We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointment” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mon Repos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mon Repos Hotel
Ranked #35 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

I stayed in this hotel in March, for 2 nights only, during the International car show (not for it, but just in this period). The prices were incredibly high. The quality - poor. The feeling - not very friendly.
The location - far from the center. The good thing - the hotel gave us the free transport passes. The tram was near.
The quality of sleep - not so good - the street is noisy.
The room was not comfortable and small, the bathroom was planned the way - all the water was on the floor after taking the shower (the non-sens plastic shower curtain didn't help). The choice of supplies in the bathroom was poor! Not even small body lotion in the cold period for this price! The shampoo and shower-liquid - 2 in one in a dispenser. The soap was like from a big-bargain-economy stores. The reminder paper about ecology and economy is clearly visible, but the light switches on automatically in the bathroom and stays on a lot after you left ("very comfortable" during the night).
The electrical outlets was numerous but some of them didn't work at all, we even thought we needed the adaptor, and we asked for two and received it. After that we discovered we didn't need it. On the check-out day, BEFORE asking us for the return of the adaptors (we brought it on the reception!), the staff just included their price 2 x 20 CHF ((!)- good price for old adaptors)) in our bill! Fortunately - we had the idea to check it!
The sense of humor of the staff impressed me (or it was probably the famous Swiss-hotelier-school traditons). - I asked - one evening - if I could have my key? The answer was very special -"No" with the smile (I haven't probably any sense of humour, but it reminded me the USSR).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EkaterinaA65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M, Assistante de Direction at Mon Repos Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your posted detailed review and sorry to hear about your remarks more than four months after your departure.
It’s very important for us to be aware of our guest opinion in order to keep on improving our service according to our guest’s needs.
For your information, our hotel is a city hotel located on a main street however our soundproof windows are very efficient to avoid this noise pollution and then allow you to enjoy the beautiful view on the park.
The city center (1.2 km) can be reached within 10 minutes by bus, using the free transportation card provided upon check-in.
Most of our rooms have shower cabins, the others have bathtub with curtains to avoid water to spread on the floor. However, we still have a few showers with curtains which should be changed soon.
The average size of the rooms corresponds to the Swiss norms for a 3-star hotel.
The management is very sensitive to the ecological ideology and we are totally involved into this process (biological cleaning products, biological food, biological guest amenities, etc...).
The automatic lighting is part of this process: it will switch off after a few minutes. We understand that it could be a problem at night; therefore the door of the bathroom can be closed.
We regret that our staff didn't register that you brought back the two adaptors during your stay and that's why the cost of them (Sfr. 15.--) was mentioned on the invoice. Hopefully this mistake has been corrected before payment on your request.
We are very surprised about your last point regarding our reception staff's behavior and would have appreciated to be informed right away to clarify this matter.
We wish you a nice summertime.
With our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    106
    34
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
36
8
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

The hotel is located very close to international organisations and walking distance to Geneva's city center, the park and the lake; bus No. 1 stops about 100 m of the hotel and takes you to the main train station Cornavin (pedestrian street, buses to many other places in the city, shops, etc.).
The hotel has been recently refurbished. I’ve stayed many times in this hotel, the last one was last week. I always rent one of the Jr. Suites that the hotel proposes. It is quite large, it has two separate areas (the working area and the bedroom with a nice balcony with a great view to the park and a bit of the lake). The room is tastefully furnished in a modern style. Very comfortable mattress and pillows, impeccable sheets and towels, and spotless as almost all Swiss hotels. WI-FI in public areas as well as in the room is free of charge. The staff is very professional, helpful, friendly and bilingual. The hotel only has a bar, it doesn’t have a restaurant, but there a five or six restaurants in the area that are quite affordable. For long stays the hotel also proposes apartments of different sizes.
All in all, I definitively recommend this hotel as I think it is a very good option in Geneva!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTraveller36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M, Assistante de Direction at Mon Repos Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks you for your nice and detailled review. This is very important to us to keep aware of our guests needs. It helps us everyday to improve our service as we keep in mind that our main goal is our guests' satisfaction.
For evening meals, our barman also proposes a menu with simple dishes such as sandwiches, salads, soups, pastas, omelets, chicken in a creamy sauce and french fries.
We look forward to welcoming you for your next visit in Geneva and thank you for your loyalty.
With our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

This hotel was fantastic for a 3 star, very friendly staff who made you feel very welcome both in the bar (where tasty food is available quickly) and at the reception. It's right next to the lake and a pretty park if you manage to find time for a wander in between meetings and on a good bus line which goes between town and others going up to the WHO, ILO, Palais des Nations etc. The rooms were without frills but very clean and some bathrooms were very recently rennovated. Only complaint was the random and very bad lighting in the bedrooms. Otherwise would highly recommend this, in particular on account of the great staff who made you feel at home.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LCOSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M, Assistante de Direction at Mon Repos Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks you for your nice and detailled review. This is very important to us in order to keep aware of our guests needs and that way improve our service everyday.
I look forward welcooming you for your next visit in Geneva.
With our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel for eight nights in total in two shorter stays, one in a double room and the other in a single. Both rooms were lovely, spotlessly clean, with pleasant decor and very modern and new fittings and furniture.
The front office staff were always friendly welcoming me back after a long day at work, and helpful, in particular suggesting great restaurants nearby.
The buffet breakfast is typical for a European hotel, but very good, and the selection changed slightly each day, so I didn't get bored even after so many days.
Location is ideal for anyone there to visit UN agencies as there is a nearby bus that goes every 15 minutes and takes 5-10 minutes to the UN, WHO, WMO etc.
The bar serves basic but adequate evening meals if you get back too late to find a restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park. You can see the water of LaKe Geneva glistening through the tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M, Assistante de Direction at Mon Repos Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Madam,
Thanks for your kind review.
We are pleased to hear that you had a nice stay with us and look forward welcoming you back in our establishment for your next visit in Geneva.
With our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We all know Geneva to be a hidewaway city-with its lush vegetation and the famous water fountain. Mon Repos is only a few minutes walk from this fountain and the great river. The breakfast is great and so are the rooms. The hotel is a walking distance from almost all International agencies, yet it s quite and homely. I never managed to have any meals other than breakfast, and although the breakfast menu has little variety, it is still an exciting place to eat and stay. Yes, being next to the road means a little noise here and there, but the rooms are quiet. The internet (available free at the lobby area only) is fast. Its architecture is appealing and what is more.....you get a free bus, train and boat ride ticket that you can use throughout your stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulnairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M, Assistante de Direction at Mon Repos Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear guest,
Thanks a lot for your nice review which is very important to us in order to keep improving our service.
For your information, the internet connection is also available for free in the rooms on the same network and with the same access codes which were given upon check-in.
We look forward welcoming you back in Mon-Repos for your next visit in Geneva.
With our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

The newly renovated Mon Repos in Geneva is a reasonably priced (rooms, anyway) alternative to some of the big name hotels. It's laid out in a French apt. style, with good-sized rooms and comfortable beds. It's situated on the 1 bus line which makes getting to the train station and center city easy, and you get a free bus pass. The free wifi was spotty at times - worked well the first two nights, but struggled my last night. Also, the bar is pricey, but that is standard in Geneva. Great Lebanese restaurant nearby.

Pros: Very close to WTO and other international organizations. Decent prices.
Cons: WiFi needs improvement, not many eating options nearby.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred_A3314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M, Assistante de Direction at Mon Repos Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear guest,
Thanks a lot for your review which is very important to us in order to keep improving our service.
We look forward welcoming you back in Mon-Repos for your next visit in Geneva.
With our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
162 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

This hotel was booked for me by my organization so I had no expectations. It turned out to be more spacious, quiet and calm than most Geneva hotels. Reception was very courteous and helpful, the hotel lobby is large and a pleasant environment to be in. My room was large with two joined very comfortable beds. There was a large desk, plenty of electrical points, free very efficient wi-fi. A small terrace looked over the park in front, The double glazed windows kept out traffic noise and the roll down blin kept out the light - two essential ingredients for a decent night's sleep. Lighting was OK, but a main room light would have been better than separate lamps. On the ceiling was the weirdest fan I have ever seen, but it worked well. The bathroom was newly fitted and perfectly good.

Slightly old fashioned having to leave the key at reception, and there were hold ups retrieving keys a couple of times because of busy reception area.

I ate in the hotel once and the food was excellent.

Location is good for central Geneva (short bus ride), reasonable for UN Palais (15 minute walk or 2 stops on bus), but not so good for other parts of Geneva which require 2 buses.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMTMRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M, Assistante de Direction at Mon Repos Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear guest,
Thanks for you kind review.
It is very important for us to be awared of our guests' opinions in order to keep on improving our services as our main goal is always our guests' satisfaction.
We are pleased to read that you had a nice stay in our establishment and hope to welcome you soon for a next visit in Geneva.
With our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Eden Hotel Geneva
#10 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Design Hotel F6
#45 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Prieuré
Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mon Repos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mon Repos Hotel

Property: Mon Repos Hotel
Address: rue de Lausanne 131, Geneva 1202, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mon Repos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 400 metres from the World Trade Organisation, this hotel enjoys a scenic location on the right banks of Lake Geneva. It offers free use of public transport in Geneva and modern rooms with free Wi-Fi.Stylish rooms decorated in a contemporary colour scheme feature at Hotel Residence Mon Repos. Each is complete with a minibar, safe, ceiling fan, flat-screen TV and beautiful views of the park.Important international organisations such as the United Nations Office and World Health Organisation (WHO) are within a 5-minute drive of the hotel. After an eventful day, unwind in Mon Repos Hotel's lounge area or book a relaxing massage.Light snacks and a selection of Geneva beers and fine wines can be enjoyed at the bar.The Mon Repos Hotel & Residence is 1 km from the Main Railway Station, which provides good connections to Geneva International Airport (5 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Mon Repos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mon Repos Swiss q Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing