We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect except for location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva
Ranked #28 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
622 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Perfect except for location”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I decided to stay at a different hotel in Geneva this time and chose Hotel Royal primarily for its reasonable price (for Geneva). I had a very good stay: comfy, clean and modern room. Fantastic staff and a wonderful breakfast buffet. The hotel management is very thoughtful and offers guests little presents such as a box of swiss chocolates as well as a bus card! The location isn't ideal, squeezed between the train station and le paquis (a bit sketchy at night) but Geneva is very small and more interesting places are within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dblanc, E-business Manager at Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Thank you for your great comment. We will pass it on to our staff. We would all be very happy to welcome you back for your next trip to Geneva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    391
    161
    46
    13
See reviews for
171
226
34
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rostov-on-Don, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2013

First time we stayed at this hotel in 2011 in November. We were going to attend the conference and we were looking for the convenient hotel close to event. So, Manotal Royal was our ideal choice because of many reasons: because of its perfect service, because it is in the centre of town, because we had a possibility to move on trains and buses absolutely free (hotel gave us special card). And of course, their breakfasts are so delicious! Therefore when in November 2012 we made a decision to attend the next conference, we didn't have any other ideas - just Manotel! I'd like to thank the stuff for our perfect 4 days.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alla Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dblanc, E-business Manager at Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Thank you for your great comment and looking forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Stayed one night, that was enough. The room was o.k. for the price but there was no way to adjust the temperature which was in the eighties. I know I'm nearly 70 but I don't need the same sort of temperature as an old peoples home even though there was snow outside! I put the thermostat to 0 and still it was too dam hot. Instructions in the room state not to open the window but we had to just to reduce the heat. Then the noise from outside was unbearable with the passing trams and people shouting. didn't sleep a wink, drank 4 bottles of water sweating like a pig and then got charged nealy £5 for 2 very small bottles of water from the not too cold fridge! Meals were expensive but good I thought £15 for 125cl of wine expensive! If I win the Euro lottery will go back and complain. The staff were exellant and I took a free apple from the foyer as compensation!

Room Tip: Don't have a roon near the road!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnglandFattyarbuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Stayed at this hotel for about a week, and reading other tripadvisor reviews helped me to get a very good room: I followed the advice of other travellers and asked for an upgrade which was kindly given and got a room on the 6th floor facing the courtyard, nice and quiet. Excellent service at the reception from everyone, particularly Rossella at the front desk and Romain at the bistro'. Good and quick service with a smile. Got a very good rate for the hotel, around EUR 140 per night. Checkout was quick and precise. I even liked the food in the Bistro while I am normally not keen on hotel food. Good location, walking distance from the main train station (gare cornavin) which is about 5 minutes' walk. Tram stop is just outside. 4 stars all very well deserved.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank butterfly3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights from New Year Eve. Excellent facilities and very helpful staff. First night room was on second floor a little noisy from trains but acceptable being so close to station. It rained in the night and the noise was horrendous as it fell off the roof onto window ledge. Phoned reception at 4am but thankfully rain did eventually stop. Moved to fourth floor for second night and had a great nights sleep. Rooms very comfortable good wifi and clean and tidy. Didn't use the restaurant and opted for breakfast out. A little expensive but plenty of other options. Can walk to station or use tram from outside hotel just one stop and free with hotel travel pass. Would use again but avoid second floor.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Harris0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

A well appointed hotel one tram stop from the station and thus the excellent local transport system. The reception staff were very efficient and helpful throughout our stay. Our room was very comfortable with all facilities one would expect. We dined in the Bistro and while we found the food to be of a high standard it would be repetative if you were staying more than a few nights.

Room Tip: We has a room to the rear so there was no noise from outside to disturb us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

The hotel was very nice. Our room was great! It was a suite. So we had a king size bed, a sofa bed, a kitchenette, an expresso maker, and a mini bar. Sometimes we had to ask for more coffee. They didn't charge for it but didn't always replenish. The entire staff was very helpfull and polite, and everyone at the front desk spoke English.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 105 in Geneva
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 105 in Geneva
724 reviews
Warwick Geneva
#31 of 105 in Geneva
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva

Property: Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva
Address: rue de Lausanne 41-43, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva 4.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contrasting combination of heritage and innovation distinguish this traditional hotel. Inspired by a neoclassical architectural style the Hotel Royal offers a cocoon of homely warmth, voluptuous comfort and accessible luxury. Located in the City centre, close to the train station and between the lake and the United Nations. Discover our rooms, from Classic to the Suites. You can enjoy our complimentary services (2 business corners, fitness center, WiFi and Internet connection). We give you also a free public transportation card during all your stay. A parking lot is available. All your wishes will be satisfied in our hotel thanks to our Bogie's bar and our restaurant Le Duo, with its two side, Coté Bistro and Coté Resto (16/20 Gault&Millau) are also available for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manotel Royal Geneva
Manotel Royal Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing