room has a great view, and reasonable if no frills offerings. Large foyer with lots of seating allows for different groups to congregate and meet in varying spaces. Step outside, and you can cross the street into the train station, or the bus stop for several major routes, including the international organizations, the botanical gardens, or the main shopping district. A couple of blocks away, you are into the restaurants of Les Pacquis area. In the other directions would be Manor, the dept store. The lake is also just a short stroll away. But above all else, it feels nice not to be cramped.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivian2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (822)
There are newer reviews for Cornavin Hotel Geneva
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 822 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

This hotel was recommended to us for its location which was ideal for us. It is directly across the road from Cornavin Station which in turn is just five minutes by train to the airport. We needed to take a bus the next morning and there are a number of bus and tram stops right outside. Although our room overlooked the railway station it was very quiet. The room was clean, perfectly comfortable and had all the facilities one could reasonably expect of a 4 star hotel. As others have pointed out, Geneva is an expensive city and we thought the hotel very good value. Breakfast wasn't the best and it was quite expensive but it was OK and very convenient and the view was excellent. It would be very easy to go out and have a continental breakfast at the station or in a local café. Altogether we were pleased with our stay and would stay here again if we needed to stop over in Geneva.

Room Tip: Best to ask for a room on as high a floor as possible
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jinty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel has a strange sparse 1950s feel to it. I had a very decent sized but charmless room with a view of the station's shunting yards - ideal for Swiss train spotters who want to stay in the warm. The breakfast room at the top of the hotel has superb views across Geneva to the lake, (I'm surprised that they don't seem to use it as a restaurant or bar at night) but the breakfast itself was very poor with weak coffee, industrial jam, factory cheese and some frightening looking sausages. A functional and dull hotel with little reason to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidFinch9436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Ordered thrugh Easytobook. Breakfast not included. Big clean double room CHF 144. Quit quet despite close to railway. Bus/train to/from airport just across the street. Good service.
You get card in hotel which gives you free transport within town and airport. (At airport free ticket to town). You must see CERN!! Tram take you to the doorstep. We had breakfast at Starbucks, expensive and old food.

Room Tip: Ask for room high up.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Nice hotel directly next to the Cornavin train station. Booked the room on Orbitz for about $230 USD per night. My experience booking through Orbitz is the hotels usually put you in the worst room they've got (or least popular). Ours was on the 2nd floor (even though I asked for a high floor) directly across from a train track. The windows are super insulated and quiet! You could barely hear the train even though it was about 50 yards away. I was pleasantly surprised. Comfortable, clean room, good shower, nothing fancy. This was the best value I could find for Geneva (which is a very expensive city!). Did not have breakfast. Starbucks across the street, although we still spent $35 USD for coffee and breakfast sandwiches. Drip coffee for $7.50...gulp!! Did I mention Geneva is an expensive city?

Room Tip: I assume all room windows are double paned, but you might confirm since it's right next to the t...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Hotel is located just above the Cornavin train station in downtown Geneva. Superb location and excellent service. Rooms and lobby recently renovated with impeccable taste, but no electronic keys. The old fashioned heavy keys are still being used just a reminder of the old fashioned charm.
Breakfast is plentiful and is a good value at 19 Swiss Francs with a panoramic view from the eighth floor. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms on the 8th floor. The restaurant service starts very early in the morning and m...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DVadala1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Good hotel 4 star +.First the location is excellent- right next to train station - trains every 5 minutes to airport (u get a free ticket from hotel). Despite the closeness to the station the hotel was quiet. The lake is 5 minutes walk,Good breakfast. Good wifi. The only small problems were that I never managed to figure out the heating system- I suppose ifi was really cold I would have asked- and I dont like shower in bath.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kibbutznik_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 106 in Geneva
238 reviews
James-Fazy
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#30 of 106 in Geneva
492 reviews
Hotel Cristal Design
#44 of 106 in Geneva
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warwick Geneva
#31 of 106 in Geneva
999 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#39 of 106 in Geneva
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornavin Hotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornavin Hotel Geneva

Address: boulevard James-Fazy 23 | Gare de Cornavin, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > James-Fazy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: £107 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornavin Hotel Geneva 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cornavin Hotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneva Cornavin Hotel
Hotel Cornavin Geneva
Cornavin Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing