We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”
Review of Mon Repos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mon Repos Hotel
Ranked #32 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I think this is a three star hotel but perhaps in many respects deserves to be 4 starts, so it is good value for money. Well located, it is clean, and functional. The room was comfortable, good bed, clean, good bathroom. Lack of ceiling light but not a big deal. I like the bar and restaurant. You can eat very well for less. The breakfast is great! And the best: the staff From reception to kitchen. Very good!

Room Tip: rooms on main road are noisy 9traffic at night)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M, Assistante de Direction at Mon Repos Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Ana,
We are very pleased to read that you enjoy staying with us and we would like to thank you for your nice review which will be shared with our staff.
We noticed your remark about the lack of light in the room and are pleased to inform you that the management works at present on a new project of lighting for rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you for your next visit in Geneva.
With our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    113
    34
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
37
8
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I have been staying in the Mon Repos several times over the last 15 years and was always happy with the accommodation, the service and the food. While the restaurant has ceased to exist for a couple of years, the breakfast remains great and varied. The rooms have been entirely renovated and are stylish. The location is not only practical for those of us that go to UN meetings but, right in front, you can stroll through the park to the banks of Lake Geneva with nice views of the old town and the mountains.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony look out over the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jozef B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M, Assistante de Direction at Mon Repos Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to read that you enjoy staying with us since many years and we would like to thank you for your nice review and your loyalty.
Our priority is our guests's satisfaction, that's why it's very important for us to get your opinion and feeling about our establishment in order to keep on improving our services and be ready to welcome you back as at home.
We look forward to seeing you for your next visit in Geneva.
With our kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Ideal for anyone staying for UN meetings (as I was) and can afford it. I usually stay in the slightly run-down hotels near the railway station, but ponied up the difference for Mon Repos and it was worth it - clean, modern, stylish, and still friendly, helpful and good service. The breakfast is very good though very expensive - at least you have the choice and there is a little cafe up the road for a more modest breakfast!

Room Tip: In winter it doesn't matter (can't hear the traffic anyway)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcwcBaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M, Assistante de Direction at Mon Repos Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with and would like to thank you for your nice review.
We hope to welcome you back for your next visit in Geneva.
With our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aruba
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

While the words quaint and modern might be a contradiction in terms, this hotel embodies that. It is an old building but with the renovations made to the interior and its decor, Mon Repos is quite the charming little hotel.

It's location is okay. It is mid-way short-walking distance to two different bus stops that take you 1- to the Palais des Nations, International Labour Organization and Human Rights building and 2- to the city center to get to restaurants, shops, park and movie theaters etc. Although, you could easily walk to either of these areas (10 min.)

The hotel serves breakfast at a price. The breakfast consists of a variety of cold cuts (cheeses and meats); breads, croissants and crackers; a hot buffet of scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage; cereals; limited assortment of fresh fruits; yoghurt; juices, coffee and tea. You will not get special milks like soy milk or rice milk. Or waffle maker, pancakes etc. Breakfast was good, convenient and for my purposes quite complete. Of course you could get a much less expensive alternative elsewhere. But then again, you pay for the convenience. I didn't have the opportunity to try the in-house restaurant for dinner.

The completely renovated rooms are very nice and modern. With sensor lights in the bathroom, you might find yourself in the dark when taking a shower/bath though. The rooms are equipped with a safe to keep your valuables - a definite plus! Traffic by the hotel is quite heavy during the day but at night, I can sleep with the balcony door open ... and I'm a light sleeper. However, don't count on sleeping in because the traffic will start relatively early. Nevertheless, I wouldn't want an internal room since you don't have much of a view or privacy since you're back-to-back with the residential building behind the hotel.

If you don't speak French, Italian or German, don't count on watching much tv in the room besides the news on CNN or BBC. Luckily there's free wi-fi.

The staff is friendly, speak a variety of languages and is very helpful.

I'd rebook at Mon Repos in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheers297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M, Assitante de Direction at Mon Repos Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with and would like to thank you for your nice and detailled review.
For your information, if you have a special diet, lactose or gluten intolerance, we can adapt our offer, on request, and provided soy milk or gluten free products. We invit you to mention it on your reservation request.
We look forward to seeing you for your next visit in Geneva.
With our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This is my second time staying at this hotel and it won't be my last. The location is perfect for meetings at the UN and nearby agencies. The service is professional and friendly but not intrusive. Rooms are comfortable and super clean. This is a small hotel and guest may have to go out to eat but the hotel made really good recommendations, some of which are walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmoJege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M, Assistante de Direction at Mon Repos Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with and would like to thank you for your nice review and your loyalty.
We look forward to seeing you for your next visit in Geneva.
With our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rome
Level Contributor
278 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

very nice hotel and excellent service, in a very good location and close to the park in front of the lake.
Bit noisy the room on the side of the main road. Ask for internal ones.
The petit restaurant is very good with the chef nice and ready to satisfy your requests.

Room Tip: inner are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motozak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M, Assistante de Direction at Mon Repos Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your nice review.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our establishment, and look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit in Geneva.
With our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lafayette
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Overall, the hotel is not too bad.
I know Geneva is never so hot that you need A/c, but this time it was. We would have done better with A/C. Bathroom had some issues including water leaking from the shower, but they took so long to fix- I don't even know if it was actually fixed indeed.
They don't send a free shuttle to the airport - the one they arrange through a third-party is more expensive than taxis if you have more than one person and charge even for a two-year old.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badri80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M, Assistante de Direction at Mon Repos Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review.
It's important for us to collect our guests's feeling and expectations in order to improve our service and offer a service as good as possible.
We hope to welcome you back for a next visit in Geneva.
With our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Eden Hotel Geneva
#11 of 105 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 105 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Design Hotel F6
#46 of 105 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Prieuré
Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mon Repos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mon Repos Hotel

Property: Mon Repos Hotel
Address: rue de Lausanne 131, Geneva 1202, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mon Repos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 400 metres from the World Trade Organisation, this hotel enjoys a scenic location on the right banks of Lake Geneva. It offers free use of public transport in Geneva and modern rooms with free Wi-Fi.Stylish rooms decorated in a contemporary colour scheme feature at Hotel Residence Mon Repos. Each is complete with a minibar, safe, ceiling fan, flat-screen TV and beautiful views of the park.Important international organisations such as the United Nations Office and World Health Organisation (WHO) are within a 5-minute drive of the hotel. After an eventful day, unwind in Mon Repos Hotel's lounge area or book a relaxing massage.Light snacks and a selection of Geneva beers and fine wines can be enjoyed at the bar.The Mon Repos Hotel & Residence is 1 km from the Main Railway Station, which provides good connections to Geneva International Airport (5 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mon Repos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mon Repos Swiss q Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing