We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva
Ranked #30 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

There are lots of hotels in Geneva and we were pleasantly surprised with this one. In the area where lots of the hotels are. Short walk from lake and old town. Clean, friendly, nice rooms. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OliviaCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and would be happy to welcome you back for your next trip to Geneva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

436 - 442 of 867 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

During my recent stay in Geneva I stayed at the Hotel Royal. I am pleased to write that my stay during this time was easy going and comfortable.

The rooms are perfectly equipped d beautifully decorated. The location is ideal as the tram stops at the hotels door step. It isnt far from the train station and the airport. ( the hotel provides guests with transport cards aswell). This hotel has is a good base if you are looking to shop as it isn't far from the main shopping street, and is surrounded by supermarkets,shops and restaurants.

The hotel has many facilities. The gym was small but sufficiently equipped. The hotel also offers a sauna and steam room.

The staff at the hotel are particularly welcoming. Front office gave us perfect suggestions for a site seeing boat trip, and a fun filled evening at their fellow hotel. They are very welcoming and quick to provide service when asked.

Room service was amazing. We received our orders in a timely fashion. Warm and served beautifully. Supper at Le duo restaurant ( in the hotel) has a wonderful menu to choose from. I particularly enjoyed the desserts.

My only complaint would be the breakfast area. We were slightly rushed before the closing time. But overall I am very pleased to say that i will be returning to this hotel during my next visit to Geneva. I certainly will be recommending this hotel to fellow travelers .

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Thank you for your good feeback. We will share to with our staff. Glad you enjoyed the Duo Restaurant and Executive Chef Armel Bedouet Specialities. Looking forward to welcome you next time you come to Geneva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We were a school group who came in April from Bahrain... We found the hotel through Trip Advisor and it was our first trip to Switzerland. We had a fabulous time in the Hotel. The reception desk were very helpful and did not take much time to arrange for our students their room. They took our request and all our rooms were close together. The breakfast was large with a variety of selection. The hotel's location makes it the most distinguished feature in the Hotel. The train station and lake were very close. The bus stop is also in front of the hotel. Previous reviewers complained about the train noise but we were out all day and by night time we were all tired and the sound of the trains did not affect us.

The rooms were always nice and clean :) and the hotel staff were always smiling and helpful. We will for sure book the Hotel in our next year's visit!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aisha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

We thank you for your great feedback. We will forward it to our staff. We woudl be very happy to welcome you next year in our hotel Royal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

Fantastic rooms, very friendly personnel, everything was perfect. Bathrooms are large, clean and full of equipments. Though it took us like 15 min to get to the center. Would recommend hotel for everybody. Especially for the couples with children

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Insies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Thank you for your brilliant comment and recommandation. Looking forward to welcome you back for your next trip to Geneva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

In this hotel, unlike so many others, since you step in until you finally step out, they make you feel you are there only for the money you pay.
It is an “industrially” run place, as opposed to “family run” concepts. As a result, many small and bigger things are overlooked by the management, some items, like carpets in the corridor and taps in the bathrooms, need to be replaced long ago etc. You are much better off in three star “Kipling Hotel”, belonging to the same Manotel Group, located just around the corner!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David19777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dblanc, E-Business at Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Thank you for your comment. Every feedback is precious to us as it gives opportunity for improvement. Glad you enjoy the Kipling and Manotel Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Within walking distance from the Cornavin (Railway Station). Fabulous reception and lift to rooms. Breakfast hot and cold options. Well run hotel, staff helpful.

Only downside is that you hear the trains going past at all hours, and air con very noisy and not very good - but standard of hotel makes up for this. We were upgraded to a small suit on the 4th floor. Lovely art work and curtains around bed style. Very nice indeed.

Room Tip: Try and get an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLE21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Thank you for your nice comment and looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel Royal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I was very disappointed with Manotel Royal:

- rooms are small, furniture is old (at least in back building), noise from nearby railways, one iron and iron board for the whole building located on the second floor;
- staff is not helpful: whatever you ask them they don't know and try to make a problem go away (sending you from your room downstairs for a bottle opener or a glass;
- their systems designed to overcharge you: I was unfortunate to order taxi from reception which tried to charge 3 times more than quoted at reception price;

Still good and makes nice breakfast, but you can't escape the feeling that you are on low-cost flight where they make money on extras.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pavel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Thank you for your comment, all feedback is important to us as it gives a reflexion of our guest’s impression and open opportunities for improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#15 of 106 in Geneva
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 106 in Geneva
1,012 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
750 reviews
Warwick Geneva
#31 of 106 in Geneva
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva

Address: rue de Lausanne 41-43, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: £111 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva 4.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contrasting combination of heritage and innovation distinguish this traditional hotel. Inspired by a neoclassical architectural style the Hotel Royal offers a cocoon of homely warmth, voluptuous comfort and accessible luxury. Located in the City centre, close to the train station and between the lake and the United Nations. Discover our rooms, from Classic to the Suites. You can enjoy our complimentary services (2 business corners, fitness center, WiFi and Internet connection). We give you also a free public transportation card during all your stay. A parking lot is available. All your wishes will be satisfied in our hotel thanks to our Bogie's bar and our restaurant Le Duo, with its two side, Coté Bistro and Coté Resto (16/20 Gault&Millau) are also available for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manotel Royal Geneva
Manotel Royal Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing