We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won’t change your life but no major complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
International et Terminus
Ranked #54 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Won’t change your life but no major complaints”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

With hotels in Geneva, the rule is that you need to take what you can get. Hotels are almost without exception outrageously expensive, and everything fills up months in advance regardless of the time of year. (By the way, this is not just the case with hotels; there is a permanent housing crisis in Geneva, thanks to greed, corruption, and government ineptitude – so Swiss residents of Geneva are also desperate for accommodation.) I was looking for hotels almost three months before my business trip, and it was already not easy. Fortunately, this hotel had a very reasonable rate, so I jumped at it. I stayed for six nights and had a good experience at the place – there’s nothing really outstanding about it but it does the job, and I would stay there again.

The hotel is located very conveniently, right across the street from the station and all the public transport. A little bit more into the side streets and it can get a bit seedy, but this hotel is on the corner of the main road and the atmosphere is perfectly fine. The rooms were definitely a bit cramped, and even a bit dark. Pictures on the barren walls would have been nice too. The ventilation was also not so great (a typical problem in Swiss houses); there wasn’t any air con, just a dinky little fan on the desk, so it might be unpleasant in the summer, when it can get humid and sticky in Geneva. But the rooms were very clean and were functional enough, and the windows were properly double glazed, meaning that despite being on the first floor I was not bothered by the traffic. The price was right, and, like I said, in Geneva you have to take what you can get. The wifi worked fine, and there was even a small fitness room with good machines – no complaints. Even the service was surprisingly good.

One thing I was not happy about was the breakfast buffet, which was a little bit crummy. There were 100 different types of bread / pastries and a very small selection of other things. If you wanted eggs, there was a basket with raw eggs and a machine with boiling water. Basically you had to put your egg in and boil it yourself; there wasn’t even a timer on the machine so you had to use your own watch. I know eating eggs for breakfast is sort of an Anglo Saxon thing, but most hotels I have been to in Europe at least go to the trouble of boiling eggs for the guests. But I lived to tell the tale so this was not such a major thing for me.

Perhaps more of an issue is that there were no peepholes or chains on the doors of the rooms. This struck me as very odd – there is much more property crime in Geneva than most people think (don’t be fooled by the façade of perfection), and for a hotel in the middle of an urban area, peepholes would seem kind of obvious. I’m quite surprised that this is not a requirement on the part of the Swiss Tourism Association, or whatever regulatory body is supposed to categorise hotels in the country. A couple of times people mixed up my room with the room next to it and knocked on my door – completely harmless, but I felt a little bit insecure opening the door without having any idea of who was on the other side. Still, this was not a major issue, and I would stay in the hotel again – though maybe not in the summer.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_green_line
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    117
    77
    19
    7
See reviews for
59
60
27
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

The location was perfect. The staff were nice and helpfull and the breakfast was very good.
The room was small but I didn't look for a bigger one.
It was not cheap but I think it was fair.
Around the hotel you'll find everything. Clubs, shops, restaurantes, transports and everything else.
It's great to have a big train station in 5 minutes.
You can also reach to the lake in less than 10min.
The city has a small offer of culture and it's not good for tourism lots of shops close on sundays.

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank PedroCarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed here at the end of our vacation in Switzerland to be near the train station and airport. The location is good, but the rooms are VERY disappointing. The room was small, sad and uncomfortable. You definitely wouldn't want to be in the room any more than absolutely necessary. The staff was fine, but not overly friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim00018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

The central location sold this hotel to us, but it could have been so much better. The reception staff were efficient but unfriendly and the hotel was soulless. The breakfast was ok, plenty of it, room was large enough and clean - no frills. And a double room has two single beds pushed together which isn't great when you're on a romantic break.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesmagsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stayed her on business for the location (beside the train station). I was disappointed by the rooms - they were drab and small, no duvets, outdated bathrooms - I wouldn't want to spend much time there. Service was great, however.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobble Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

The hotel was quite basic, I had a modest upgrade to the top floor and I gather a slightly larger room. Interesting ceiling beams, watch your head. I had good front desk service and the buffet breakfast is standard European and good. Location close to Cornivan Station and central. Like everything else in Geneva is quite expensive for what you get. But on par with most hotels in the city. I would rate it as a 3 star. Has a modest gym with 3 pieces of equipment. I was the only person that used it during my five day stay which cost me about 1600 SF.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012 via mobile

To be clear, I didn't stay at this hotel - but this is an experience had while trying to meet a friend who did that says a lot about its service standard.
I was trying to contact a friend who was staying at this hotel and was telephoning her through reception. Unbeknown to me and my friend, the telephone in her room was broken, so every time I called, I was told she was on the line. This was over an one hour period. Eventually I asked if I could leave a message and the reply was "sir, I already have 40 message for Madame, I cannot take another one". He refused the service of taking a message for his guest.

Eventually, the friend realized her phone was broken and asked reception if anyone had called her. "Non Madame" was the reply from the same receptionist.

I've no idea what the rooms are like (so have marked them average due to having to mark something) but their acceptable service level is woeful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamDubberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Pâquis-Temple
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#47 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Hotel Bernina Geneve
#68 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#14 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
James-Fazy
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#57 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Cornavin
Hotel Les Arcades
Hotel Les Arcades
#52 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International et Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International et Terminus

Property: International et Terminus
Address: rue des Alpes 20, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Cornavin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — International et Terminus 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are looking forward to welcome you in a refurbished hotel. For your business trips, tourist stays with the family or romantic weekends, our 3-star hotel right in the heart of Geneva offers you single, double or triple rooms. Set out according to your needs, our hotel rooms combine interior design and practicality. They all have modern equipment (TV flat screen and satelit international channel, FREE WIFI...) to ensure you the greatest comfort. The interior design is meticulous and ranges from the sophisticated to the sober ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your International et Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Et Terminus Geneva
International Et Terminus Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing