We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva
Ranked #29 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Great service, brilliant location and lovely room (superior). Free wi-fi. Worth pointing out that it's a 1 tram stop from the central train station, or a 5 minute walk (this was difficult with luggage and skis etc) but grateful that we knew we could get a tram back to the station on return!

Superior room is large and luxurious with all the little luxuries like bath robes etc. nespresso coffee maker very much appreciated. Location is great near lots of cafes and restaurants. Right next to tram stop which makes transportation easy.

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay here

Room Tip: Superior room is luxurious
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 331 of 863 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

Centrally located, this hotel's main benefit is that is houses one of the best restaurants in Geneva. It is small and less know, one needs to book - try the 'suprise' menu. they also have a great wine list. Friendly service and good breakfast, the hotel is an ideal base for any business visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeesF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

All in all, a nice hotel with spacious rooms and new facilities, a charming restaurant and good breakfast at a cost slightly lower than overall in Geneva. The main attractions and some popular Geneva restaurants and bars are within a walking distance, however, the nearby streets are not so nice, especially late in the evening. The only major disadvantage I would name is the noise coming from the train station; bur although the hotel met all our needs, I personally missed some individuality in it's design or atmosphere, but certainly it's just a matter of taste.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarinaRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed at the Royal for 2 nights. Looked at many hotels -was searching for a room with two double beds; so we could accommodate our teenager in same room. Most places had only one double bed or two singles. The Royal had a sofa bed in their "superior" room, so we booked that on their website. Our room was on the 4th floor facing the street.

Liked: We arrived at 9am from airport; hotel stored our bags while we went off to explore CERN. The Wifi free and worked great; TV had many channels in english, Rooms size was comfortable, large, clean bathroom, apples at reception, Able to walk everywhere and close to train station. A few of the other reviews mentioned "red light" district or this somehow being a less desirable part of town, we experience nothing of the sort. Also liked the free transport passes (although this must be all on the honor system as we were never asked to show on the train or trams)

Possible improvements hotel could make: The room did have a bit of an odor (from smokers in days gone by?) Maybe pump in some fresh smells like the A-Loft hotels? The pillows were horrible, it was a bit warm in the room (even in December!), but we could not keep the windows open overnight due to the street noise. My son noted the sofa bed was not comfortable, and every time he moved we'd hear the springs.

Overall not bad, was nice to be able to 'roll' the luggage down the street to the train station to head back to the airport. Loved Geneva (every other shop either a watch shop, chocolate or pastries - YUM!)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The hotel is very closed to the Genf railway station. We stayed for 2 nights (couple trip) and we enjoyed it. The hotel is not fresh new but confortable enough. Proper and ok.
The area is not perfect as closed to the station and not really swiss in terms of cleaning and people living nearby... though city center is 15 min walking.
I would suggest it for a brief trip (couples as well as families)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gheghina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Geneva is an expensive place, no doubt. In Geneva, it is tough to find good hotels. Royal is a nice hotel with good rooms. Location as such is not great. However, there is a tram station Mole right in front which makes it very convenient. The hotel gave us a free travel pass for all the days we stayed there. Not sure if this is done always.

Positives:
Rooms are reasonably big. Bathrooms are nice and very well organised. Tram station is nearby

Negatives:
Since this is right behind the railway lines, you do hear the noise from trains occasionally. This was not such a big drawback for us. Neighbourhood was not the greatest, being close to the railway station.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without railway noise.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DNPRAHLAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I stayed here very briefly for a business trip. The hotel was fine. The room was clean, but small and overlooked the roof of another building. There was a tiny kitchenette locked up behind a door, but the door was broken so it sagged open and blocked the entry a bit. The bed was comfortable and the white marble bathroom and shower were lovely.

It served the purpose for a few hours sleep before an early flight, but the location is also not a very safe one so be cautious after dark.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 106 in Geneva
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 106 in Geneva
969 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
738 reviews
Tiffany Hotel
#25 of 106 in Geneva
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva

Address: rue de Lausanne 41-43, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: £112 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva 4.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contrasting combination of heritage and innovation distinguish this traditional hotel. Inspired by a neoclassical architectural style the Hotel Royal offers a cocoon of homely warmth, voluptuous comfort and accessible luxury. Located in the City centre, close to the train station and between the lake and the United Nations. Discover our rooms, from Classic to the Suites. You can enjoy our complimentary services (2 business corners, fitness center, WiFi and Internet connection). We give you also a free public transportation card during all your stay. A parking lot is available. All your wishes will be satisfied in our hotel thanks to our Bogie's bar and our restaurant Le Duo, with its two side, Coté Bistro and Coté Resto (16/20 Gault&Millau) are also available for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manotel Royal Geneva
Manotel Royal Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing