We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cornavin Hotel Geneva
Ranked #38 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I had read from some here that the service could be cold. Not in our case. Extremely friendly check in and any enquiries were met with a smile and helpful answer. Location is excellent for those arriving by train. Literally adjacent to one of the exits from the underground passageway leading from the train station into town. We were able to walk across the bridge to central Geneva in 20 minutes or so, a pleasant, flat easy walk. The room was fine, not luxurious, but for Swiss standards we were paying a reasonable price so we did not expect a huge room. Clean and spotless, and that swinging pendulum going all the way up about 7 stories from the atrium is definitely a talking piece. A good place for anyone looking for reasonably priced, central, clean accomodations.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KincsZoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 830 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

Nice hotel next to the train station, clean, quiet and at a reasonable price. The breakfast is not bad and the stuff is polite. Next door there is a cinema complex and within 5 minutes walking there are some nice restaurants and cafés

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icomeinpeace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Cornavin is a basic 3 - 4 star hotel across from train station and central tram area which makes it super convenient. There are several similar hotels nearby, but this is the closest to the station. It has a nice lobby. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room was fairly large, (for European standards), clean and quiet. Storage and closet space was good. The bathroom was decent with a good shower. The upper floors have nice views especially the ones facing the lake. The free wifi is good.
A buffet breakfast is served on the eigth floor with large glass windows on all sides offering great views. Breakfast is decent; fruits, yougart, juices, breads, pastries, jellies, cold meats, cheeses, eggs, cereals, nuts, etc.
The hotel appears on several booking web sites so shop around.
Definitely would stay there again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RScharfer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

This was a GOOD 4 stat in the late 90s. I stayed here for the first time in ages late last year and it's still the same hard product. So the years have rolled by and the hotel is still the same. It still holds all the positives, ie clean Room and next to the train station. But with the ageing of the hotel the negatives start to stand out. It's in a dodgy area and to confirm this I was offered drugs on there door step. Also the breakfast was so so. If I'm wrong I hope the management correct me but I'm sure the buffet had powered eggs. Anyway I sound like I'm dissing this place but I'm really not. For a quick overnight near the train station it's very good . However it's not where I would stay for a few days to experience the city

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank webbstsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed several times during the past six month in Hotel Cornavin due to business reasons.

Hotel Cornavin is conveniently located just across Gare Cornavin. It has some late 70ies charme but the rooms are actually quite nice and spacious. The bed is very comfortable and the TV has more channels than you could ever imagine. I never had breakfast. There is also a little gym which looks bit outdated but has all the things you need to exercise. There is also a sauna that I never used though.

Note that some floors are renovated and the bathrooms there are very modern and nice whereas other floors have bathrooms with 70ies charme still.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a floor where the bath has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaeberli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is a straightforward, 4 star, business hotel. Despite the fact that it is right next to the station it is completely quiet - excellent Swiss insulation, no doubt. It is clearly aimed at the business traveller and is not a good choice if you are looking for the lake, shops etc. The rooms are functional but clean and reasonably equipped, except that the AC is pathetic and I would not want to be here if it was very hot weather. I agree with other reviews that the breakfast is below the standard one normally gets in a Swiss hotel (and there was no birchermuesli - unheard of!). The transport connections are great; get a free ticket for the train in from the airport then walk about 50m to the hotel. The bus station is right outside and the hotel gives you a free pass for all public transport. It is very convenient if you are in geneva for meetings at the UN or WHO etc. as there are direct bus connections. I am sure there are other similar hotels nearby but this does just fine.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank idandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

As others had said - hotels (and everything in Geneva) is expensive - but this hotel with grand location by the station, and functional, clean, rooms, seemed fair value at £110 through Hotelopia for a city hotel and it delivered as described on the whole.

It is immediately outside one of the exits from the station, though sign not obvious and you're too close to the building to see it. That said, reception good, travel card issued for complimentary local public transport - barely needed as everything is walking distance; but handy for train back to airport.

Room was fine, compact and with good view of church. great soundproofing but aircon struggled to get room cool enough - I would hate to imagine this in the summer. Bathroom good with excellent shower, toiletries etc.; unusual frosted glass bathroom wall.

Breakfast - we arrived early; breakfast room has great views, but selection was at best fair and staff did not bother to replace food as it ran out, with the exception of juices - the limited hot selection sausages / scrambled egg lay unattended and almost empty and dried up the whole time we were there. Food itself was 2/3* standard - tinned fruit; cheap looking selection.

In summary - a functional hotel; nothing to get exited about other than convenient location. Breakfast poor; but prices for food outside the hotel are high so hotel has very little need competition to make an effort here and it shows; certainly on the weekend I visited.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManxQueenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
James-Fazy
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#29 of 106 in Geneva
499 reviews
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#17 of 106 in Geneva
249 reviews
Hotel Cristal Design
#46 of 106 in Geneva
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warwick Geneva
#31 of 106 in Geneva
1,011 reviews
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 106 in Geneva
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornavin Hotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornavin Hotel Geneva

Address: boulevard James-Fazy 23 | Gare de Cornavin, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > James-Fazy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: £104 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornavin Hotel Geneva 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotelopia, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cornavin Hotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneva Cornavin Hotel
Hotel Cornavin Geneva
Cornavin Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing